Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 12th May 2008, 18:40   #1

New footwear for my Scorpio

I have shod my truck with a new set of tubeless 5 Bridgestone Dueler A/T - 31x10.50 R15LT 6PR.

The stock tyres were good for another 7-8K kms and these new tyres were installed in an old American Jeep by an off-road addict who removed them after 700 odd kms and went in for huge bulging mud terrain tyres.

The new of Dueler A/T comes for approx 6k a piece, but I got them for 24K for a set of 5. The stock tubed ones on the truck were taken back by the tyrewallah for 2.5K, so in effect I dished out 21.5K. I also got a tubeless repairing kit for free...yipee..!!! Freebies excite me to no ends..

Some pics are given below:

The specs
New footwear for my Scorpio-dscf0095.jpg

Close up
New footwear for my Scorpio-dscf0094.jpg

The muscular, meaty tread
New footwear for my Scorpio-dscf0093.jpg

The two left feet
New footwear for my Scorpio-dscf0092.jpg

Last edited by gd1418 : 12th May 2008 at 18:45.
Old 13th May 2008, 09:52   #2

Congrats! 24k for 5 is a pretty good price I'd say & that too with all the freebies.

On a different note, why didn't you go for the "huge bulging mud terrain tyres" yourself - would've been a sight to behold in & around Phase V?
Old 13th May 2008, 09:59   #3

Well done gd1418 ! They look impressive...
How is the ride quality etc ?
Old 13th May 2008, 10:17   #4

@nice shoes gd bhai. U come across another such deal please tell me too. My scorp will be requireing new shoes too soon.
Old 13th May 2008, 10:47   #5

Nice tires Guru Ji. Good deal too.
Old 13th May 2008, 12:57   #6

The name etc is highlighted in white by default?
Old 13th May 2008, 13:09   #7

Nice set of tyre Guru Ji...So now when is the off-road session happening.
Old 13th May 2008, 13:20   #8

Congratulations on the 31 inch tyres,Shree Shree Gyaan Guruji!
Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Yes,boss!
Old 13th May 2008, 13:38   #9

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
So now when is the off-road session happening.
OT: They happen every night - late in the night
Old 13th May 2008, 17:24   #10

The tyres look great, but I think your ride quality is going to take a beating. All terrain rubber is always firm.

I have a fancy for white lettered tyres, but gave up since every sunday paint (can) job came off by the next. Since your new tyres have it from the factory, its never going to wear off. Neat!
Old 13th May 2008, 23:57   #11

Thanks Suman. Somehow I detest tyres bulging out of the vehicle body. It looks odd to the eyes.

Originally Posted by suman View Post
Congrats! 24k for 5 is a pretty good price I'd say & that too with all the freebies.

On a different note, why didn't you go for the "huge bulging mud terrain tyres" yourself - would've been a sight to behold in & around Phase V?
Old 14th May 2008, 00:02   #12

Have driven about 200 kms with the new boots. My first experience with tubeless. Since all of these 200 kms have been driven within the city, the ride quality is great. A lot of noises have vanished or rather dampened and are not audible..

Vehicle is feeling light to steer but this could purely be psychological. Some of the regular bumps that I used to feel prominently on my daily route with the old tyres are now not being felt.

More experiences shall be shared as the day progresses..

Originally Posted by Guderian View Post
Well done gd1418 ! They look impressive...
How is the ride quality etc ?
Old 14th May 2008, 00:04   #13

Yes they are whitened from company itself...

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Old 14th May 2008, 00:29   #14

24k for 5tyres is a pretty decent price,and the tyres look to grippy,hows the ride after installing them did you inflate the tyres with normal air or nitrogen?
Old 14th May 2008, 00:44   #15

Guruji, guruji, kabhi to baat sun liya karo! Here's my earlier post to your query about these tyres:

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
GD bhai, this translates to a size of 265/75 R15. The difference is OD as compared to the standard fitment is as follows:

235/75 R15 - 366.75mm
265/75 R15 - 389.25mm

So the difference in OD is around 6.13%. Which is not advisable & also I don't think this sze will fit without modificiations to the Wheel arches. Also, you will need new, wider rims to mount these on.
So now when you're doing 70 mph on the sppedo you'll actually be doing 74.29 mph & your odo will also have a corresponding odo-error too.
iraghava is offline   (1) Thanks