Old 19th September 2009, 08:25   #61

Hai Raid Guys,

Great going...... and Mandar keep updating when you can.

Looking forward to some photos when the link in alive.

Happy Driving,

====

" Touched 140 kmph on one of those sections while entering Leh"

AB: Dosth, go light on the right pedal..... the magnetic hill is known to increase speed

======

Last edited by ramkya1 : 19th September 2009 at 08:28.
Old 19th September 2009, 17:23   #62

Originally Posted by ramkya1 View Post
Hai Raid Guys,

====

" Touched 140 kmph on one of those sections while entering Leh"

AB: Dosth, go light on the right pedal..... the magnetic hill is known to increase speed

======
Well I was going away from magnetic Hill.

Updating from where Mandar left, we all met up yesterday morning and went to Leh Fort. Afternoon was spent in a leisurely lunch followed by a spiritual trip to Thiksey and Hemis Gonpas. Evening was assigned to a Team Dinner where in we were also joined by R K Bharat and Rohit Mehndiratta. Today morning morning the full convouy left for K-Top finally at 5.55 AM (Scheduled Departure was at 5.00 am) and with a few small photo ops were on K-Top by 7.30. It was an awesome experience which cannot be described. Descending from K-Top we stopped at Khardung were we saw off a company of soldiers heading to Siachen. 30 Minutes were spent in relishing Mutton/Veg Thukpas and Parathas with killer pickle. Further dowen the road we stopped on the entrance of Nubra Valley and also went to the banks of River Shyok where everyone had their profile photos taken for Second Shaadi.com

Reached Diskit at 1.15 and dumped luggage into a nice guest house after which we left for Two Humped Camel Safari and Sand Dune. The other highlight of the day was Rajvinder's Pajero getting stuck deep in the Sand dunes and the Scorpio M-Hawk of Vishal trying to pull it out also getting stuck. The rescue was lead by the Lone Bolero of yours truly which got the M-Hawk out first and then in coordination owith the M-Hawk pulled the Pajero out.

The entire action was witnessed with deep interest by other tourists and few fellow passengers perched on the Balcony seats on Sand Dunes.

All in all a day well spent and the half the team has retired into the Guest House while the other half has gone to Panamik Hot Water Springs.

Tomorrow we start at 5 AM for Pangong Tso Lake crossing Warila, Chang La and Pagal Nullag in between.

Signing off Now

Old 19th September 2009, 22:24   #63

Very interesting account; looking forward to the entire travel blog with anticipation.
Old 20th September 2009, 18:52   #64

I had to abort this tour at Leh

Hi, this is a brief update from me KS (kesri).

I was in Kumar's Scorpio from Patnitop to Leh. But y'day (saturday), I dropped out of the Tour and flew back to Mumbai (as my wife reported not being well - she is ok now; still to do all medical checks).

It was very disappointing for me to drop out at Leh; where the group had gained its full strength of 20+ people in 7 vehicles. The drive from kargil-to-padum in Zanskar Valley was truly amazing.

I see some of the tour group members are already posting reports here, including some pictures! I will be upload some 150 of my good pictures to my Flickr site (ID: ks_bluechip) in next 2-3 days, and post a link here.

kesri
Old 20th September 2009, 22:58   #65

Here are the Flickr Links of my Zanskar-Ladakh Tour Picture Sets. [Some of the titles & descriptions have to be refined and individualised, a bit more over next 2 days]:

Zanskar-Valley (Highlights) (20pics)
Zanskar-Valley (Highlights) - a set on Flickr

Zanskar-Valley Ladakh (All) (163 pics)
Zanskar-Valley Ladakh (All) - a set on Flickr

- KS
Old 21st September 2009, 00:09   #66

Originally Posted by kesri View Post
Here are the Flickr Links of my Zanskar-Ladakh Tour Picture Sets.....
Nice pictures there.

But I was hoping to see more pics of the team and their rides!!!
Old 21st September 2009, 06:45   #67

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
Nice pictures there.

Right! my perspective for the tour was altogether different!

I will upload a few pictures (with Team-BHP perspective) here directly, in another post (once I learn how to do it); I uploaded only selected 165 out of 460+ pictures in Flickr, from a general viewpoint.

- kesri
Old 21st September 2009, 09:41   #68

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
Well I was going away from magnetic Hill.
guys, I'm in Jammu right now and would love to meet you guys on your way back (if you're taking this way back i.e,). I'd want to drive up to catch up on you guys but some pooja at in-laws home restricts my travel out of jammu
lemme know and i'll see how i can catch up on the jammu srinagar highway coz I live close to that road for this entire week.
Old 21st September 2009, 09:48   #69

Originally Posted by 14000rpm View Post
lemme know and i'll see how i can catch up on the jammu srinagar highway coz I live close to that road for this entire week.
I don't think they will return via Jammu. Part of the team will return via Manali-Shimla-Delhi and Rest of Team via Kaza-Tabo-Shimla-Delhi.
Old 21st September 2009, 10:35   #70

Latest update

The latest news as received from HVK a few minutes back is that after Pangong Tso & Nubra, they are headed today to Tso Moriri and are on schedule.
Old 21st September 2009, 10:43   #71

Are they going via Tsaga La, or via Karu?
I presume its Karu, right?
Old 21st September 2009, 12:13   #72

They would be going through Karu. But knowing HVK, anything is possible.

Are they going via Tsaga La, or via Karu?
I presume its Karu, right?
Old 21st September 2009, 12:19   #73

Here is some of the team members. We had a group dinner, while team was starting the fun and we were winding up.

It was a pleasure meeting everbody, Kumar Sir, Mandar, Basu and all others. Wish you a safe journey team.
Team Raid de Ladakh goes on Ladakh Expedition 2009-p9181188scalled.jpg

Team Raid de Ladakh goes on Ladakh Expedition 2009-p9180982scalled.jpg

Team Raid de Ladakh goes on Ladakh Expedition 2009-p9180980scalled.jpg

Name:  P9180979scalled.JPG
Views: 2046
Size:  137.5 KB
Old 21st September 2009, 12:25   #74

Actually if they plan to go Via Tsaga la, they need to have fuel, as the bunk in Nyoma was closed last time I was there.
Old 21st September 2009, 13:38   #75

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
Nice pictures there.

Ok, here is a Picture Set specific to this Team: People, Vehicles and Road conditions to Padum in Zanskar:

Raid De Leh - Ladakh 2009
Raid De Leh Ladakh 2009 - a set on Flickr