Team-BHP - 2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna

-   Travelogues (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travelogues/)
-   -   2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travelogues/83630-2-days-24-hours-road-bangalore-gokarna.html)

Thats exactly what we did. Had been planning this for a long time and finally it was the D-Day.

We decided to travel from Bangalore to Gokarna over the weekend. It was a long drive, of around 520 KMS either side and we set off at 0800 PM on Friday and reached Gokarna by around 0900 AM in the morning.

Anyway, I will let Alter Ego do the writing honours

By Alter Ego

The D day
Missed it the last time and no way was going to miss another long drive meet.But driving 500+kms non stop that too in the night
without sleep seemed a bit insane and not very pragmatic.
But what the hell.We are the ones living on the edge.Since when did we start doing sane things

"Surjit we are not paying you to sleep in the cube".I guess its the newbie effect.I wake up.Its my new manager of my new company literally standing on my head.
Hope next time i come back to your cubicle you would be buzy working.
Damn!! Caught again.I look up.Its 2 o clock.Few more hours to go.To heck with few more hours.Let me go and tank up.

Leave office and straight away drive to the nearest bunk.Damn its a BP.I always had a disliking for BP petrol pumps.
But who cares.

The pump guy - "Yeshtu Sir"

Me - Poora tank bhar do.And I start walking away from my car since I had a cigarette in my hand and did not want to blow up the entire pump.
I still remember that akshay kumar khiladi walk towards the main road and then running back as rajpal yadav when I realised that
the idiot was pumping petrol in my beast's tank

Damn the moment i woke up in the after noon and saw my new managers face I should have known this.Bad Bad day.

Me - Oye ruk.Pagal hai kya.
pump guy - yen boss?

Me : bhaiyya diesel vehicle hai.
pump guy - to bolna chahiye na.Humein kaise pata chalega.

Me : haan main hi gadha hoon.I instantly call up concorde motors and ask for their tow vehicle to be sent.

pump guy : lekin 5 litres bhar diya hai.paisa to lagega.

Me : Oye. Jo mera itna paisa barbaad hoga uska kya.Pump ke manager ko bulao.

Pump guy: Wo nahin hai.khane gaye hain.Lekin aapki gaadi bina paise diya pump nahin chodegi.

Me : Ok.I lock the safari and start leaving on foot.To rakh lo ise.

Pump Guy : sir yahan se hatao.Baaki vehicles are waiting.

Me : I am not going to start the vehicle.Do u understand.It has petrol in the tank.

while we are in the middle of arguments the concorde guy arrives.leashes the safari and off they go with another guy taking control of the steering wheel.

I also leave after giving the pump guy my visiting card of my old company.

Smart boy !!

To be continued....

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_mg_3874.jpg

Ah! Finally the thread is up!

And what is this! Just a place holder! :(

Mmm... Alter - out with it!

By Alter Ego

And then I sms avijit ki bhaiyya apni to lag gayi.You guys carry on.I would have to miss this meet.

But as usual Avijit being the brilliant organiser will not take a NO from me.

Avijit calls back instantaneouly

Avijit : Bahut badiya kiya.Sabaash.(And I was cursing him for applying salt on my wounds. !@!@!@#)
Me : le lo ab tum bhi.

Finally I said that I would call him back from concorde.

And it happens that due to my newly found technical knowledge and few threads where owners had commited this mistake of filling the wrong fuel
and learning the moral to not crank up the engine , I am saved.

It takes just an hour to clean up and my safari is good to roll.

I pack and dump everything and collect my fiancee on the way.
And we catch up with avijit,brandon and their family near mahadevepura.

And then the accent and safari start rolling eagerly hoping and praying that we will soon be joined by a beemer.
We reach yeshwantpur crossing and wait for inder with gleemy eyes.And then he arrives with his wife and a barbie doll.
But what the flick!! Its a swift.Damn Inder.Where's the beemer.

But then it hits us.The wheels man.the wheels.His swift had one of the best Lenso alloys that we had seen around.A dual tone combination of
white and steel/chrome.Looked awesome.

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-wheel.jpg

After the introductions we are start to roll.

Unlike other trips, this time no one wanted to race and prove his carhood..No showing off this time.

Everyone was driving in sync with the head and tail of the convoy swapping
positions at regular intervals.And after some time which seemed like driving for centuries I had a look at the trip meter.Only 150 kms.Wow!! are we rolling on our stomach or what.We stop at a tea shop.Have tea with ciggy.

And we are on the roll again.

Time goes on and our eyes are all fixed on the road ensuring that no act of carelesness happens on the roads and we do not end up in the accidents
in india thread.

The drive continues early into the morning when we are nearing jog falls and inder goes mad.
His swift suddenly disappears like a rocket and we are panting and puffing to catch up to him.Meanwhile the sun rays have started to
hit the horizon and the view is getting amazing second by second.All of us have a scenic drive till we reach jog falls.Only to see that there were no falls at the Jog.Only a what we can call a small drain in fluid mechanics.

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-img_3908.jpg

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-img_3914.jpg

Don't go on her cute looks.She is a power packed mischief.Brandon junior.

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-img_3944.jpg

I decided not to write anything, Alter will do that, this time I leave it to the snaps to tell the storyclap:

Here are a few teasers from my side.

The Killer Samurai
2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0009.jpg

The Rides

My Ride. Taken very early in the morning. Almost dark. (Check out the roads, thats what most of the journey was like)

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0033.jpg

Alters EGO
2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0045.jpg

Inder's Electrifying Swift
2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0062.jpg

The descent before one of the beaches
2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0196.jpg

Kumta beach during the evening. This was an amazing beach and we were the only ones here. Had the entire beach to ourselves
2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0288.jpg

Asdon lost at Sea
2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0294.jpg

The view from our hotel terrace
2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0347.jpg

The Go Wild Gang
2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-_dsc0305.jpg

Some Pics from my end:

1. The Journey begins: Surjit and Brandon

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010941.jpg

2. Brandon's Car

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010942.jpg

3. Dawn towards Jog Falls

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010951.jpg

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010952.jpg

4. Road Test

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010953.jpg

5. Convoy

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010955.jpg

6. Asdon on Bridge to Jog Falls

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010957.jpg

7. Power Packed Rocket

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010958.jpg

8. Ashoka Pillar?

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010961.jpg

9. Time to leave

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010966.jpg

2 Days, 24 Hours on the Road, Bangalore to Gokarna-12062010968.jpg

Looks like you guys had a more of road trip than time spent at Gokarana. More pics.
Surjit, Wake up, post the trip details.
Inder, the white lenso looks really too good on the swift.

Originally Posted by rk_sans (Post 1936557)
Looks like you guys had a more of road trip than time spent at Gokarana. More pics.
Surjit, Wake up, post the trip details.
Inder, the white lenso looks really too good on the swift.

@rk - you are 50% correct, actually the road was so amazing you will find more of road pictures in the trip. But when you do a 1100km tour it looks llike more of a road trip:) here are some photos near and on the beach -

This was almost a private beach with only 4 families on the entire beach

The weather throughout the trip was at its best, and we did some 4 lane driving tooclap: the safari was at its best on NH4 both lookwise and performance-wise. Here are some more from my side -

Originally Posted by asdon (Post 1936610)
This was almost a private beach with only 4 families on the entire beach

agree:

Absolutely!!! I had been there in dec 2008 and we had the entire beach to ourselves! and most importantly not only is the beach clean, it is more like a big swimming pool with absolutely calm waters!

Hmm weather really looks amazing, good break.

Where are the snaps of Jog falls?

Originally Posted by raghu230506 (Post 1936677)
Hmm weather really looks amazing, good break.

Where are the snaps of Jog falls?

well I thaught Jog will be like this -

But it was like that -
Both are taken by me, 1st one in 2008 and second one in 2010(Global warming anyone?) actually it will be like this from July:)

Very nice Pics. The weather looks amazing.