Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 21st December 2013, 10:54   #526

re: Fiat Punto : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread

Hi!,

I need to replace my Punto tyres with either Primacy 3ST or XM2, which should I prefer. My drive is usually on highways or village (bad) roads hence have to withstand these conditions. Kindly advice.

Kiran
Old 24th December 2013, 11:05   #527

Originally Posted by kiren View Post
Hi!,

I need to replace my Punto tyres with either Primacy 3ST or XM2, which should I prefer. My drive is usually on highways or village (bad) roads hence have to withstand these conditions. Kindly advice.

Kiran
I think the XM2 would be a little more durable than the P3ST.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th December 2013, 17:08   #528

Nikhil,
Thanks for reply. However, Had just replaced my tyres with Primacy 3ST today morning .

Kiran
Old 27th December 2013, 23:11   #529

No worries!! The P3ST is also a fantastic tyre! I'm waiting to wear out my PLCs so I can try the P3ST!
Old 20th January 2014, 18:22   #530

My tyres are now due for another change. Earlier, at the 19K mark, I had changed my 1.3 MJD EP's shoes to Yoko ES-100's. Soon after that, I was posted abroad. Now, my dad tells me that the tread has worn on those and grip is quite poor now. The steering also vibrates badly at high speeds even though the air pressures and suspension bushes have been checked multiple times. Looks like an alignment cum tyre issue.

Due to monetary reasons, my dad is changing two tyres as of now and will replace the other two before the next monsoon, as two of the ES-100's have decent tread left on them. The new tyres will, of course, go on to the rear axle. Now, my dad is faced with two choices. He went to Pal Tyres on Lamington Road and checked out the offerings in the 195/60 R15 size. Basically, it came down to Yoko A drives, Yoko ES-100's and Pirelli P6's. Since he doesn't drive as much as I do (fortnightly Mum-Pune expressway run, otherwise intra-city), he ruled out the ES-100's. He is leaning towards the P6's.

I wanted to merely confirm whether there's anything exceedingly negative about the tyres in terms of feedback. I didn't find anything here on the forum or elsewhere on the net.
Old 26th January 2014, 23:10   #531

i am planning to buy a punto. i observed that active and dynamic have 165/80.14 tyres whereas emotion and 90hp have 195/60.15
Specification Sidewall Radius Diameter Circumference Difference
165/80-14 5.2in 12.2in 24.4in 76.6in 0.0%
195/60-15 4.6in 12.1in 24.2in 76.1in -0.7%

the overall diameter is about the same but there is difference of 30mm in width and .6 inches in sidewall. wont this make a huge difference in handling/performance. is the suspension of all the models same or differently tuned?

i am planning to buy a 2013 manufactured diesel active or dynamic because the dealer is offering Rs 1 lac discount (50k discount for 2014 model) . Is it a good decision or do i buy 2014 model.
if i do buy an active/dynamic should i change the tyres to 195/60-15? how will it affect handling/performance. i am going to drive a lot on good hill roads.

Last edited by guptavis : 26th January 2014 at 23:11.
Old 2nd February 2014, 12:13   #532

Originally Posted by guptavis View Post
i am planning to buy a punto. i observed that active and dynamic have 165/80.14 tyres whereas emotion and 90hp have 195/60.15
Specification Sidewall Radius Diameter Circumference Difference
165/80-14 5.2in 12.2in 24.4in 76.6in 0.0%
195/60-15 4.6in 12.1in 24.2in 76.1in -0.7%

the overall diameter is about the same but there is difference of 30mm in width and .6 inches in sidewall. wont this make a huge difference in handling/performance. is the suspension of all the models same or differently tuned?

i am planning to buy a 2013 manufactured diesel active or dynamic because the dealer is offering Rs 1 lac discount (50k discount for 2014 model) . Is it a good decision or do i buy 2014 model.
if i do buy an active/dynamic should i change the tyres to 195/60-15? how will it affect handling/performance. i am going to drive a lot on good hill roads.
Changing to 195/60-15 will result in a slight drop in mileage. Grip and handling will improve. However, outright acceleration will reduce due to higher drag.
Old 6th March 2014, 18:14   #533

Need advice from the experts here. The very reliable Punto and the OEM tyres have now run for over 55k kms w/o any hitch in the last 3 years. More than i could ask for.

Time to get new shoes. FYI, the run is usually in and around NCR (gurgaon-delhi mostly) on a daily basis.

Post reading the comments by the other members and the experts here; the junta seems to be heavily in favour of Yokos; followed by Michelin and then GY/MRF/Apollo?

Also, plan to keep the size unchanged - 195/60/R15. Although would love to hear from the people any specific advantage of going to 205s?
Old 6th March 2014, 21:54   #534

Originally Posted by jaywhy View Post
Also, plan to keep the size unchanged - 195/60/R15. Although would love to hear from the people any specific advantage of going to 205s?
Stick to 195s. It's properly wide enough, and with some good rubber- should be able to handle any situation.

No comments regarding the choice of rubber since you have mentioned your priorities.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th March 2014, 11:28   #535

Originally Posted by jaywhy View Post

Need advice from the experts here. The very reliable Punto and the OEM tyres have now run for over 55k kms w/o any hitch in the last 3 years. More than i could ask for.

Time to get new shoes. FYI, the run is usually in and around NCR (gurgaon-delhi mostly) on a daily basis.

Post reading the comments by the other members and the experts here; the junta seems to be heavily in favour of Yokos; followed by Michelin and then GY/MRF/Apollo?

Jaywhy

I changed the tyres of my Punto yesterday, the odo reading was 51,xxx. The car was running on Yoko C-drives so far.

I had no problems with the C-drives and will wholeheartedly recommend it. Apart from the normal considerations such as performance, mileage and braking, the C-drives offer good looks as a bonus. They are one of the best looking tires.

Reasons for opting Michelin

1. The urge to experiment.

2. Safety being paramount, I wanted to choose the best set of tires. World over Michelin has been credited for having arguably the best R&D.

3. Wanted to choose among the latest. The P3STs(Primacy 3 Silence Tuned) and the Apollo Vredenstein's were the most recently launched. Opted out of the latter as the brand is yet to be tested in India and Apollo is promoting the tires for its design rather for its performance.

4. I'm a frequent highway traveler and road noise is one thing that always puts me off. The name of the tire, along with the other above factors, just sealed the deal for me.

I opted for 195/65/15 rather than the usual 195/60/15. Better sidewall height = Better comfort is the reason for choosing the 65 aspect ratio. The only thing that I didn't like about the Michelin is the tires just don't look good. There is just no flair in the design at all and it doesn't add any character to overall stance of the car. The C-drives adds a ruggedness to the overall character.
CliffHanger is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2014, 12:15   #536

Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
I think the XM2 would be a little more durable than the P3ST.
Is the side walls of Primacy 3ST so soft that an impact with an object which I could have visually missed could have cut through it so easily?.

After 3000 kms / 1 month of driving on 3ST, while returning from Lonavala ( E/Way) I heard a cracking sound and felt heaviness on the steering. Brought the car to a halt from the extreme right lane to the left by driving in the same condition. My front tyre had burst. Nothing was seen on the road which could have hit my tyre and the road near Kharghar where this happened is a newly laid concrete road whithout any pot holes, & I maintain 32 psi nitrogen pressure.

Attached is Michelins report having rejected my claim. I asked them only two question How come something so small which was visually not seen by me damage the SIDE wall so easily? RUN FLAT would have obviously have happened because I would have not stopped my car on the first lane.

I should have agreed to Nikhil and got XM2 . Now This incident has made me think regarding tyre noise / comfort is it so important than safety. Luckily I was not on the expressway and was @ low speed, else would have had serious damage.

Kiran
Fiat Punto : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread-tyre1.jpg  

Fiat Punto : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread-tyre2.jpg  

Fiat Punto : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread-tyre3.jpg  

File Type: docx Michelin Tyres.docx (20.4 KB, 704 views)
Old 15th March 2014, 12:42   #537

It could also be that the tyre was bulging but burst at a specific point.
Old 28th March 2014, 10:29   #538

Its time for me to replace the tyres on my punto (195/60/15).
Which out of the below is the best tyre in terms of noise, durability and comfort.
Please suggest .

1. Michelin XM2
2.YOKO A drive
3.YOKO C Drive
4. MRF ZLO
Old 29th March 2014, 11:18   #539

Yoko has stopped C DRIVES instead you can go for DB V550s in Yokohama
I am currently using DB V550s for my Punto 90 HP they have done 40K and I expect another 15 to 20K Kms
Old 29th March 2014, 16:34   #540

Originally Posted by accentgiri View Post
Yoko has stopped C DRIVES instead you can go for DB V550s in Yokohama
I am currently using DB V550s for my Punto 90 HP they have done 40K and I expect another 15 to 20K Kms
yoko c drive are very much available here in bangalore , but some of the reviews are not very encouraging . V550's are directional i suppose, so not too keen on them.