![]() | #91 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2005 Location: Kolkata
| ![]() Quote:
Thanks for your detailed response. Unfortunately I was in a hurry as I had a pre-planned tour for approx 600 kms last Sunday and needed to change my cracked tyres desperately. For some reason Michelin's were not available with even a single dealer in Kolkata. Yoko AVS DB was as well out of stock. The Yokohama store had Earth 1, S-Drive for my size. Was quoted Rs. 6.2k for a Jan 2014 Continental CPC2 but did not want a 1.5 year old tyre. Finally was forced to get Yokohama Earth 1 as it was the only available choice for me before my journey. So far I am happy with the new tyres as they are offering good level of comfort and were more or less silent over asphalt roads. My previous AVS DB 195/60 were 2011 manufactured and I guess they were very hard by this time resulting in a jarring ride in the last few months if I was having adequate pressure. The Yokohama Earth 1 did around 1000 kms in the last 3 days and seems to be a very good value for money tyre. However, breaking in the AVS DB was better in my opinion. The Tyre feels solid when it went over the potholes and the 195/65 has made my car a bit higher which is a boon for making past over the massive speed breakers that Bengal has. I have kept 32 psi on all 4 wheels but feel I might want to make it less now that I travel with only 2 passengers most of the time. Please let me know what you feel is the optimum tyre pressure for a 195/65 tyre on Ertiga that will have good balance between ride quality and handling? Regards Ranendra | |
![]() |
|
![]() | #92 | |
BHPian Join Date: May 2014 Location: Gurgaon
| ![]() Quote:
Coongratulations on the new set of tyres for your ride ![]() Yeah, Earth-1 isnt that bad too and it is value for sure. Just that I found it to be higher on noise while on the roll. 195/65/15 is ideal for ertiga and anything under or over that in my opinion is a compromise on the GC and response respectively. It would be ideal to inflate them with nitrogen to extend the tyre life and keep the tyre pressure between 28 to 30 psi to get the best out of them, and then further seal the valve with leak proof caps. You get caps nowadays that are leak proof, lock up on the valve and have a tyre pressure indication on the cap too. It is available through MASS as a part of the MGA product range and costs Rs.400 to 500. It is an awesome investment, so go for it... Drive safe. Cheers... | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #93 |
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Hi All, I am planning to upgrade my Ertiga's tyres. But I have the steel wheel ZDi. Can you suggest if 205 is advisable? |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #94 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Belur/Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
So 205 on the stock rims is all good. However, I have mentioned many tines here and elsewhere that 205 might cause a very minor "Ballooning" on the sidewall due to the extra width. Else, I am more than happy with them. If you are keen, explore some after market alloys which are 6.5J and above on which 205s will fit precisely with almost flat looking sidewall. However, do check the offsets of these aftermarket alloys as they can result in scrapping with wheel arches if they fit a little on the outside. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #95 |
| ![]() It would be really helpful if you could post a few snaps from different angles. I would like to see how it looks. Thanks in advance. |
![]() |
![]() | #96 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Belur/Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
I will try to take a few pics tomorrow morning and post if they can further help you. EDIT: Few pics from this post of mine from my ownership update should also assist you. Last edited by paragsachania : 4th November 2015 at 20:52. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #97 |
| ![]() I upgraded my Ertiga ZDi tyres to Michellin Primary 3ST 195 60 R15. Approx 6k per tyre, Madhus Blr. I was kind of skeptical when people said 'comfort' increased, handling increased with various tyres but let me share my thought here :- In 2012, I sold my Swift DDiS after I found my ride too hard. I had changed my rubber to 195 Yoko A drive during that time. It never crossed my mind that a tyre could do so much to make suspension so hard and bouncy. After 3 yrs now in 2015, after getting on to Michellin on my Ertiga (current EDO 31500 kms), now I know what comfort means. TYRES DO MATTER!!! I don't know about the current Yoko's, but my personal advice for Ertiga is Michellin 195 60 R15, its worth it. I have experienced improved comfort levels (i could feel the difference on road patches), steering has become butter smooth and reduced wheel spins (in 2nd gear turbo pull on flooring!) And I think 205 size would be an overkill for a vehicle which already is known for under performance under certain conditions. Thanks for all other posts in this thread which did help me. Last edited by sam_sant2005 : 24th December 2015 at 14:14. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #98 |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() I always have 33 psi on my 4 Michelins in my Ertiga ZDi with stock alloys. Ride quality is excellent and never even bumpy. Most of the time I drive alone to work,except when going on tours,when my family is with me. Michelin are the best and I have used various Michelin tyres on all my cars since 2003 |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #99 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Hyderabad
| ![]() I have upgraded my Ertiga Zdi tires (with stock alloys) to 205 of Hancock's (2.5 yrs ago). I've completed 61k kms as of today, couldn't have been much happier with my decision. Hancock's were cheaper than Michelin if I remember correctly. Pros Ride quality is improved considerably Road grip is great, cornering is better. Bad roads and small potholes etc, don't matter much now. Clocked 61k now, still going strong Cons Increase in tire noise Turbo lag is much appreciated in lower RPMs. Slightly reduced fuel economy Since it's 90% Chauffeur driven now, I'm happy with my decision. I honestly feel Ertiga is under tired, tire upgrade is a must. Consider 195 if self driven, 205 if OK with the cons mentioned. Last edited by drkritik : 2nd January 2016 at 20:19. |
![]() |
![]() | #100 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2015 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
Kindly share your experience with the Michelin Primary 3ST 195 60 R15 especially on full load conditions. I am planning for an upgrade as well and I am a bit confused between 195/60 and 205/60. My long distance runs usually involve 5 passengers and lots of luggage ![]() Thanks in advance, Cheers rahulb22 | |
![]() |
![]() | #101 |
BHPian Join Date: Apr 2008 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Could somebody guide between 195 60 R15 vs 195 65 R15 please? I know the later will increase the GC but former will reduce it. Question in mind is it is better to have more GC on pathetic roads, isn't it? Specifically in Bangalore the area where I stay have speed breakers or rather car breakers ![]() I am planning for michelins only but bit confused between sizes mentioed above. Considering high speed highway driving which ones are better? Again do not want to go for 205 60 R15 since mine is petrol ertiga and already the milage is well below diesel one. A kilometer or two less per liter will be a killer after tyre upgrade. Regards |
![]() |
![]() | #102 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2013 Location: Chennai
| ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #103 |
BANNED Join Date: Mar 2014 Location: Noida/Delhi
| ![]() I just got my ertiga's first tire change at 73k kms. I was so happy i got to finally dispose the crappy MRFs. Went for Yokohama Earth 1 in stock size. So far much much happier with the tires. It's more grippy plus quieter than the MRFs. Also takes the bumps in a softer way. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #104 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2009 Location: Chennai
| ![]() I have a 2013 Ertiga Vdi and it has run close to 40K KMS on stock MRF's. I am looking for replacing the tyres. I want to retain the stock size. I am unable to make up mind as the choices are too much. With MRF i have had only couple of punctures so far i have driven in worst of roads but it has never given up. But after reading this thread want to try Michelin? but reviews are mixed for Michelin. i hear people says they are prone for punctures. please guide. |
![]() |
![]() | #105 | |
| ![]() Quote:
As of now my Ertiga is on Michelin Primacy 3ST and I am yet to completely make a judgement on how good or bad it is when it comes to punctures. Go for Michelin XM2s. | |
![]() | ![]() |