Old 1st February 2010, 19:41   #106

CL - hats off to you dost. Amazing photos. Those old ladies look so stunning.

One Question to you and to all gurus - Ref Post 98 photo of Rols Royce Phantom II, (photo "....5a.jpg") where you have shown close-up of steering wheel with three dials/levers. What are they? How they were used? It would be great to know this stuff if you can tell.

This thread is like nine (or may be ninety nine) course meal; where each course you feel satisfied and yet waiting for more in the next course. Keep it coming.
Old 1st February 2010, 22:36   #107

A boat ride in the Pichola!

After ogling at all the ‘beautiful ladies’ in the museum , we quickly ran out to have lunch as we were famished. We spent a lot of time inside, shooting pics of vintage cars and were very tired. We went to Chirag restaurant, which was very near to our hotel and the museum. We had tasty Chicken Biriyanis and satisfied our hunger.

We finished our lunch by 3.30 pm and straightaway drove to Pichola Lake. We picked up a guide from the junction near the lake and agreed on his fees of Rs. 30. Our first stop was again Lake Pichola and he explained a great deal about the history of the lake and the palaces.

We decided to go for a boat ride and luckily another guide hooked us up with a couple from Delhi. The boat charges were Rs. 800 for half an hour’s ride and we paid half of it. We wouldn’t be able to enter Jag Mandir with our boat as only people opting for the boat ride arranged from the City Palace are allowed entry inside. With a tariff of Rs. 375 per head, just to ride to the Mandir, we decided not to waste money on it. I had read that there was nothing worthwhile inside the Mandir.

Soon our boat ride started. The weather was awesome! A bit sunny, but cool. The palace was so very beautiful and majestic! I went crazy clicking photos of the City Palace. Let my photos speak a million words!!!

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-1.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-2.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-3.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-4.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-5.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-6.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-7.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-8.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-9.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-10.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-11.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-12.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-13.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-14.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-15.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-16.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-17.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-18.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-19.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-20.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-21.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-22.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-23.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-24.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-25.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-26.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-27.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-28.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-29.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-30.jpg
Old 2nd February 2010, 11:20   #108

Originally Posted by advaitlele View Post
CL - hats off to you dost. Amazing photos. Those old ladies look so stunning.

One Question to you and to all gurus - Ref Post 98 photo of Rols Royce Phantom II, (photo "....5a.jpg") where you have shown close-up of steering wheel with three dials/levers. What are they? How they were used? It would be great to know this stuff if you can tell.

This thread is like nine (or may be ninety nine) course meal; where each course you feel satisfied and yet waiting for more in the next course. Keep it coming.
Thank you very much for your appreciation, my friend. Those beauties took our breath away. But our favourite car is the Ford!! It is absolutely stunning!

As you said, this is a step by step journey through the magnificent city of Udaipur. The voyage is going to get more and more interesting. I have tried to capture the grandeur of Udaipur in a way very few people have!

I think the levers on the steering wheel have something to do with acceleration and power. Let someone with deep knowledge comment on it!
Old 2nd February 2010, 11:34   #109
MX6

Good photos of the Rolls. I remember seeing a documentary in BBC where they showed Maharaja's getting peeved due to various reasons, in an attempt to show their clout, bought loads of Rolls and used them back home as garbage trucks. It included on Maharaja who was barely 10 years old. He was ignored mistakenly for a kid at a Roll's showroom back in UK.
Seems that most of the Rolls ever made were bought but our Maharaja's. Pity that when people of India were dying of poverty, we also had Maharaja's who indulged in needless opulence.
Old 2nd February 2010, 12:59   #110

That was good, the ladies and also the palace...please continue posting more. Will be checking out in the evening
Old 2nd February 2010, 14:07   #111

Thanks for the comments, Majic and MX6.

After seeing the palaces and the exquisite cars, we were at a loss for words. One cannot fathom the wealth of the Maharanas! Can you imagine how many crores flow in, just from tourism? I will reveal some interesting figures as the story progresses!!

More photos coming up later in the evening.
Old 2nd February 2010, 17:20   #112

Originally Posted by Chevy_lover View Post

We decided to go for a boat ride and luckily another guide hooked us up with a couple from Delhi.

Soon our boat ride started. The weather was awesome! A bit sunny, but cool. The palace was so very beautiful and majestic! I went crazy clicking photos of the City Palace. Let my photos speak a million words!!!

C_L. We missed that majestic boat ride. (Of course, we missed so many things!). So enjoying it through your extremely beautiful pics. Really, the palace is looking awesome from that lake side.
Old 3rd February 2010, 01:42   #113

Some more pics.....

Some more pics of the City Palace and surroundings!

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-1.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-2.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-3.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-4.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-5.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-6.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-7.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-8.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-9.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-10.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-11.jpg

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola-lake_city-palace-surroundings-12.jpg
Old 4th February 2010, 01:30   #114

Our voyage continues.....

Our voyage continued at a leisurely pace in the Pichola Lake. We were so happy to finally see the Lake Palace closely. It was so very beautiful and we loved its architecture. The Lake Palace is now an 83 roomed 5 Star hotel run by the Tata group. It was built in the year 1746 by the Maharana Jagat Singh II as a summer palace and was named as Jag Niwas. This palace was shown prominently in the film Octopussy. One specialty of the palace is that it was built facing the east to enable the royal family to pray to the Sun God every dawn!

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_lake-palace-surroundings-1.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_lake-palace-surroundings-2a.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_lake-palace-surroundings-2b.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_lake-palace-surroundings10.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_lake-palace-surroundings11.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-lake-palace-12.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_lake-palace-surroundings12.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-ride-_-pichola-lake_lake-palace-surroundings13.jpg
Name:  Lake Palace 13.JPG
Views: 2133
Size:  137.2 KB
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-lake-palace.jpg

We also saw the Leela Palace Hotel and the Uday Vilas Hotel before cruising towards the Jag Mandir.

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-leela-palace-1.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-leela-palace-2.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-leela-palace-4.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-pichola_hill.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-uday-vilas-1.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-uday-vilas-2.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-helipad.jpg

Jag Mandir is also called the "Lake Garden Palace". It is named as “Jagat Mandir” in honour of Maharana Jagat Singh, who completed its construction in the year 1652. The palace was used by the Ranas as a summer retreat for their families and also to entertain royal guests. The standout feature of the Mandir is the sculptures of eight elephants adorning the entrance and facing the Lake Palace!!
During rainy season, water level in the lake rises up till the feet of the elephants!

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-jag-mandir-2.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-jag-mandir-1.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-jag-mandir-3.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-jag-mandir-5.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-jag-mandir-6.jpg

After our boat ride ended, we returned back to the wharf. The view of the palaces from the lake was awesome!!

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-city-palace-2.jpg

Our boat driver did a small stunt for me!!! He was really good!

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-stunt.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-boat-wharf.jpg
Old 4th February 2010, 12:34   #115

CL, nice pictures, would you please identify the different palaces shown, or do i take it in the order mentioned in the narrations! Please continue the postings!
Old 4th February 2010, 13:10   #116

Originally Posted by Majic View Post
CL, nice pictures, would you please identify the different palaces shown, or do i take it in the order mentioned in the narrations! Please continue the postings!
Hi Majic, all my pics have names. Please point your cursor on the pic and then you can see the name of the palace. In this particular case, the pics are also arranged as per my narration.
Old 4th February 2010, 15:58   #117

Originally Posted by LongDrive lover View Post
C_L. We missed that majestic boat ride. (Of course, we missed so many things!). So enjoying it through your extremely beautiful pics. Really, the palace is looking awesome from that lake side.
Thanks Longdrivelover. There is always a next time. The boat ride in Pichola is really wonderful and gives one, great views of the palaces and hotels. The City Palace is one of the most beautiful palaces in the world!

Last edited by Chevy_lover : 4th February 2010 at 16:00.
Old 4th February 2010, 16:28   #118

Thanks CL, for the tip it worked well please take time to continue with the postings
Old 4th February 2010, 22:54   #119

The Karni Mata Ropeway and a meeting with Commander Alok!

After our boat ride, our guide, Mr. Yashwant, took us to Karni Mata Ropeway on the Machhala Hill. It was very near to Dudh Talai and the area was called Deen Dayal Park.

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-1-dudh-talai.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-2-sun-set-point-park.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-3-cable-cars-restaurant-downhill.jpg

We parked our Chevy in the parking lot and rushed to the ticket counter and bought two tickets for us at Rs. 63 each for a return trip. The guides travel free!

We reached the top of the hill after a four minute ride in the gondola. At a time six people are allowed to travel in one Gondola and our cabin was packed. There is a restaurant on top of the hill and we got a splendid view of the lake and palaces from the hill top. The temple of Karni Mata was also located on the top of the hill. We walked around the whole place and decided to wait till the sunset, which was just half an hour away. We went to the restaurant and had ice creams and soon captured an amazing sunset!!!

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-4-lake-view-cable-cars.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-5-view-top-hill.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-6-city-view.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-7-city-view-gulab-bagh_the-white-building-library.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-8-railway-station.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-9-closeup-city-view.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-10-restaurant_-karni-mata-hill-top.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-11-my-better-half.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-12-city-view.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-13-hill-top.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-14-udaipur-city-view-hill-top.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-15-lake-view.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-16-cable-cable-cars.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-17-karni-mata-temple.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-18-cable-cars.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-19-way-cable-car-station-temple.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-20-sunset-karni-mata-hill.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-21-view-palaces-cable-car.jpg
An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-22-cable-car-station.jpg

After we finished our photography session, we decided to return back to the base station and went to the boarding point. It was there, that we met Commander Alok Sharma. Any idea who this gentleman is???

Commander Alok Sharma is the mastermind who envisaged, designed and built the ropeway!!!

Commander Alok Sharma is an ex-navy man and was very friendly and had a wealth of information that he shared with us. He told us that the ropeway was inaugurated in June 2009 and the project took 11 months for completion. Commander Alok Sharma is settled in New Delhi and had come down to Udaipur for ten days to complete the yearly inspection of the ropeway. We had a great time talking to him and getting so much of information from him. We were so glad that we were able to meet the man behind such a gorgeous structure!

An Incredible Road Trip of a Lifetime to Udaipur, The Most Romantic City in the World-23-my-wifey-commander-alok.jpg
Chevy_lover is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2010, 10:56   #120

Hats of for all those photos and informations, looking forward to the rest of the instalments. Please continue posting the same