Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 24th August 2022, 22:58   #391
BHPian

Re: VW Polo : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread

Got the tyres changed on my Polo 1.2 MPI two months back. I wanted to target a plushier ride and hence had decided to go for the Continental UC6 with standard 185/60/15 size - mainly for the softer compound. I expected a big change considering I've been running on MRF ZVTVs for these 6 years. But the dealer did not have the UC6 in stock and I had to leave for a long-ish drive the next day. So I settled for the Yoko Earth-1, but decided to upsize to 195/60/15 to counter the slightly harder compound and still have a relatively comfortable ride. I am not 100% certain of this logic, so do let me know if I was mistaken in this understanding.

I can say my primary target was achieved, but the side-effects are not that easy to live with. To list it down, here it goes:

Pros:
1. Plushier ride than the MRF 185/60/15, as expected. The rumble strips on most roads are no longer as jarring and the ride on the Mumbai Pune expressways concrete is substantially silent.
2. Pothole resistance. The softer compound absorbs a lot of shocks (especially at speeds) and I'm sure the shock absorbers will thank the tyres for taking their load off a bit.

Cons:
1. FE for short drives has reduced quite a bit
2. I need to push the throttle a bit more than I did before, to get the same acceleration as earlier (with 185/16), and this is clearly noticeable. The upsizing has adversely affected the torque - especially at low rpms. This point in a way gets linked to Point 1 above.
3. My steering was creaking before the upsizing, but barely. Within two weeks of upsizing, the creaking has increased substantially. Not exactly sure how this works, but I'm guessing the loads on the steering column have changed.