Old 18th April 2010, 23:45   #46

Originally Posted by jaysmokesleaves View Post
I recieved word from the moderators about posting within 15 mins of the pics ive uploaded are dumped by the server.
aaaah OK! Now I think I understand what's happening here. This is what I do -

- Write some text
- Click on Manage Attachment, and select a couple of images by clicking BROWSE tab.
- Write some text again
- Go back to 'Manage Attachment' popup, and select a few more images
- Finish writing the text
- Go back to 'Manage Attachment' popup and click on the UPLOAD button. The images are uploaded to the server.
- I then place the uploaded images wherever I want, in between the text (takes maximum 60 seconds)
- Submit the Post.

So here, the post is submitted almost immediately after the images are uploaded. The only disadvantage is - I can only upload only 10 pics per post (which is more than enough according to me).

I use the free software "IrfanView" to reduce the file size.
Old 19th April 2010, 00:24   #47

@jay
wonderful travelogue!!! I really liked your "Spiti loop" travelogue too and am glued to this one!
I too was amazed by the road conditions of entire Rajasthan and Gujarat. WONDERFUL is an understatement.
eagerly waiting for the updates!!!

MODS sorry for OT
But I've always wondered how does one type narrations when we've uploaded pictures onto the servers. Now this I know that we can insert specific pictures with the CLIP icon (the 3rd icon from the left of top row in the Reply to Thread Page), but as all the pictures are in serial like img10001, img10002, img10003 and so on how do we remember which picture is which so that the narrative description does not get messed up. Further when a specific picture is upload on the servers the original file name is replaced with a number {attach} 123456789{/attach}

So if i am inserting 20-30 pictures how do I remember or acertian which picture is which one
Old 19th April 2010, 00:28   #48
adc

So the selection and downsizing is taking more time than i thought, since im a newbie with these large formats
OPTION TWO :
Open the picture in Microsoft Paint (standard on your Windows OS), then press "Ctrl" & "W". Under "Stretch", enter 50% for the horizontal and vertical fields. Click Save. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/announ...tml#post976066
This is what I follow and find it very easy - for DLSR keep 33% and the size is under 300 kb

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0064.jpg

Those curtains kind of thing for back door window looks great and definitely serve their purpose, cost like?

Also dont see any yellow ribbon on the headlight? All Gujarat previous travelogues insisted on having such.

Last edited by adc : 19th April 2010 at 00:30.
Old 19th April 2010, 14:22   #49

The bottomline is, no travelogue shall progress without constant follow up!
Wake up dude... write!
Old 19th April 2010, 14:48   #50

adc, it still requires that yellow strips on the cars registered in gujarat.So cars from other states does not require to paste that yellow strip, thats what i have seen so far.
Old 19th April 2010, 16:40   #51

I had kept yellow tape with me just in case. But no one stopped me and no one asked. Once when we voluntarily stopped to ask directions from the police, they didnt ask us about the strip. But what I gathered from the concversation with the police is that driving a Safari seems to automatically get political connection status. Its most amusing to see police behave like that.
Old 19th April 2010, 17:33   #52

Originally Posted by vijaythacker View Post
adc, it still requires that yellow strips on the cars registered in gujarat.So cars from other states does not require to paste that yellow strip, thats what i have seen so far.
I had kept yellow tape with me just in case. But no one stopped me and no one asked.
Whats the myth behind the YELLOW TAPE/STRIP thingy in Gujarat ?
Old 19th April 2010, 17:48   #53

Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
Whats the myth behind the YELLOW TAPE/STRIP thingy in Gujarat ?
It provides little ease to the opposite drivers and is "must" part of registration process. I don't remember exact chronology but in gujarat law was to put Black strip on the top horizontally, 1 inch black spot in the center of head light, yellow strip on the outside vertically (I too removed from my car when I took it to Bangalore ).

Hey very nice thread. It reminded me my good old memories. My hometown & other places. Keep up logging more details with Pics. BTW I too have one photo of "Chakda" from my recent trip which I can put after searching in my laptop.

Pradip.
Old 21st April 2010, 15:52   #54

... So we drove back and stopped at a hotel on the outskirts of Somnath.

Next day we headed for Dwarka.
Hey Jay, is the Safari giving troubles again?
You left the Outskirts of Somnath but couldn't yet reach Dwarka?!
It's been three days man... drive a lil faster!
Old 21st April 2010, 23:35   #55

Day 3

The road from Somnath to Dwaraka runs along the coast. Sometimes you can see it and sometimes you cant. Someplaces the sea comes in as usual. Some places are virgin beach. You either need to walk to it which is quite a distance away or use 4x4 and climb up a sand dune. Traffic is quite sparse and you pass by many fishing villages.

We passed by one such place and asked for the beach. The locals pointed to a route around 3 kms inside. A small narrow gully passing through a village and then you come to a small fishing village just by the beach. Lots of birds too. Some ducks, some cranes and what else not.

The view by the road followed by the fishing village somewhere enroute, the pristine beach, the blue waters, the birds and the sound of the waves and chirping.

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0569.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0574.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0576.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0577.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0581.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0153.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0157.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0583.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0586.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0596.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0160.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0163.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0597.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0620.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0622.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0625.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0633.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0664.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0669.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0673.jpg
Old 21st April 2010, 23:45   #56

Enroute To Dwarka

Enroute to Dwarka this is what the road looked like. Saw a lot of birds along the way. The Gujarati bullocks with huge horns. Wish I had a pair on my head too.

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0180.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0679.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0204.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0202.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0690.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0693.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0694.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0704.jpg

Porbandar was happily bypassed at 340pm. Not much interest in visiting Gandhiji's home since he no longer lives there. His new accomodation is now in everybodys wallet, in shades of green and red.
Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0710.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0213.jpg

Last edited by jaysmokesleaves : 21st April 2010 at 23:49.
Old 22nd April 2010, 00:00   #57

Along the way, lots of birds, windmills. GJ has lot of wind power generation. There are wind farms all along the coast spinning endlessly.
Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0239.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0240.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0723.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0741.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0742.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0749.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0244.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0245.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0247.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0767.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0773.jpg

we smell beach. So we get off the road and up a small sand dune. 4H did the trick with my almost treadless tires.

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0807.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0823.jpg

And behold, the beach, blue!!! As blue as blue can get!!

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0824.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0251.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0248.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0825.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0882.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0832.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0884.jpg

Last edited by jaysmokesleaves : 22nd April 2010 at 00:05.
Old 22nd April 2010, 00:10   #58

Awesome pics......Care elaborating on your camera gear???
Old 22nd April 2010, 00:37   #59

Then we stop for lunch at a punzabee dhaba. Saw this chap watching Harry Potter on star movies. He had never seen anything like it. And we laughed through our entire lunch. The chap stared at the tv with an expression that would make even a weeping child laugh. And he couldn’t understand a thing that he saw and made for an extremely funny sight. Even the dhaba owner, the cooks and the waiter chokras were laughing. The food though was extremely good.

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0267.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0257.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0264.jpg

We reached Dwarka, to find the temple closed. So we took off to Bet Dwarka which is a small island off the coast. Spotted a lot of flamingos by the road side enroute. In GJ there are birds everywhere we went. They aren’t too bothered by human presence within a safe distance. And the local people too don’t seem to bother them which is probably the birds are seen everywhere.

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0844.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0852.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0855.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0864.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1057.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1062.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0869.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0882.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0893.jpg

The Pier. Enroute to Bet Dwarka. The are many local ferries to take you across to the island. Cost is Rs.8/person, one way. The ferry is overloaded with human cargo to the point of capsizing. The ferry we took had a max specified passenger limit of 140. There were about 300+ people on board with more climbing in, when I asked the boy who was the sailor.
Following conversation;
Me> Arre bhai 140 ho gaya.
Boy > Abhi 40 baaki hai.
Anyways we were quite amused. Its quite an experience to be on a boat that you know is very highly likely to capsize. The seagulls keep you busy though. Hovering all around the ferry for the puffed rice treats that people throw at them. Its a very competive scenario. Some of them have learnt to catch the treat in mid air.
Anyways, the 2 way cruise was quite enjoyable. The temple at Bet Dwarka is quite simple. I couldn’t figure which of the idols was the main temple. We walked around a bit and then headed back to catch a ferry back to Dwarka, where we stopped for the night.

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0920.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0976.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0977.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0980.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1045.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1042.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0286.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-moded0287.jpg

Last edited by jaysmokesleaves : 22nd April 2010 at 00:44.
Old 22nd April 2010, 00:53   #60

Views Enroute To And At Bet Dwarka

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0995.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1006.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1009.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1010.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1028.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1034.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1038.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_1040.jpg

Coastal Gujarat and the Great Rann of Kutch-dsc_0936.jpg