Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 13th February 2011, 23:34   #1
BHPian

Travel tales - Idukki, Ramakkalmedu, Vagamon, Valparai, Thattekadu, Id Amalayar and more

Disclaimer:I am a very lazy writer. If I can put down something in 4 sentences I will try to reduce it to 2 sentences . It may not be as descriptive as you would like it to be. Also since there are quite some
places to cover it may take a long time to put down all these.

My mom and dad were in KeSRTC. They had an annual pass using which we could go trips without paying fare. So I was bitten by the travel bug from my early childhood where we visited places like Madurai, Thekkady, Velankanni, Wayanad, Nelliyampathy etc in the KeSRTC buses. By my 10th or so these trips became non-existent .This travelogue is of my trips in the past 10 months

1)Idukki, Ramakkalmedu

Idukki which used to be the biggest district in kerala, has some of the most beautiful places in Kerala and is home to the biggest hydro-electric project in Kerala.
This was a one day drive. Picked up 3 of my friends and we could start by 5.30AM from kakkanad. Took the tripunithura,muvattupuzha,thodupuzha route. The road is a breeze to drive and we could reach muvattupuzha by 6.15.Took the breakfast halt at a small hotel around 1km onto the muvattupuzha-thodupuzha route (bang opposite an indian oil pump). Youll get nice "Chiratta puttu" there. Too tasty and easy on the pocket. bill for 4 came to around 100rs.