Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 12th September 2010, 19:21   #1
D.Surya

Which tyre for a Camry?

Our car is due for a tyre change, it has currently been running on Goodyear eagle f1. Before that yokos.

It is a 2005 camry which has covered about 90k.

Gurus advise what would be the recommended tyre for the car. The toyota guys keep encouraging yokos, but was leaning more to the Primacy lc.

Need a tyre which focuses on comfort, and reduces road noise. The eagle f1 are just too noisy.

Kindly guide me, on the choice and the approx prices.

Old 12th September 2010, 20:48   #2

AFAIK, the Indian Camry comes with 215/60 R16 tyres. Since you're looking for comfort and reduced road noise - the Yokohama DB series is really the best bet in that size.

In 16" the tyre should be pricey. I think about 8K per tyre.
Old 13th September 2010, 11:16   #3

My BILs 2007 camry in the US had 205/65R15 tires, you could try a multitude of options

Yokohama, Michelin and Continental are the brands I would recommend. you can read through their websites and decide whether you want a perf oriented or comfor oriented tire
Old 13th September 2010, 12:05   #4

AFAIK, 2005 Camry's used to come with 205/65-15 tires.

Tire options for Comfort
1. Yokohama DB V550
2. Michelin Primacy LC
3. Michelin XM1+
Old 14th September 2010, 05:20   #5

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
AFAIK, 2005 Camry's used to come with 205/65-15 tires.

Tire options for Comfort
1. Yokohama DB V550
2. Michelin Primacy LC
3. Michelin XM1+
Wanted to add Yokohama C.Drive to that list in case a good balance between performance (esp wet grip) and comfort / silence is required.
Old 15th September 2010, 18:27   #6
D.Surya

thanks for the input, right now i am considering between the yoko db and the primacy lc, which should be my best bet. what are the prices like in blr.

btw what about continentals?

Old 15th September 2010, 18:33   #7

I think you should try continental's, i found them really good. Comfort, road noise as well as grip, good balance in all these aspects.