Old 22nd February 2009, 15:42   #1

3901 KM - South India trip.

I am Manish, posting from rudrah's account. Thanks Rudrah for giving me access to account use.

Pretty long time I was discussing with my family to go on to the long trip. And really meant it a LONG one. One day my friend in office shown me the route that can be done in the two weeks time in South india.

So the route was to take the NH4 upto Bangalore and see Mysore, Ooty, Kodai, Coimbatore, Munnar, alleppy, Cochin and back via NH-17. That was the time I decided to see if I could do that. Discussed and had lots of back and forths with parents that it can be done. Finally all of them agreed. I discussed the route on team BHP and got help from you guys.

So the route that got finalised was Panvel - Bangalore - Mysore - Mudumalai - Madurai - Rameshwaram - Munnar - Alappuzha. and back via - NH-17.

All in the 10 days (17 Jan - 26 Jan) was the plan. But I decided to give myself a little room for something uncertain if happened.And decided to leave on 16 Jan.

Day 1
7:15 AM, we started from Home in New Panvel. Fueled the car at our regular HP pump at 7:30AM.
Sun rise at Panvel exit..
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1161075.jpg

Reading at Express way bridge ..
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1161077.jpg

We head south to Pune and reached Hinjwadi 8:50 AM. Refueled at Khed Shivapur BP company outlet. And reached Satara 10:55 AM. Finally reached Kolhapur (344km) at 12:35 PM. Overall 25 min break in between. This was the first time I did to Kolhapur in 5 hours. We went to my aunty at Kolhapur. Spent around 3 hours there, I took the sleep . We went to Renuka mandir in Kolhapur. We left Kolhapur at 4 PM.

Renuka Mandir at Kolhapur.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1161083.jpg

I decided to go to out Kuldevi in Saundatti. And we reached there late 7:30. We went via Gokak, the road condition was much better than what it was a year back. We had the darshan and came out by 9 PM. Road to Dharwad was worst patch in my entire journey (36 KM took 1.5 hours) Took the dinner in Dharwad. And searched the hotel but couldnt find one empty. So decided to go to Hubali. reached 12:30 AM. 599 KM. Stayed at Channama circle, one of the lodge. The lodge was clean and affordable. Dont recollect its name.

Day 2
Next day morning Channamma circle, Hubli.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1171084.jpg

Next day morning left Hubali at 7 AM. Refueled at Ranebennur. Reached Chitradurg 11:50 AM. Did some photography of the windmills. At 1:50 PM we reached Tumkur.

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1171085.jpg

Windmills at Chitradurg..
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1171089.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1171091.jpg

Finally reached Eskon temple by 3:00 PM. Got the some traffic spots on the way. We took lunch at a nice hotel in close proximity to Eskon temple. Then head towards the temple. Its huge. The monuments and idols created are extremely eyecandy. During night hired an auto to see the Bangalore city, who showed us Vidhan Saudha, Brigade road, Vishweshwarayya College, museum building. We stayed at Hotel Geo. (431 KM)

Night at Vidhan Saudha
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1171096.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1171097.jpg

Brigade road.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1171104.jpg

Contd...

Last edited by rudrah : 22nd February 2009 at 15:45.
Old 22nd February 2009, 16:01   #2

Manish,

That is one looong journey you had! Seems like these long journeys are thing in favor this season.

And, FYI, I think it is ISKCON (International Society for Krishna Consciousness) and not ESKON.

And what is your ride? Seems like a old gen zen, looking at the speedo. Is it?

Last edited by HappyWheels : 22nd February 2009 at 16:07.
Old 22nd February 2009, 17:02   #3

Next day we had a plan to visit Shiva temple. So went there. At the building entrance my car kissed the pedestrial road and got a dent. (No, that cannt happen!) It was a mood off! But then called up the my regular garage in Panvel, he said not to worry about it and bring it when I am back. Seen the temple. The Shiva idol is huge. It was mesmerising to see such a great structure.

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181110.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181112.jpg

What an idol!
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181113.jpg

There is a cave like structure made in which you see 12 jyotirlingam man-made.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181118.jpg

Photo from a distance..
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181131.jpg

Vidhan Saudha in morning ..
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181138.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181142.jpg

Contd...
Old 22nd February 2009, 17:21   #4

Then we head towards Mysore at 10 AM. On the way, halt at Kamat Lokruchi after Raman Nagar. Then went to Shrirangapatanam (Tipu Dariya Mahal and Tipu's Kabar).

Spotted a nice girl running across.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181148.jpg
Honeybee hives.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181150.jpg
Tipu Mahal
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181158.jpg

We at Tipu's Kabar entrance.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181163.jpg
The back side of it.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181164.jpg

And reached Mysore at 3:30 PM. Then realised need to hurry to see the Mysore palace otherwise the ticket selling is closed. So went to Mysore palace. Saw the palace and came back to Hotel Siddhartha. After that we went to Vrindavan Garden. The dancing fountains were really great.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181169.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181179.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181196.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181199.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1181205.jpg

Again the road to Garden and back had really bad patch of road.

The Policemen in Karnataka are really helpful and guide you to right direction. In case you feel like you are heading in wrong direction, ask the Policeman. In the night the food was not that great. Came to hotel and slept. (178 KM).

Contd...
Old 22nd February 2009, 17:22   #5

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Manish,

That is one looong journey you had! Seems like these long journeys are thing in favor this season.

And, FYI, I think it is ISKCON (International Society for Krishna Consciousness) and not ESKON.

Happywheels you are wrong its his 2008 FIAT Palio Stile 1.6 - 100BHP, which he has mentioned in his signature

Nice pictures Manish and keep them coming and did you also visit the Bandipur on your way to Ooty.
Old 22nd February 2009, 17:25   #6

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post

Originally Posted by gowda79 View Post
Happywheels you are wrong its his 2008 FIAT Palio Stile 1.6 - 100BHP, which he has mentioned in his signature

Nice pictures Manish and keep them coming and did you also visit the Bandipur on your way to Ooty.
Yah right, its ISKCON and Its Zen Vxi-2004. I am posting from rudrah's account. rudrah owns FIAT Palio Stile.

Last edited by rudrah : 22nd February 2009 at 17:28.
Old 22nd February 2009, 17:42   #7

Good travelogue bro...Indeed its a long drive.

Continue posting remaining of your travel.
Old 22nd February 2009, 17:45   #8

Originally Posted by rudrah View Post
Yah right, its ISKCON and Its Zen Vxi-2004. I am posting from rudrah's account. rudrah owns FIAT Palio Stile.

oops Happywheels you got it right and myself
Old 22nd February 2009, 18:01   #9

Originally Posted by rudrah View Post
Manish,

Ah, 2004 model Zen. Loved that and still love that design.

Originally Posted by gowda79 View Post
oops Happywheels you got it right...
Gowda79,
Love to say 'You fell for it' but, honestly, I also fell for it!

I had to edit my post 2 times because of this vehicle confusion!
Old 22nd February 2009, 19:24   #10

Day 3

Hotel Sidhhartha was the place we stayed at Mysore.
My parents and niece Kalyani.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191211.jpg

Me, my wife, and Kalyani
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191214.jpg

Day was not a busy day so started to Chamundi Hills and Nandi. Really nice place to visit. On the way we took the snacks at a Restaurant. Spotted the milking cow sight.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191216.jpg

Snacks that feed our stomach almost everywhere
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191218.jpg

My niece saw Giraffe. Wow, the boy told us that it is Zoo! And we all got charged and excited to see it. But went ahead to see the Chamundi hill as the zoo was not opened for public yet. The idol of Mahishasura, temple and the monkeys are the biggest attraction at that place.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191219.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191221.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191225.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191227.jpg

Saw them busy...
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191231.jpg

Then went to Nandi which is 4 KM from there.
On the way to Nandi...
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191238.jpg

My Zen Vxi
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191240.jpg

Nandi is monolithic structure (curved out of a single large stone)
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191244.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191245.jpg

And then we came back to Mysore to see Zoo.

Contd..

Last edited by rudrah : 22nd February 2009 at 19:26.
Old 22nd February 2009, 19:44   #11

Entrance of Mysore Zoo
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191248.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191249.jpg

A warm welcome
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191251.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191252.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191255.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191256.jpg

White Peocock
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191260.jpg

White Bengal Tiger
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191273.jpg

Tiger sitting in open
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191275.jpg

One pic I needed to rotate but forgot ... I will post it again.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191264.jpg  

Old 22nd February 2009, 20:05   #12

I am speechless to tell you about them .. It is breath taking to see them at such a close distance.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191264.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191280.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191286.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191287.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191297.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191301.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191311.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191313.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191314.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191318.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191320.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191321.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191322.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191325.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191329.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191331.jpg

And the SWANs
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191334.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191335.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191337.jpg
Old 22nd February 2009, 20:18   #13

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191341.jpg

Zoo has approx. 3 km round and once you take that route, you will want to do it once again.. If I get to Mysore again, I will revisit. It is so nice to see the wild life in close proximity. Then we left to see the Mysore palace from outside and do some photography.
Old 22nd February 2009, 20:30   #14

After that we went to Mysore Palace again hired a guide for Rs. 150. He took me inside the gate and allowed to photograph from the outside. Showed the spots from where I can take the nice views.

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191342.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191343.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191344.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191345.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191346.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191347.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191348.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191354.jpg

3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191355.jpg
Old 22nd February 2009, 22:21   #15

And then we left the Mysore city. And went to Mudumalai. Reached Gundelpet at 1:30 PM and took the lunch there. And then went on to Mesinagudi at 4 PM. Drove slowly because 1) the road in Karnataka side is not that good and 2) the forest section. (174 KM).
Road at Bandipur
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191358.jpg
Somebody busy snatching the food..
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191359.jpg
Wild Elephants right beside the road ... Dont honk!
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191361.jpg
Karnataka - TN Border
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191364.jpg

KA - Tamilnadu Border
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191365.jpg
Road at Mudumalai Forest
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191368.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191369.jpg

I parked my car and took a Jeep safari arranged from the Forest Hills resort. We took a tea and then went for the safari. We went to Elephant feeding camp.
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191370.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191371.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191372.jpg

We saw spotted deers, Elephants, wild pigs and beautiful peacocks. WOW! What a ride we had! I was more excited. I called up the same driver next day morning safari as well. Who agreed to come at a mere price of Rs. 700.

Peacock flying at a 2 feet height from the road. It flew across the road. I never saw this any time before. But the photograph didnt came that clear..
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191373.jpg
3901 KM - South India trip.-p1191374.jpg

In the night we met a French couple who was on their Indian expedition. We had a small camp fire. and then took the dinner. The food was great.

Last edited by rudrah : 22nd February 2009 at 22:26.