Old 1st August 2010, 14:50   #16

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
MH43-Thane area.
Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
But isn't Thane MH04?
I quoted as Thane area and not Thane!!! [ Diplomatic words na!!].

Its just like Pune mh12 and Pimpri mh14.
Old 1st August 2010, 22:40   #17

guys i am really sorry for no detail feed and pics, last two days drive has been reallu hectic. Quick update is i reached Jaipur. And quick highlight of the day is, today i have driven longest ever non stop in terms time and distance, 8hrs and 550kms (not even a single break)

meanwhile, rest assured that tomorrow i will treat u guys with lots of pics and details.
Old 1st August 2010, 23:58   #18
MX6

what's your fuel tank capacity king? My Ikon normally gives me 18 on the highways. so I can easily cross 700 kms before the needle going near E. But on highways, I always make it a point to refuel around 400 - 450 kms mark. It's a morbid fear of running out of fuel in the middle of nowhere.
Old 2nd August 2010, 11:47   #19

Originally Posted by Lightening-Fast View Post
Throttleking, wishing you and your family a safe trip ahead. Keep the updates coming.
Originally Posted by TaureanBull View Post
Congratulations on getting leave.

Wow...a live travelogue. I will be watching it closely. Wish you a very happy and safe journey.
Thanks a lot guys!

Originally Posted by canonguy View Post
How was the traffic between Mumbai and Ahemedabad and how long does it usually take to cover this distance? No pics for this leg?
Posting pics in my next few posts, I spent 2 hours to reach the highway from Nerul, and after that 1.5 hours to reach Nalasupara, in total 4-5 hours of delay bcoz of traffic and rains. Usually should not take more than 10 hours.

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Good beginning, and have a safe trip, throttleking.

On the stretch from Agra to Delhi, be prepared for traffic jams as the south-bound carriageway on NH-2 would be partially taken up by kanwariyas. You're likely to face worse traffic slowdown on your way out of Delhi on the return journey on Saturday (7th Aug.), since the kanwar yatra would be at it's peak then, and all highways going out of Delhi would be utterly messed up.
SS Traveller thanks for the update, I have alread cancelled the plans for Agra, but on 7th I cant avoid it. Lets see how it goes.

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
@sagar,
finally, you are on wheels, tour-de-france oops tour-de-india.
Yes man finally!!!

Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
what's your fuel tank capacity king? My Ikon normally gives me 18 on the highways. so I can easily cross 700 kms before the needle going near E. But on highways, I always make it a point to refuel around 400 - 450 kms mark. It's a morbid fear of running out of fuel in the middle of nowhere.
Mine is 65 ltrs man and I never run out of fuel he he he
Old 2nd August 2010, 12:02   #20

Good Morning Mumbai!!!

We all got up little late at 5am (Damn we wanted to leave at five), it was raining like hell whole night in Nerul but was quite pleasan in the morning. I got down at 6am to click some pictures.

Few pictures of the street, girl going to school, people going for morning walk, and public transport in Mumbai.

It was not raining when we started, but soon while we were heading towards Thane, it started raining and really frustrating traffic jam till we reached Surat highway.

We reached Surat highway at 9am, had a breakfast there in foodplaza and started again, but again worst ever traffic jam till Nalasupara. Total hours lost, around 4. In my next post, story of Ahemadabad highway in rain.
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3189.jpg  

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3192.jpg  

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3195.jpg  

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3200.jpg  

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3201.jpg  

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3202.jpg  

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3205.jpg  

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3206.jpg  

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3207.jpg  

Old 2nd August 2010, 12:03   #21

By the way, my Magnum found a safe place behind the cage at night in Nerul
Old 4th August 2010, 12:18   #22

To Ahemadabad

Sorry guys, last few days has been very hectic, but today and tomorrow i will cover up everything. We finally reched Delhi yesterday at 4.30pm.

As soon as we started from Nalasupara road till Vapi was not that great, moreover it was raining heavily. It rained throughout till Ahemadabad except few patches of few kilometers.

After Vapi, road was fun to drive, however I was not so comfortable bcoz of slight wobbling between 80-90 and between 100-120, Magnum was running great above 120 but thats not the speed you can maintain, and all of this was happening despite i had done wheel balancing and alignment before leaving for the tour. Plus I had to replace the bulbs, so I stoped at local mech on highway, he replaced the bulb with the extra pair I had but again one of the bulbs were not working.

Just before the Vadodara, we saw GM workshop (Gopinathji) and we decided to stop. Fortunately he had one phillips bulb so replaced it, but bcoz of additional cutout wires right side headlamp cover is always pain to fix. SA tried his hands for almost half an hour and then decided to open the complete headlamp assembly. so we took the car inside the workshop and fixed it. Then I told him about the wobbling problem, we then took a test drive and he said Balancing needs to be again, so we spent more time there to get it done, SA then took the test drive and confirmed that tis all fine now. He charged us for only bulb and nothing else, no charges for balancing, weight and labor.

I am really happy to see the GM service center on highway and the level of service I got. This has been my consistent experience with GM.

We had already lost few hours in traffic and lot of people had scared me about some golden bridge saying we might end up spending 2 hours also, but we crossed it like a cake walk.

We crossed the Vadodara and hit the Express Way, which is lot better than mumbai - pune e-way, for several reasons. One it is not cement road, its empty, traffic is well behaved (just one honk or flash and you get side) and what not. Whats more, Magnum loves express way, thought on on highway my fav speed is 120kmph and floor the paddle express way, we hit 180 twice and 200 once on a straight patch, with speed above 140 we covered 95 kms in just about 35-40 mins. Hoping to reach friends place to some fun early, we were quite disappointed when we reached Ahemadabad. Suddenly the well behaved traffice becomes ruthless and haywire, and again the traffic jams. We finally reached friend's place after spending 1.5 hours in city traffic. Nonetheless we had fun!!!

Some pics after nalasupara, rains and toll booth

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3214.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3216.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3218.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3219.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3220.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3225.jpg

We saw many beautiful temples on our way. Jaipur probably has thousands of temples.
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3227.jpg

Pics of Gopinathji GM service center, my daughter having much needed break in the garden, SA trying to fix the headlamp cover, and Magnum waiting to get balancing done
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3234.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3237.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3238.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3239.jpg

Sone we hit the road again, pics of neat and clean highway, sophisticated guys at toll booth collection, when i said thanks to him, he did say welcome . My fav speed on highway. Pics of express way and traffic jam in Ahemadabad and Gurudwara.
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3242.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3243.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3244.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3245.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3256.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3259.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3261.jpg
1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3263.jpg
Old 5th August 2010, 11:58   #23

Ahemadabad to Jaipur

Next Morning, friend brings us lovely Poha and Masala chai. We started at around 10am hoping that we will reach Jaipur easily by 6-7pm. Clicked some pics on the way top Gandhinagar. And soon we catch up the speed and head straight to Udaipur, we enter the city instead of taking the bypass so that we can have typically Rajasthani Thali lunch. But the decision proved to be wrong, food was normal and after the lunch we by mistake took NH8 which is two way road through ghats and traffic :(

Finally just before Ajmer we took a road to Nasirabad to catch up with four lane again. Now that I was getting a good speed we decided not stop even for the chai break and headed straight to Jaipur. And to our surprise we were greeted by heavy rains, blocking visibility even upto 2fts, again heavy traffic jams caused by water logging everywhere. Ultimately ended up doing longest non-stop drive around 500+ kms and in about 8+ hours.

Few pics of the chai poha, dog who kept crying whole night, streets, huge camel, nice roads and some factory, auto rikshaws, typical fight between common man and cops, fruit stall and vendor's kids, wifee and daughter in magnum, pigeons trying to fly the plane , Banjara Family, we also saw these weird companions on highway.

Thali in udaipur and entry in Jaipur with traffic jam.

We finally reached hotel Ramada at 9.30pm.

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3271.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3274.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3278.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3279.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3280.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3281.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3283.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3284.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3285.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3286.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3287.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3288.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3290.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3291.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3292.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3293.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3294.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3295.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3296.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3299.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3302.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3303.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3306.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3307.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3313.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3315.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3328.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3339.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3341.jpg

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-dscn3343.jpg
Old 5th August 2010, 13:45   #24

Vasuli Anna, While returning back you & magna will enjoy the super smooth 4 lane higway via Chittorgarh.

EDIT: Did you put the yellow sticker on right side of head lamps?

Last edited by shabahmad : 5th August 2010 at 13:48.
Old 7th August 2010, 23:12   #25

Awesome snaps yaar. Such diversity in the snaps. I liked the random pics of the locals you got there. Really good timing. I also loved the pic of the Nasirabad Railway station. Crossed the same station earlier in the year in my Bangalore to Delhi roadtrip. Have spent 3 years here in Nasirabad, when my dad was posted here, some of the best days of my life. Thanks.
Old 7th August 2010, 23:15   #26

Couldn't stop loading the pic I took of the Nasirabad station:

1 Family 1 car 9 Days (MH14, MH43, GJ01, RJ14, UP80, DL01, MP09, Shirdi, MH14) - Live-100_2050.jpg
Old 9th August 2010, 18:35   #27

Really nice snaps and an adventurous journey

Guess you are using one of those ultra optical zoom cameras.

Isn't MH43 from Kolhapur?
MH 43 is Navi Mumbai.
Old 9th August 2010, 19:02   #28

Hey Guys !

Throttle king has reached beyond Jaipur [ in this travelogue ] . we are still stuck up in Mumbai with 43 ?

come on guys, lets go with the flow.

No more questions with number 43 now !

Please ?
Old 9th August 2010, 19:33   #29

Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
9 Days : from today to next Sunday the 8th, me and my three ladies (mom, wife and daughter) we are all off to Delhi in my 2008 Optra Magnum.

Here is the detail plan, leave today and stay at uncle's place in navi Mumbai tonight, start early tomorrow and reach to Ahemadabad and meet my dear old friend. Sunday evening check-in into hotel Ramada in pink city Jaipur, a day of site seeing and lots of Rajasthani food. Tuesday visit Tejo Mahalaya in Agra and head towards Delhi, till friday some mind blowing fun at my sis-in-law's place, meet brothers from Royal Beasts and t-bhp. Saturday back in action, longest strech of the tour, 900kms and we reach Indore - stay in hotel Sarovar Portico. Sunday morning Sai Baba darshan in Shirdi and by evening we are back in home, sweet home!!! and Monday onwards usual bakwas life in office...

All I want to do in this tour is to capture and capture more, and feed you guys with live information, lets see how it goes!!!
Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
Thali in udaipur and entry in Jaipur with traffic jam.

We finally reached hotel Ramada at 9.30pm.
The live travelogue has not shown any new posts after 5th by Throttleking. He was supposed to be back at Pune on 8th. He was to meet t-bhpians at Delhi on 6th. Anyone in touch with him?
Old 9th August 2010, 19:38   #30

I love the pictures of the children very much. Nice pics. Waiting for more.