Old 5th December 2011, 13:06   #271

Re: Images from above 10000 feet.

When I saw the pictures, two songs came to my mind.

1. The Sound of Music

The hills are alive
With the sound of music
With songs they have sung
For a thousand years.....

I go to the hills
When my heart is lonely
I know I will hear
What I've heard before..

2. Karen Carpenter's 'Top of the World'

I'm on the top of the world lookin' down on creation
And the only explanation I can find
Is the love that I've found ever since you've been around
Your love's put me at the top of the world

Thanks for sharing the photos - The day is made.
Old 5th December 2011, 13:25   #272

We've had quite a few Leh-Ladakh travelogues and photo-logs on off-late on Team BHP. Some of them are really great. But this the moment when the veteran steps in and proves to all of us that photographs can indeed capture the essence of the mystical place. And he does it with such ease. Can a photograph ever be graceful?

Sir, you haven't clicked these photographs. This is not photography. This is art. And I'm glad you've gone with the best canvas around.

You Sir, you aren't a photographer. You're an artist.
Old 5th December 2011, 15:48   #273

Hai Ajay and Rudhra,

I've missed this thread, but having found it finished it in one sitting today.

Salutes, many of them. Other adjectives are already used up!! Rightfully so. You two have captured slices of magic that is Ladakh.

Been there so can imagine what the place is in 3D, your photos are alive with the reality of the landscape and as near to 3d as can be.

Some thoughts behind the shots explained by you are new learning for me, not surprised Photography is a lifetime of learning and some more. Thanks for the ride, share and the story. The written story is short, the picture story is pretty long.

--Ramky
======
Old 5th December 2011, 17:13   #274

Originally Posted by amrisharm View Post
1) With a camera like that, do you still get graining in the pictures when you enlarge them? If yes, then how big can you blow the image before graining appears? i know it varies on many factors but just a rough idea would be great if possible.
I’ve seen prints of 4/6 feet and haven’t noticed any grain. These were from 1Ds Mark II and not 1Ds Mark III.
Originally Posted by amrisharm View Post
2) If someone is looking at buying a DSLR in the region of Rs 40,000, they will probably get a EOS 500D. Would it be advisable to buy that or instead postpone the purchase, save up a bit more and buy a EOS 7D for Rs 88,000? Will i get exponential value for money by doing that or not?
Decide on what you want to do and how far you want to go. Unless you’re looking for massive enlargements, don’t even bother about expensive/full frame bodies. I rather spend that money for getting good glasses.
Originally Posted by basky View Post
When I saw the pictures, two songs came to my mind.
1. The Sound of Music
Austrian Alps is pretty. Not rugged as mighty Himalayas. So music what you hear here is very different.
Karen Carpenter's 'Top of the World'
Yes, more like it.
[Thanks for sharing the photos - The day is made.
We’re happy to know that. Trust me, it feels good.
Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
And I'm glad you've gone with the best canvas around.
Best canvas as in equipment? Any decent new generation camera will produce these results. Few shots there were from my pocket camera too.
Originally Posted by ramkya1 View Post
Photography is a lifetime of learning and some more.
Absolutely correct boss. Everyday even on my official shoots I realise this.
Rudra Sen is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th December 2011, 18:04   #275

Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
Best canvas as in equipment? Any decent new generation camera will produce these results. Few shots there were from my pocket camera too.
No Rudra Ji, when I said canvas, I meant the Leh-Ladakh, which is God's canvas.
Old 5th December 2011, 19:01   #276

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
No Rudra Ji, when I said canvas, I meant the Leh-Ladakh, which is God's canvas.
God's canvas, yes. Actually weather was pretty bad that time and we couldn't continue our trip to Himachal. I did have some mega plan (of course weather depended) but didn't get any chance at all.

Ok, since this thread is bumped up again, here's one more. Patch afternoon light at Upshi.

Images from above 10000 feet.-ya5m0112a.jpg
Rudra Sen is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th December 2011, 19:08   #277

God's canvas, yes. Actually weather was pretty bad that time and we couldn't continue our trip to Himachal. I did have some mega plan (of course weather depended) but didn't get any chance at all.

Ok, since this thread is bumped up again, here's one more. Patch afternoon light at Upshi.

Attachment 852463
You get this effect with so much ease. Even on my Infrareds, I cannot achieve such skies
I bow to thee and your skills, not just in photography, but also in Post processing.

If you remember, this was a simple shot by me, and you turned it into something magical!
Images from above 10000 feet.-716357149_ruppkl.jpg

And what you did to Pangong Tso... Truly a masterpiece.
Hopefully, you will visit this magical lake in 2012. On every trip, it eludes you!

Images from above 10000 feet.-716363593_ztdyml.jpg
tsk1979 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2011, 19:23   #278

Hopefully, you will visit this magical lake in 2012. On every trip, it eludes you!
I'll for sure. I've tried three times before. Once during 2006 and twice last year. Next year I've to do it.
Old 5th December 2011, 19:34   #279

Guess in midst of all the excitement, I missed this amazing thread!

Rudrada, I can just wonder how these would be looking on ur huge monitor when they look so mesmerising on my puny 14 inch screen.

Really sorry, have not been in touch with you for some time.
I am planning for a quick trip next year.
Need to catch up and get some tips on the B&W shooting.
Old 5th December 2011, 22:27   #280

We’re happy to know that. Trust me, it feels good.
We feel better. Thanks for the effort in spreading happiness. The Road rage guys should spend time in the Hills - in solitude.