Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 17th March 2006, 10:26   #1

Tyre change for Tata Indica

Hi guys,

I am planning to get 185/60 R13 tyres for my Indica. Right now its running on stock tyres.

When I contacted a tyre dealer, he said it's better not to use a bigger tyre size since it causes suspension problems. Is it so?

He also told me that some customer had a bad experience and so changed back to stock configuration.

I want to know whether it's an odd problem or is it happens with all Indicas? What about 185/60 R13 tyres? Which brand?

Please help.

aNu

Last edited by Aditya : 2nd February 2022 at 20:11. Reason: Edited for better readability
Old 17th March 2006, 19:13   #2
aZa

Indica could take a bigger size i guess without issues

I have 175/60/r13 on my santro without any problemo indica definatly cud do fatter tyres than santro
Old 19th March 2006, 22:31   #3

I am using this tyre since around 35000 kms on odo, with the odo now at 61000kms. The tread depth has held and suspension is going good, even with my spirited driving. The brand is bridgestone potenza GIII 185/60R13 tubeless radial.
Only downside is that its directional, so the spare wheel is a Goodyear Ducaro tubeless 185/60R13 so that if I get a puncture my spare can fit anywhere.
Old 20th March 2006, 01:19   #4

I'd suggest 175s since I feel 185's are a bit too broad for an NA indica.
Old 20th March 2006, 08:08   #5

Agree with nitrous...185 is too much without the wheel arches as in the new indica....go for 175 rubber
Old 20th March 2006, 10:12   #6

Hi guyz,

thank u very much

aNu
Old 29th March 2006, 02:44   #7

i have been using 205/60r13 in my indica for around 55,000kms and had 185/60r13 before,the car has run more than 1.1lakh kms still not even a single part from suspension has been changed till date and the car is good as new.
Old 1st December 2008, 17:25   #8

TATA Indica V2::Tyre Change::Bangalore

I am looking to upgrade my cars tyres as they are worn out.
STD Spec's::13"165/65 JK Tyres.

Looking at::14"185/55. with Mac alloys. (Seen Yokahama tyres and Peta Alloys)
Kindly suggest if which alloys can i go for & where can i buy them in bangalore.
Also suggest if this size has any adverse effects. if yes which size would be ideal. If not Which brand of tyres and from where can i buy them.
Old 1st December 2008, 17:37   #9

For the Indica, 175/60 R13 or 185/60 R13 is ideal. Dont go for 14" as you'll need lower profile tyres which are not recommended on our roads.

Mods, please move this thread to the appropriate section.
Old 1st December 2008, 17:46   #10

Indica V2 Turbo comes with 14inchers and hence i dont think putting 14inchers is a problem.
CHeck the tyre bible and choose a nice 14inchers. Also dont forget to send a PM to iraghava for assistance.

Abhi
Old 1st December 2008, 18:05   #11

The V2 turbo has 165/65 R14 and the same aspect ratio as the 13 inchers, also it's gear ratios are different from the V2 NA. So if you put 165/65 R14 on the NA version, you'll get a big speedo error.

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
Indica V2 Turbo comes with 14inchers and hence i dont think putting 14inchers is a problem.
CHeck the tyre bible and choose a nice 14inchers. Also dont forget to send a PM to iraghava for assistance.

Abhi
Old 1st December 2008, 18:17   #12

apollo acellere would be the VFM choice, and 185/60 is the correct upsize

@ adityamunshi, can the indica turbo console be obtained and fitted onto a regular indica to facilitate fitting 14 inchers ? the turbo DLX console looks very nice , with al finish dials and stuff

if you fit 14 inchers, the steering will become a bit heavier. wider tyres will also have a similar effect
Old 1st December 2008, 18:18   #13

Tyres

Even i have to change the tyres shortly. May be the current will last for another 5K Kms. I do not want to go for alloys. Please can anyone provide details for which tyres i can go for. The current JK tyre's are crap and if gets flat tyre, it is real pain to change the wheel(specially the front wheels).
Old 1st December 2008, 18:20   #14

You can buy the console and get it fitted but im not 100% sure. Either ways, you still wont be able to use 14 " tyres. I think it has to do with the gear ratios rather than the console.
Tanveer or anyone please correct me if im wrong.

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
apollo acellere would be the VFM choice, and 185/60 is the correct upsize

@ adityamunshi, can the indica turbo console be obtained and fitted onto a regular indica to facilitate fitting 14 inchers ? the turbo DLX console looks very nice , with al finish dials and stuff

if you fit 14 inchers, the steering will become a bit heavier. wider tyres will also have a similar effect
Old 1st December 2008, 18:59   #15

IMHO the following would be the best choice. As I already have used both for our cars.

185/60 R13 Apollo Accelere (For V2 NA Diesel)
185/60 R14 Apollo Accelere (For V2 Turbo)

I am still having 185/60 R14 Apollo Accelere on my V2 turbo

Last edited by nithinnarayanan : 1st December 2008 at 19:00.