Old 20th May 2009, 12:55   #16

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
Hi Avi,
Nice pics.
I think the last pic posted in above post is taken near Wai.
If it is so, then the squarish construction on top of hill on left side is the fort named "Vairatgad".
Yes, this route was after i left your place. It was just beautiful.

Originally Posted by muralisk View Post
Great pictures and the roads are quite inviting. It's feels good to see nice roads and is a pleasure to drive without any deadlines or sales targets, I guess. Anyways, please keep the lovely pictures coming in and also post your fuel efficiency details.
Guess you too are from sales and understand my language

FE was something i was totally flabbergasted with ( i mean in a good way). When on TBHP drives on highways, never get above 15kmpl.

This time around, it was a totally different story

1st tankful : 16.85kmpl

2nd tankful : 17.25kmpl

I was on cloud 13

Originally Posted by Rajesh Rawal View Post
e.g: there were horses which could carry people above 90kgs.lol. charges were different though.
I know they have horses for people >90kgs but i had a terrible experience when i slide down from a camel once....LOL. So I stay away from these beasts, but watching a well bred horse up-close is a beautiful experience.

Last edited by mobike008 : 20th May 2009 at 12:57.
Old 20th May 2009, 12:59   #17

Oye Avi, Nice beginning yaar to a cool (literally) travelogue. Keep it coming. Eagerly waiting for more.
Old 20th May 2009, 13:55   #18

Next day after an early breakfast, we headed out to Pratapgarh fort which was about 28kms from our hotel. I need to mention that roads of mahabaleshwar is an absolute pleasure to drive, twisty and curvy and flooded with greenry on both sides.

We spent a good couple of hours at this fort since the guide that we hired was quite enthusiastic and was explaining in detail about the history of this fort.
Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7493.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7524.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7505.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7490.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7500.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7555.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7494.jpg  

Old 20th May 2009, 14:00   #19

I am not exactly a sales guy, but worked long enough with them and in pre-sales role. So, I do understand the pressures of the job. And coming to the FE, that's really cool.
Old 20th May 2009, 14:07   #20

Nice beginning. Good photos and narration.

Go ahead, Mobike.

And 16 & 17kmpl!
Old 20th May 2009, 14:39   #21

It was quite warm at the top of the fort so we replenished our energies with lots of freshly made buttermilk and lassi made with a peculiar looking machine.

I enjoyed the Strawberry squash added lassi, it was quite refreshing.
Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7559.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7516.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7567.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7568.jpg  

Old 20th May 2009, 15:09   #22

Nice pics.

Have you visited, Mapro gardens?

A cool place to rest your self.
Old 20th May 2009, 15:16   #23

Nice photographs and good report. And good to see the tbhp stickers on your Viva.
Old 20th May 2009, 15:27   #24

Hey Avi..U make me so jealous and wish my kiddo was fine then,I could have joined this escapade in my Cedia.
Any Im glad you and Neera had great time.Awesome pics too.
Old 20th May 2009, 15:38   #25

Nice pictures Avi. You both have had a good time and the scenery is really good as compared to the dry land I had during my drive!

The Lassi pictures made me thirsty and I just ran to grab a cup of coffee as Lassi is not available here!
Old 20th May 2009, 15:58   #26

where is strawberry and corn? not a single photo at least could have enjoyed seeing it.
Old 20th May 2009, 17:12   #27

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
T.... I found that it was only slightly warm between 12 noon to 3:30pm afternoon and prior and post that time a chilly breeze takes over and your transported into heaven. Nights were quite chilly and since i like cold weather i was indulging in all things people who love winters do. Long walks, eating a lot of fresh strawberry ice-cream.

I reckon the temperature was in the vicinity of 14C during nights and about 24C during day time. Quite pleasant !

After taking a quick shower, headed out to Venna Lake which was a short 2km drive from the hotel and these pictures ensued at this place. Beautiful lakes, corn pattice, corn frankies where consumed in good quantities and these items are not to be missed for anyone visiting Mahabaleshwar.
Lovely pics there buddy.

Avi, I am waiting for some more of the scenery photos if you have taken any.
Originally Posted by tabrez02 View Post
where is strawberry and corn? ...
They were just there, but they are no longer visible as they have been eaten by avi.
Old 20th May 2009, 17:16   #28

Arrey Avi, Lassi peekhe So gaya kya. Jaldi se uthke bakhi snaps ko bhi upload karna.
Old 20th May 2009, 17:40   #29

Hi there nice pics!! I think i will have to go Mahabaeshwar now, so many people raving about the place. Two of my friends also going this weekend!!
Old 20th May 2009, 17:57   #30

Originally Posted by T_Girl View Post
Hi there nice pics!! I think i will have to go Mahabaeshwar now, so many people raving about the place. Two of my friends also going this weekend!!
Noticed you are from Mumbai. Its a 4 hr drive if u use the expressway. There are folks who have gone to Mahabaleshwar for lunch and have come back the same day.
Hence dont think too much, just take your ride and enjoy the place and the drive.

Last edited by f1fan : 20th May 2009 at 17:59.