Old 20th May 2009, 18:30   #31

Great travelogue man. Where is this yummy lassi available in Mahableshwar. HAve been going there since i was a kid but never saw this place.

When in Mahableshwar try the Gujrati Thali at Fountain Hotel or the Non veg food at the Dina Hotel. You may have to go in advance and tell them you will be coming.

For the best strawberry sundae or related things go to the farms lined up near the Venna Lake. The best place is the Bagicha. SImply the best corn pattice and corn Franky you can get in Mahableshwar. Tehy will make a great Biryani on order (veg or non veg).

The Brightlands hotel has a lovely Italian restaurant and trust me it serves great Italian Pizzas and pastas. Try it.

When in Mahableshwar catch one of the numerous guides which you will find around the petrol pump at the beginning if the market. Ask the to take you for a nature trek/walk every morning or evening. They will show you places and points you may have never seen. Great way to get one with nature.

For the evening stroll, nothing is completed without a customary visit every evening to Imperial stores in the market.

Have fun.
Old 20th May 2009, 18:44   #32

Very nice travelogue. You can also try the Parsi food at Grapevine. It's owned by Mr. Irani of Imperial stores and his son is a trained chef.
I love the wrought iron furniture at Grapevine. Very unusual. The chairs are like small park benches!
Old 20th May 2009, 18:46   #33

Nice pictures and travelogue ...

Reminds me of my drive to Mahabaleshwar a couple of years back.
Old 20th May 2009, 19:37   #34

Omigosh, that pic of yummy lassi made me feel kinda thirsty---had to rush to the pantry to grab a coke!
Keep posting, Avi. Wating for more!
Old 20th May 2009, 19:53   #35

Originally Posted by loving_alaap View Post
Nice pics.Have you visited, Mapro gardens?
A cool place to rest your self.
Indeed, I visited Mapro Gardens and bought a crateful of Squashes, Jam and Fudges. Even tried their awesome grilled sandwiches, really out of this world. Will post pictures shortly

Originally Posted by hillram View Post
Hey Avi..U make me so jealous and wish my kiddo was fine then,I could have joined this escapade in my Cedia.
Any Im glad you and Neera had great time.Awesome pics too.
Ram, you certainly missed the trip. It would have been even more fun with you along. Koi Nahi, Maybe next time

Originally Posted by pulsar56 View Post
Nice pictures Avi. You both have had a good time and the scenery is really good as compared to the dry land I had during my drive! The Lassi pictures made me thirsty and I just ran to grab a cup of coffee as Lassi is not available here!
Nazim, i can imagine your predicament. Dont worry, have some lassi at home tonight instead of the good stuff. It will also keep you cool...LOL

Originally Posted by suren181 View Post
Arrey Avi, Lassi peekhe So gaya kya. Jaldi se uthke bakhi snaps ko bhi upload karna.
Chief, your a riot, kaam bhi tho karna padhta hai na.

Had strawberry Lassi for breakfast this morning, man i am going to enjoy each different flavour ( Strawberry,Orange,Custard Apple, Curaco,Lemon and Ginger,Lichee,Mango) for the next few week...hahaha

Originally Posted by T_Girl View Post
Hi there nice pics!! I think i will have to go Mahabaeshwar now, so many people raving about the place. Two of my friends also going this weekend!!
Don't think twice. Go before the monsoon starts because in monsoons it seems you cannot see the sun for 3 straight months.

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Omigosh, that pic of yummy lassi made me feel kinda thirsty---had to rush to the pantry to grab a coke!
Keep posting, Avi. Wating for more!
Sirji, if you feel thirsty after seeing lassi. What about these pictures?

Originally Posted by tabrez02 View Post
where is strawberry and corn? not a single photo at least could have enjoyed seeing it.
Alright, i won't make it so prolonged. Here are some pictures of strawberry and strawberry ice-cream, with loads of cream, Jamun, some mangoes seen enroute and me enjoying some chilled ice-golas ( actually tried 3 different flavours and my lips and tongue had become multi-colored..hehehe)

@Vikram and V-16, thats a bundle of information that you shared. Unfortunately, haven't been to any of those joints since i was busy hopping from one point to another point. I will surely check it out next time.
Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7483.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7613.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7703.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7707.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7709.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7706.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7601.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7608.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7316.jpg  

Old 20th May 2009, 20:13   #36

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
( Strawberry,Orange,Custard Apple, Curaco,Lemon and Ginger,Lichee,Mango) .
Man,
you had made lot of people thirsty including me.

And right now, after reading above post, i am having Curacao, the blue liquid.

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 20th May 2009 at 20:15.
Old 20th May 2009, 20:51   #37

Nice pics and good narration too. Loved he pic of Pratapgarh fort. I had gone to Mabi once in the monsoon. Heck, it was so wet and foggy that I couldnt see a thing.

Is it too crowded at this time of the year ?
Old 20th May 2009, 21:24   #38

Grapevine

Originally Posted by vikram18 View Post
Very nice travelogue. You can also try the Parsi food at Grapevine. It's owned by Mr. Irani of Imperial stores and his son is a trained chef.
I love the wrought iron furniture at Grapevine. Very unusual. The chairs are like small park benches!
hmm. here are some snaps -

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-img_9853.jpg

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-img_9855.jpg

cross-posted from http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...pule-back.html
Old 20th May 2009, 21:24   #39

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
Man,
you had made lot of people thirsty including me.

And right now, after reading above post, i am having Curacao, the blue liquid.
haha ! I bought Curacao to mix with you know what

Originally Posted by jaysmokesleaves View Post
Is it too crowded at this time of the year ?
You bet ! It's almost shoulder to shoulder

While climbing up the fort, i was cribbing of heat and so many steps then I was suprised to see an elderly gentleman climbing the 451 steps Pratapgarh fort on his crutches. Then i realized, i am becoming a nincompoop and raised my head and squared my shoulder and climbed all the way up to glory without flinching nor squealing !!!
Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7502.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7492.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7589.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7484.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7524.jpg  

Old 20th May 2009, 22:08   #40

Haha,
Avi,
you went to pratapgad on the day of election results and see the differance between your pic and below pic taken by me before election results. You had vanished saffron colour.
Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-prtpgd.jpg

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 20th May 2009 at 22:20.
Old 20th May 2009, 22:11   #41

Haha,
Avi,
you went to pratapgad on the day of election results and see the differance between your pic and below pic taken by me before election results.
Attachment 138124
Which flag is that?

Avi Bhai & other CUG folks.. mere travelogue mein bhi thoda dhyan do!
Old 20th May 2009, 23:55   #42

Originally Posted by pulsar56 View Post
Which flag is that?

Avi Bhai & other CUG folks.. mere travelogue mein bhi thoda dhyan do!
That looks like the RSS or Shiv Sena Flag. Is it not Ashish?

Dhyan diya bhai aap ke travelogue par bhi

Haha,
Avi,
you went to pratapgad on the day of election results and see the differance between your pic and below pic taken by me before election results. You had vanished saffron colour.
Attachment 138124
Quite surprising that within such a short period the flag just disappeared. Maybe that guy who was killed there got offended...LOL
Old 21st May 2009, 09:39   #43

Our next pitstop was at Arthurs Seat which is supposed to be the mother of all points in Mahabaleshwar. Obviously, it was crowded beyond expectation and there is a jagged stoned path that you need to negotiate to reach the breathtaking view of the mountain ranges at this point. Even i felt this is the best point of Mahabaleshwar.

Next point in our list was Kate's point which was a few kilometers across the winding roads. We took a detour from the main road and did the twisting jig all the way to this point.

This particular road is too narrow. I had to reverse for approx 0.5km just to let a Audi Q7 pass me. Whew !!!!

Also, at this point you will find Saba cafe where we had those strawberry cream ice creams. It seems almost all bollywood stars been to this place and the owner of this place has a picture of almost every star. Really fascinating place !!!!
Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7592.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7595.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7596.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7597.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7598.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7626.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7634.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7637.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7642.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7643.jpg  

Old 21st May 2009, 10:42   #44

Previous post had Arthur Seat's pictures and here are some more pictures of the same and also Kate's Point ( the flat open land that you see behind)

Even this was quite a breathtaking view.

Btw, spotted quite a few monkeys at Kate point. It seems they are a menace as well as tourist attraction here...LOL
Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7672.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7690.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7681.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7689.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7700.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7676.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7680.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7661.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7626.jpg  

Mahabaleshwar: A visit to Strawberry and Corn Country !!!-dsc_7667.jpg  

Last edited by mobike008 : 21st May 2009 at 10:43.
Old 21st May 2009, 11:04   #45

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Previous post had Arthur Seat's pictures and here are some more pictures of the same and also Kate's Point ( the flat open land that you see behind)

Even this was quite a breathtaking view.
Avi, when you say 'the flat open land that you see behind' we know that you are referring to the topography there, and not to the anatomy of a woman named Kate .

Great pics, anyways. I'm adding MB to my list of places in the must see list.