Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 17th July 2007, 19:56   #1

Tyre change for new Optra

I am buying an Optra 1.6 Elite model. The company fitted tyres are of Good Year (185/65/R14) and I am planning to change them with Michelin tyres of the same profile. This will cost me around Rs 4000. Is it worth spending on Michelin ?
Old 17th July 2007, 20:40   #2

Which Michelin's are you going for? Energy XM1's are good at this price provided that you are paying 4k for exchanging 4 tyres (I'm assuming here). If you're paying 4k per tyre on top of the GoodYear's in exchange then no, it's a terrible deal.

Michelin Energy's as tyres are decidedly superior to the GoodYear NCT5's that are OE on your car.
Old 17th July 2007, 21:22   #3

if i assume correctly,4000 bucks for all 4 tyres is a sweet deal.while you are at it,why dont you upsize to 196/60R14.michelins are really good tyres,and offer the best comfort while not compromising on grip and tyre noise.you choose between the energy xm1's and the pilot precedas depending on your requirements.
Old 30th September 2007, 00:29   #4

hi. instead of putting 185/65 R 14, u should put 185/70 R 14 as it will make the car's ground clearance better and because of higher profile u will get better comfort.
Old 30th September 2007, 00:48   #5

Jitesh - The topic is more than 2 months old! I believe the thread starter must have gotten his answer by now or dropped all plans to upgrade his tyres!
Old 30th September 2007, 10:35   #6

Originally Posted by jitesh_kp2001 View Post
hi. instead of putting 185/65 R 14, u should put 185/70 R 14 as it will make the car's ground clearance better and because of higher profile u will get better comfort.
Just for discussion and my understanding, wanna know in case of switching to a higher profile as suggested in this case.
Will it not increase the rolling resistance to bring down the FE?
will it not create understeer?

What are pros and cons of such switch over?
Old 30th September 2007, 14:04   #7

What are pros and cons of such switch over?
Pros - Better ride more GC.

Cons - Speedo error, wrong upsize, can cause suspension issue, highly advisable to do so.
Old 30th September 2007, 21:57   #8

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post

Cons - Speedo error, wrong upsize, can cause suspension issue, highly advisable to do so.
Great advice

<twenty>
Old 30th September 2007, 22:06   #9

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post

Highly adviseble to do so ?
Old 30th September 2007, 22:44   #10

Originally Posted by itzzme View Post
Highly adviseble to do so ?
That's an error on part of Busa.

Also 185/70-14 may touch teh inner wheel well on full steering lock.
Old 1st October 2007, 01:10   #11

Arre KP and Vid - Sorry yaar i meant to say highly advisable not to do so.

Damn - The stupid race today