Old 18th May 2009, 22:46   #1

No-frills road trip in the Janta car.

When I read in the paper that MUL would phase out Maruti 800 some time soon, I had this unexplainable urge to go on a road trip in a Maruti 800 - the car that revolutionised the way Indian families travelled.
I always liked this small car. I still remember the day when I came back from school and saw my Dad standing next to a spanking new Premier Padmini, and I secretly wished that he had bought a Maruti 800 instead. We later on had a Zen, but never the 800.

It was almost curtain time for the 800. So, the decision was made. Two hours and two dozen phone calls later, I had everything ready, 2 friends for company and an old, 4 speed, carburetor Maruti 800. No AC, no power steering, no power windows, no electrically operated ORVMs, no fancy ergonomically seats, basically just the skin and bone of a car.

The idea was simple - Tank up, just keep driving. In case we got lost - we had one of those high-funda mobile phones which promised to guide us back (just that none of us were really tech savvy and we couldn't figure out as to how to use the feature. Ended up with us sticking our head out of the window and asking - Saar, ee road yellige hoguthe {Sir, where does this road lead to}).

Let the pictures describe the trip......

The ride
No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-63.jpg

Understanding the road signs
No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-73.jpg

At one of the break points
No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-79.jpg

Forest fires that we came across
No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-95.jpg
No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-98.jpg

One recognisable location we reached
No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-dsc00778.jpg

No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-p8300006.jpg
No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-pa050011.jpg

Our individual expressions when the car broke down (case of engine overheating)
No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-picture1.jpg

No-frills road trip in the Janta car.-picture2.jpg
Old 18th May 2009, 22:51   #2

He He .. nice travelogue! No start point, no destination decided. Nice. When do we get to read more. I'm all eyes.
Old 18th May 2009, 22:55   #3

Hi Rough Square,

You appear to be in the nostalgic mood. Great idea. i really appreciate the fact the you have friends who are ready to travel with you in such a short notice. You are a lucky one.

From where you got the car ?, did you / any of your friends own it ?

Great pictures, you appear to have lit the Nagarhole national park on fire by your drive. It reminded me the movie GHOST RIDER.

post more details on your drive and fun all of you had.
Old 18th May 2009, 23:24   #4

I used to have an 800 and have taken quite a few trips in it. The first time I climbed up the 36 hairpin bends to ooty in my 800 is an experience I will never forget. I still wish I had not sold it.
Great pics. Post some more if possible.

But.. I do feel its never a good idea to sit on the bonnet of an 800 (or any maruti for that matter). My friend's Alto has a butt shaped dent on the bonnet.

Last edited by Roy.S : 18th May 2009 at 23:26. Reason: Wrong grammar
Old 19th May 2009, 00:38   #5

Hey buddy, a non AC car should generally not overheat. Anyways nice log. I dont like you guys keeping your foot with chappal on the car in the third pic (no offence, personal opinion).
Old 19th May 2009, 00:55   #6

Good stuff. Waiting for more.
Old 19th May 2009, 08:15   #7

hey Rough Square, good stuff. So I guess you went to Nagarhole and Bandipur. Looking forward to more pics.
Old 19th May 2009, 09:43   #8

@roy.s---I do feel its never a good idea to sit on the bonnet of an 800
@wandernomad--I dont like you guys keeping your foot with chappal on the car in the third pic
I agree with you guys.
Its not good idea to sit on bonnet or chappal on the car.
On dashahara and diwali, we do pujas to worship the car goddess.

No offense.
Old 19th May 2009, 10:24   #9

The car looks good, the description notwithstanding. I love to drive M800s that respond to the pedal well, all other features are secondary.

Tried an Alto recently and found the driver's leg room to be lacking. M800 is much better there.

And how many times have I locked myself out of an M800! Before learning the trick to avoid this situation, I mastered the art of opening the driver's door with a scale or anything flat and long (it's helpful if there is a kitchen nearby).

Good report, Rough Square. Keep the pics coming..

Last edited by pjay_in : 19th May 2009 at 10:36.
Old 19th May 2009, 11:46   #10

Nice trip Rough Square. That M-800 looks like a recent model. Have you repainted it ?
Old 19th May 2009, 14:29   #11

Hi all, thanks.

Like many of you pointed out, I would never keep my feet on or sit on the bonnet of my personal car. This car belonged to friend's - friend's - friend (who hardly uses this one).

Originally Posted by StarVegabond View Post
Great pictures, you appear to have lit the Nagarhole national park on fire by your drive.
I really wish I could do something about the forest fire, but the forest officials themselves claimed helpless

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
hey Rough Square, good stuff. So I guess you went to Nagarhole and Bandipur.
Hmmm, somewhere in that direction

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Nice trip Rough Square. That M-800 looks like a recent model. Have you repainted it ?
I really don't know.

Last edited by Rehaan : 25th May 2009 at 01:48. Reason: Posts merged. Please use the EDIT button to add to an existing post within 20 minutes instead of posting another consecutive post.
Old 19th May 2009, 15:11   #12

Originally Posted by Rough Square View Post
Hi all, thanks.

Like many of you pointed out, I would never keep my feet on or sit on the bonnet of my personal car. This car belonged to friend's - friend's - friend (who hardly uses this one).
This is even worse. You are supposed to treat others' property even more carefully than yours. Sorry Rough, this is certainly not on.
Old 19th May 2009, 17:36   #13

sad to see forest fire, i hope it wasnt started by a human being .
Old 20th May 2009, 11:02   #14

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
This is even worse. You are supposed to treat others' property even more carefully than yours. Sorry Rough, this is certainly not on.
You have me cornered here. I really don't know what to say.
Old 20th May 2009, 12:23   #15

Originally Posted by Rough Square View Post
You have me cornered here. I really don't know what to say.
Chill bro, I'm definitely sure, everyone is pulling your leg