Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th August 2010, 19:24   #16
BHPian
 
im_srini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portland
Posts: 988
Thanked: 480 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shankaranand View Post
800cc variant had 12 in wheels as standard. So anything 13, would have required spacers.
The K10 actually has tires that are slightly smaller (less tall) than the Alto-800.

Alto K10 : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread-alto_tire_profiles.jpg

165/55R14 & 165/65R13 will fit the Alto without any issues, but you'll have to choose rims with the correct offset, otherwise your tires will "rub". Also check clearances of the front tires lock-to-lock, as wider tires tend to catch the lower edge of the front bumper on full lock.
im_srini is offline  
Old 20th August 2010, 23:45   #17
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 160
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Get the rim offset right.
Get the stickiest compound (hi-performance) you can find since this car's high on power and low on safety features.
which one is the stickiest in the tyre size I am looking for..
shankaranand is offline  
Old 3rd September 2010, 11:07   #18
BHPian
 
ragzv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 107
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

What is the stock RIM width - 4J or 4.5J
ragzv is offline  
Old 7th January 2011, 15:53   #19
BHPian
 
lilMonSter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New delhi
Posts: 190
Thanked: 33 Times
Default re: Alto K10 : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread

Bumping an inactive thread,
could someone tell me what tyres are available in the 165/55 R 14 size, and where i could pick them up from in delhi.I have not been able to come across any so far at the few places i've checked. I'm planning to put them on my k 10 as a +1 upgrade.Currently running 175/60 R 13 A 539's and want to upgrade to the 14's.
Also, how wide a rim would i need to mount these a 14 x 5.5j or a 14 x 6j. any other appropriate tyre sizes would also be appreciated.

BoOM!!
lilMonSter is offline  
Old 7th February 2011, 01:11   #20
BHPian
 
lilMonSter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New delhi
Posts: 190
Thanked: 33 Times
Default re: Alto K10 : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread

bumping this thread again.
After not finding any tires in 165/55 R14 size. the only option i have to upgrade to 14" rims are 185/50 r14. now these are almost as tall as the 175/60 r13 a539's i have right now, just a difference of about 0.1 percent. is it alright to go for these or should i just drop the whole 14" upgrade idea. have seen a killer set of 14" rims and am just too tempted to get em. practicality is not an issue and i'm used to slowing down over pot holes and speed bumps. my car is also a 2 seater for the most part so i Dont have to worry about the dangers of driving around on a full load. what do you guys have to say? i can always go back to 13's as i'm planning to keep my current set of alloys and tires as well.
lilMonSter is offline  
Old 7th February 2011, 15:43   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
rjstyles69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bengalooru..
Posts: 4,341
Thanked: 825 Times
Default re: Alto K10 : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilMonSter View Post
bumping this thread again.
After not finding any tires in 165/55 R14 size. the only option i have to upgrade to 14" rims are 185/50 r14. now these are almost as tall as the 175/60 r13 a539's i have right now, just a difference of about 0.1 percent. is it alright to go for these or should i just drop the whole 14" upgrade idea. have seen a killer set of 14" rims and am just too tempted to get em. practicality is not an issue and i'm used to slowing down over pot holes and speed bumps. my car is also a 2 seater for the most part so i Dont have to worry about the dangers of driving around on a full load. what do you guys have to say? i can always go back to 13's as i'm planning to keep my current set of alloys and tires as well.
I would say stick to the 13 inchers and save that heartache every-time you haven't been able to slow down at a speed breaker or a pot hole. With the 185's I think you might end up scrapping the wheel arches.
rjstyles69 is offline  
Old 7th February 2011, 18:14   #22
BHPian
 
lilMonSter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New delhi
Posts: 190
Thanked: 33 Times
Default re: Alto K10 : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
I would say stick to the 13 inchers and save that heartache every-time you haven't been able to slow down at a speed breaker or a pot hole. With the 185's I think you might end up scrapping the wheel arches.
well untill temptation gets the better of me i will stick to the 13". i'm getting all my fenders flared soon so the rubbing should not be much of an issue.
thanks for the quick response Rj.
lilMonSter is offline  
Old 20th March 2011, 00:05   #23
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 701
Thanked: 16 Times
Default Tyre upsize Alto K10

Alto K10 OEM tyre size is 155/65 R13. I intend to change the OEM tyres and upsize them, while sticking rims only. What is the right and safe upsize for K10, keeping the same profile intact. I donít want to go wrong with numbers for the sake of broader tyre.
Kindly suggest!
Gill is offline  
Old 20th March 2011, 00:48   #24
BHPian
 
thelord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 278
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize Alto K10

165/60/13 would be the correct upsize. Although, am not sure if the stock rims can take 165 easily. The tyres might appear ballooned out.
thelord is offline  
Old 20th March 2011, 14:01   #25
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 701
Thanked: 16 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize Alto K10

How can I check, that stock rim will be able to take 165?
Gill is offline  
Old 21st March 2011, 12:21   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
sushrutha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chikmagalur/Ban
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 328 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize Alto K10

Just be careful about upsizing the tyres. 165 width tyres would touch the rear wheel arch of an Alto, adding spacers or scraping the wheel arch's will be only option if you want to fit them.
sushrutha is offline  
Old 21st March 2011, 13:35   #27
BHPian
 
WasavaTyres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indore
Posts: 801
Thanked: 415 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize Alto K10

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushrutha View Post
Just be careful about upsizing the tyres. 165 width tyres would touch the rear wheel arch of an Alto
I doubt if they would scrape. 165/60/12 has been a direct fit onto the old Alto that had 12" rims.
WasavaTyres is offline  
Old 21st March 2011, 13:44   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,684
Thanked: 1,470 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize Alto K10

Quote:
Originally Posted by WasavaTyres View Post
I doubt if they would scrape. 165/60/12 has been a direct fit onto the old Alto that had 12" rims.
That's the spec the Yoko A539 comes for Alto. I using it for sometime now and havent faced any issue till date. Assume tyres.

Do search before you post as we have many thread for Alto tyre upsize/etc.
jkdas is offline  
Old 22nd March 2011, 10:22   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
sushrutha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chikmagalur/Ban
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 328 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize Alto K10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gill View Post
Alto K10 OEM tyre size is 155/65 R13. I intend to change the OEM tyres and upsize them, while sticking rims only.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelord View Post
165/60/13 would be the correct upsize.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WasavaTyres View Post
I doubt if they would scrape. 165/60/12 has been a direct fit onto the old Alto that had 12" rims.
I'm talking about 13" rims not the 12" rims.
My cousin recently changed his Alto's tyre from 12" to 13" tyres along with new Mag wheels, after changing, the tyres were getting scrapped with the rear wheel archs, we had to get a spacer installed and also the wheel archs were slightly banged inside to stop the wheels scraping the archs.
I had faced the same issues in my ZEN (stock was 13" Rims) when I had changed the Rims with 5.5J alloy wheels.
sushrutha is offline  
Old 23rd March 2011, 10:21   #30
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 701
Thanked: 16 Times
Default re: Alto K10 : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread

Thanks for the input mate, seems like sticking to stock tyres is the best option, til yet, I am a no go for alloy wheels.Having a wrong up size/spacer add to problems, don't want to fiddle with the suspension of a new car,atleast.
Gill is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks