Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Search this Thread
Old 22nd January 2008, 16:11   #1

New alloys and tyres for esteem

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie. ( think that says it all ). I've read a number of posts but i still havent found the answer i was looking for.

So, here is my question. I need to get a new set of tyres and alloys for my esteem. The issue is budgetary constraints.

I'm evaluating Neo wheels, does anyone have any idea if they are any good? and would picking up a set of 4 be better than 5? ( saves me cash ) . I was also told to stick to 13" rims instead of 14" since the ride quality suffers ( not complaining )

I would also like some help regarding the tyres. I dont need anything fancy, just some good quality tyres. From what i've heard MRFis a lot cheaper compared to bridgestone etc...

Would really appreciate any help i can get on these questions from you folks here..

Thanks in advance!!
AJ
Old 22nd January 2008, 17:23   #2
BANNED

anything that look good to your eyes is good so take it . different people have different opinions so if you like neo wheels take them they are nice.
you can stick to 13" or upgrade to 14" but incase of upgrade to 14" you have to put a tyre with lower profile. onething you should keep in mind while upgrading that the overall diameter of the new wheel should be nearly same to that of stock wheels .theres no problem in going for mrfs .
Old 22nd January 2008, 17:29   #3
Distinguished - BHPian

Well, Neo makes some very basic alloys and the design choices are quite limited. I recommend you try either prestige, HR or Plati which would be more or less in the same range. Buying 4 alloys is certainly not foolhardy, even i am using only 4 alloys since last 15 months ( only 1 puncture till date) so no real hassles as such.

MRF are decent tyres and do stick to your stock 13 inchers and you should be ready to rock!
Old 22nd January 2008, 18:10   #4
Senior - BHPian