Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 4th May 2019, 20:48   #151

Re: My BMW, upgraded to Michelin Pilot Super Sports! Imported from TireRack.com, USA

Originally Posted by Nostalgic3r View Post
Did you check out the 255/40/r18 Pirelli P Zero Rosso? Our neighbour runs that setup in his older 3 series and finds it pretty good for 18”ers, comfort wise and also grip wise.
255/40/R18 will not work for me. That will have a 3.7% error in circumference. Mine is a GT and it comes with higher profile tires compared to the 3 series sedan.
Old 6th May 2019, 10:20   #152

Re: My BMW, upgraded to Michelin Pilot Super Sports! Imported from TireRack.com, USA

Originally Posted by graaja View Post
The rear tires on my BMW 330i GT have reached their end of life and need replacement.

15K towards labor charges. As this is quite a high cost to pay for two tires, I tried outside dealers.

Tirerack has these and they cost 450$ a pair. As they do not have a way to order directly for international shipment, I did a live chat and the support guy asked me to email them.
This lack of response is quite surprising as I see feedback that they are very fast in responding to queries.
Hi Graaja,

I recently imported Michelin PSS5 for my 3. A staggered setup (my first preference was the dealer but the setup I needed was not available with them, so my next best option was TireRack.com).

I had previously purchased from them and sent that email as reference to the sales team. The entire process of buying was pretty straight forward and was done in 2 days time, and the tires reached India within a week. I got the clearing done through our company's CHA (3-4 days) and voila.

I took them to my local dealer and got them installed for 5K incl. new valves.
I'm surprised by the installation quote given by your dealer and the lack of proper response from Tire Rack.

Sam Donahoe
Sales Specialist
O: 888 428 8355 ext. 4499
O: 574 287 2345 ext. 4499

This guy was very helpful in processing my order. Give it one more try!!

- Cheers

Note from Support: Post fixed. Please proof read before posting. Thanks!

Last edited by GTO : 9th May 2019 at 08:22. Reason: Poor language & grammar. Please type your posts properly
Couper72 is offline   (3) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 6th May 2019, 12:47   #153

Originally Posted by Couper72 View Post
I took them to my local dealer and got them installed for 5K incl. new valves.
I surprised by the installation quote given by your dealer and the lack of proper response from Tire Rack.

... Give it one more try!!
Thanks a lot for the response. I will give it one more try with Tire Rack.

Can you kindly post a copy of the invoice of the tire installation by your dealer? That would give me some reference to discuss with my dealer here about their installation charges.

PS: The local dealer inflates any service cost (experienced this during my M Sport suspension and dash cam installation). That is the main reason why I went for BSI+.

Last edited by aah78 : 8th May 2019 at 20:07. Reason: Quoted post fixed.
Old 7th May 2019, 09:20   #154

I recently imported Michelin PSS5 for my 3. A staggered setup (my first preference was the dealer but the setup I needed was not available with them, so my next best option was TireRack.com).
I received a response from their sales team. They have quoted $745 shipping for the tires. I think they have quoted for 4 tires, whereas I want only 2. I have asked them to clarify if this shipping is for 2 or 4 tires. Assuming shipping to be $370 for two tires, that would make it close to $900 total. Add about 45% duty, that would be $1305 for two tires.

How much was the shipping cost when you imported the PSS5?

Last edited by aah78 : 8th May 2019 at 20:07. Reason: Quoted post fixed.
graaja is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th May 2019, 16:19   #155

How much was the shipping cost when you imported the PSS5?
The total for 4 tires worked out to $1596 with $640 for shipping. The clearance here cost me another INR 25K.

Last edited by aah78 : 8th May 2019 at 20:08. Reason: Post fixed for readability. Quote only relevant portions please. Thanks!
Couper72 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th May 2019, 17:42   #156

The total for 4 tires worked out to $1596 with $640 for shipping. The clearance here cost me another INR 25K.
Thank you for the update. Tire Rack revised the shipping cost for 2 tires to $470. The cost of tires is $430. As this option does not provide any cost advantage, I decided to get the tires through BMW dealer itself. I think Tire Rack would be a good choice to get tires which are not available in India for any price.

Last edited by aah78 : 8th May 2019 at 20:09. Reason: Quote fixed. Tire Rack.
Old 24th May 2019, 22:51   #157

Hello. So I am looking for a replacement of stock RFTs - 225/45R17 for my 330i

The car has gone through 5-6 sets of stock RFTs so far, currently at 115,000kms mileage on some of the worst roads this country has to offer (viz. WB)

I want to play it safe and stick to whatever is available in India. With a budget of under 1 lakhs, what are my best bets for a full set? CCU/BOM/DEL dealer names would be helpful too. Thank you.

Last edited by haldar_siliguri : 24th May 2019 at 22:52.
Old 30th October 2019, 00:15   #158

Thank you for the update. Tire Rack revised the shipping cost for 2 tires to $470. The cost of tires is $430. As this option does not provide any cost advantage, I decided to get the tires through BMW dealer itself. I think Tire Rack would be a good choice to get tires which are not available in India for any price.
Which regular tubeless tyres did you finally install? I am looking to replace all my tyres this week itself.

Old 30th October 2019, 04:34   #159

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
Which regular tubeless tyres did you finally install? I am looking to replace all my tyres this week itself.

I did not switch to tubeless. I went with the same OE Conti CSC5 RFT tires as I could not find any tire in te 255/45/18 rear wheel specification. If your car does not already have the CSC5, I would recommend changing to CSC5 RFTs. They are very comfortable, have almost zero road noise and offer excellent grip.

If you are planning to switch to tubeless, I would suggest the tubeless version of CSC5 which had very good reviews. They are available in the 225/50/18 that the 320d GT comes with.
graaja is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2019, 10:08   #160

I did not switch to tubeless. I went with the same OE Conti CSC5 RFT tires as I could not find any tire in te 255/45/18 rear wheel specification. If your car does not already have the CSC5, I would recommend changing to CSC5 RFTs. They are very comfortable, have almost zero road noise and offer excellent grip.

If you are planning to switch to tubeless, I would suggest the tubeless version of CSC5 which had very good reviews. They are available in the 225/50/18 that the 320d GT comes with.
Thanks Graaja. This is all very useful. I realised later from your blog that you finally went RFT after exploring the import route etc.

Checking quotes for CSC5 as we discussed.

Old 17th May 2020, 12:10   #161
ais

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post

Gone Staggered;
You must have had to change the alloy wheel size in order to stagger the size of tyres? If yes, kindly provide details of alloy change, costs, brand, source etc
Old 17th May 2020, 13:25   #162

Originally Posted by ais View Post
You must have had to change the alloy wheel size in order to stagger the size of tyres? If yes, kindly provide details of alloy change, costs, brand, source etc
No, as 8J width wheels can incorporate 245's

Also that was my old setup, now im running 245/40 R18 square

Last edited by karan561 : 17th May 2020 at 13:26.
karan561 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th May 2020, 13:37   #163
ais

No, as 8J width wheels can incorporate 245's

Also that was my old setup, now im running 245/40 R18 square
Thanks for the prompt reply!

Is the 245 square setup better?

In my F30 330i M Sport LCI , stock fitment is 18" M Sport Light Alloys and staggered setup with 255/40 R18 rear, and 225/45 R18 front, Bridgestone Potenza RFTs. I've gone for Bilstein B6 because the ride was too floaty whereas the 320d Sportline pre LCI square setup with Bridgestone Potenza was planted at all speeds. The steering felt too light in the 330i, but is better with the B6.

The left alloys got bent, probably on hitting a pothole. I gather from posts on various threads that this will remain an issue. BMW is replacing the two alloys and tyres, but I'm trying to get all 4 wheels downsized to 17" regular alloys (never had any issues with them in my 320d Sportline) and Michelin PS4S tyres.

Should I square the setup? And if the alloys do get changed to 17", can the tyres be squared as it is or will the alloy sizes also need to be changed?

What would be the best way forward?

Last edited by ais : 17th May 2020 at 13:40.
Old 19th May 2020, 11:42   #164

Originally Posted by ais View Post
Thanks for the prompt reply!

Is the 245 square setup better?

In my F30 330i M Sport LCI , stock fitment is 18" M Sport Light Alloys and staggered setup with 255/40 R18 rear, and 225/45 R18 front, Bridgestone Potenza RFTs. I've gone for Bilstein B6 because the ride was too floaty whereas the 320d Sportline pre LCI square setup with Bridgestone Potenza was planted at all speeds. The steering felt too light in the 330i, but is better with the B6.

The left alloys got bent, probably on hitting a pothole. I gather from posts on various threads that this will remain an issue. BMW is replacing the two alloys and tyres, but I'm trying to get all 4 wheels downsized to 17" regular alloys (never had any issues with them in my 320d Sportline) and Michelin PS4S tyres.

Should I square the setup? And if the alloys do get changed to 17", can the tyres be squared as it is or will the alloy sizes also need to be changed?

What would be the best way forward?
Your 18" M Sport wheels are staggered (Front 8J & Rear 8.5J). If you are getting new rims as a replacement then stick to 18s. Going with OE 17s will not compliment your M Sport bodykit at all (If you select tasteful 17"ers Non BMW/aftermarket rims then it may look good in some cases, specially darker/blackened rims). Overall a squared 245/40 R18 NON RFT (tubeless tyre) setup & 31 psi all around has worked for me really well. All the best

Last edited by karan561 : 19th May 2020 at 11:45.
karan561 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th May 2020, 11:52   #165
ais

Your 18" M Sport wheels are staggered (Front 8J & Rear 8.5J). If you are getting new rims as a replacement then stick to 18s. Going with OE 17s will not compliment your M Sport bodykit at all (If you select tasteful 17"ers Non BMW/aftermarket rims then it may look good in some cases, specially darker/blackened rims). Overall a squared 245/40 R18 NON RFT (tubeless tyre) setup & 31 psi all around has worked for me really well. All the best
Whether downsizing rims or taking the replacement under Secure, I will only go with BMW supplied alloys.

I need to eliminate chances of alloys bending. Not sure if the Bilstein B6 is a contributing factor.

So I wanted to go for the tougher 17" regular alloys that came with my 320d Sportline, with which I never had a problem. Hopefully the extra rubber on 17" compared to 18", and Michelin instead of present Bridgestone will help. Any thoughts?

Will the 245s fit on both the alloys sizes as they are?