Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 18th August 2010, 16:26   #196
MAS

Originally Posted by Dr.Abhi View Post
Ford fusion OEM Goodyear gt3 (195 60r15). 2 tyre lasted 45k kms, 3 tyre lasted 50k kms.
I own a Ford Fusion TDCI with OEM Goodyear GT3. 2 Tyres lasted 50K kms and the next 2 lasted 75K kms. Now with 93K on the clock, i still have to change the 5th OEM as it is sitting in the boot.
Old 20th August 2010, 19:46   #197

MRF ZVTS (195 65 R15) lasted 40K on my Elantra, had to change early due non-uniform tear
Old 21st September 2010, 10:41   #198

Goodyear GT3 done 40792

My WagonR automatic purchased in May 2005 has done 40792. On a recent trip to Shivasamudra falls (135km from Bangalore), I had a tire give in a bit. Noticed sidewall damage. Pictures attached. Chintan15 had posted about sidewall damage of Goodyear G3's. I tend to agree with him. Most wear and tear has been these fine crack like lines along the side wall. One of my wheels shows excessive wear on the inner bottom...possibly due to alignment issue or steering side wear and tear or suspension. Alignment I do get done regularly including wheel rotation at every service. Steering seems stable when I drive and even at speeds on 120-140kmph. Suspension these days seems to be an issue recently, with 2 adults and 2 small kids, it seems to hit hard (thunk) even on speed breakers that never used to be a bother.

Till date, I have had around 5-6 punctures where I had to replace with a spare. Again, it has been only in the last 2 years that the punctures have become an issue. Almost always, the trouble has been when I have driven on un-tarred roads with just granite pebbles embedded in mud.
Overall, the bridgestones were great on all surfaces including water. Cornering was not an issue...guess at <60kmph corners, that should not be an issue! Most often I ran them at 32PSI and worked well. 33PSI seemed to make it zippier and seemed less gripping, which was ok on city roads.

For my new tyres, I am in touch with Millivision to get new tires (tubeless). Choices include - Yokohama A-Drive (155/65/R13 around 2650/- per tire); Micheline XM1 (not energy 155/65/R13); Potenza G3 (165/60/R13 around 2950/- per tire). Will update forum when I make the change. I am tempted to trade in the alloys and get some cool ones depending on how expensive.
How many KM did your last set of tyres last?-tyre-wagonr-002.jpg  

How many KM did your last set of tyres last?-tyre-wagonr-012.jpg  

Old 21st September 2010, 11:17   #199

^^ Thats some major damage.
Get the suspension and alignment checked thoroughly before gettting the new set of tires.
Originally Posted by Misguided View Post
MRF ZVTS (195 65 R15) lasted 40K on my Elantra, had to change early due non-uniform tear
Should be zv2k. not ZVTS
Old 21st September 2010, 11:42   #200

I have a maruti esteem vx 2000 model. last time I have got a tyre milage of 15000 km. Tyre brand was MRF.
Old 21st September 2010, 17:54   #201

update - I got new tyres from millivision, bangalore (Santosh - good guy to talk to) and got Yokohama A-drive 155/65/R13 for around Rs.2300/- per tyre minus vat. For a set of 5 it came to Rs.13000/- Also got Wonder brand (made in Italy) valves. Rs.100/- each. Was offered china make Rs.50/- as a choice. Fitted the new tyres at Vijay Alignment, who took ages. Vijay's manager/owner Sanjay, got his staff to check my suspension etc during alignment of wheels. The front seemed to have a camber off by -1% while tolerance is -0.3%. He suggested to check for wear after 500km and said they will adjust the coil spring with a welded part or some other adjustment around front suspension to adjust for the tilt. Well, I am not sure here. I will post on this in the appropriate thread.

For now, I got new Yokohama A-drives at 40804km. The ride quality, especially on familiar speed breakers etc. seems to be more cushioned and comfortable. Steering too feels a bit lighter. Sound levels seem same as the earlier Bridgestone G3's.
Old 25th November 2011, 18:32   #202

re: How many KM did your last set of tyres last?

My Fiesta Stock tires lasted for 40,000 KMS. Switched to Bridgestone Turanza ER60. It has crossed 42K KMS. Now, its again time for a tyre change . i will have to make a choice between Yokohama A drive & Michelin XM1+
Old 2nd January 2012, 02:54   #203

I am confused. Dont know what`s wrong with my Ford Figo ?

My MRF ZV2Ks have have gone totally bald in 26k kms. All four of them. Even the dealers of MRF were shocked to the state of my tyres. They have asked me to mail MRF about it and to get it replaced.

The car was regularly serviced, balanced and aligned at Wasan FORD service center.
Tyre rotation was performed after every 10,000 kms. (3 times done till now)

what should be my next course of action ?

anyways the dealers say as the Alloy Wheels have been fitted, I cant claim anything for MRF ! is it ?
Old 2nd January 2012, 08:33   #204

Originally Posted by Dinesh_Malhotra View Post
I am confused. Dont know what`s wrong with my Ford Figo ?

My MRF ZV2Ks have have gone totally bald in 26k kms. All four of them. Even the dealers of MRF were shocked to the state of my tyres. They have asked me to mail MRF about it and to get it replaced.

The car was regularly serviced, balanced and aligned at Wasan FORD service center.
Tyre rotation was performed after every 10,000 kms. (3 times done till now)

what should be my next course of action ?

anyways the dealers say as the Alloy Wheels have been fitted, I cant claim anything for MRF ! is it ?
That's shocking. MRF ZV2Ks are relatively hard tyres which go on forever. I changed mine @50k on the Lancer with 15-20k tread life still left as it was 5 years old.
So either the tyres you have had some manufacturing defect, or suspension issues in your Ford ? What is the week of manufacture on the tyres ?
Old 2nd January 2012, 09:19   #205

That's utter crap, a rim is a rim, be it an after-market alloy or the factory fitted one. The only thing that could happen with a sub-standard product is uneven wear, but an MRF ZVTS giving in is actually a sub-standard MRF product rather than the alloy rims you have on your car.

Originally Posted by Dinesh_Malhotra View Post
Old 2nd January 2012, 14:29   #206

My JK Tornado stock tyres that came with my Ritz Ldi lasted for 55K kms.

Have recently changed to MRF Z.LO 185 70 R14 tyres 2 weeks back.
Old 4th January 2012, 16:31   #207

Car : Alto LXi 2003
Tyres : Bridgestone S322 165/65 R13 on HR Alloy Wheels
Lasted : 74000 Kms, ( and they still had life left, but changed it for safety purpose) The car ran as if a train on tracks. Gripped the road like leech, and one could carve corners at insane speeds for an Alto, without even a murmur from the tyres. I am sure if driven sedately, they must hae lasted more than a lac.
Old 4th January 2012, 18:38   #208

Car: Santro XL
Rims: Neo Alloy Dozen
Tyres: Michelin XM1 165/65/R13
Kms completed: 55K

Recently got the tyres changed at Tyre Proffessionals Bangalore, went back to same make and size Michelin XM1 165/65/R13.

Hoping to touch the 50K mark this time too with the new shoes

Rajiv
Old 4th January 2012, 19:46   #209

Scorpio 2WD bought in April 2008.
Bridgestone Duelers as OEM tyres
50500Kms run and going strong when sold in early Dec 2011.
Definitely another 10-15K kms in those but my friend who bought it is driving some bad-ish roads in Coorg so I guess another 10K is nearer the mark.
Old 5th January 2012, 10:27   #210

Baleno-LXi (2005)
Running stock 165/80/R13 Bridgestone tyres, currently at 54K kms and as good as new (the tread ie). The stepney is practically brand-new.
75K kms looks easy and I won't be surprised if they last 1lakh kms - ofcourse given my average driving of 8K per year, it would take another 6years to hit 1lakh kms.
Would that qualify for a record ? :-)

Last edited by supremeBaleno : 5th January 2012 at 10:29.