Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

View Poll Results: Will you own a Vintage car in today's time?
Yes 85 68.55%
No 28 22.58%
Maybe 11 8.87%
Voters: 124. You may not vote on this poll

Old 8th September 2014, 12:23   #16

re: Indian youth & Vintage cars

We will always find vintage car enthusiasts from all spheres in our circle. Young and old, wealthy and modest, experts and amateurs. Attend any event, there will always be curious onlookers, mostly kids, asking questions and taking photographs. Our own classic drive group that meets most weekends in Bombay has a majority of younger participation.

Owning a car is ofcourse that much more difficult for a new enthusiast in India. Primarily I believe is the accessibility of cars. Those experienced know how to go about it, network with others, keep in touch with brokers etc. Slowly this is changing with so many more cars being simply listed in classifieds online (I recently bought 2 cars this way). This is of course usually restricted to lower end cars. Valuation is a whole other ball game, again difficult for a new person to come to terms with when trying to buy a car. We in India love a good bargain session, and consequentially the seller will hike his asking price very high, anticipating that he will get pulled down. As a result, advertised prices are usually ridiculous, and I usually completely disregard them.

A proper mechanic and a certain level of understanding maintenance is a must - everything cannot be blindly handed over to the mechanic. Very often cars are killed or sold purely due to ineptitude of the mechanic.

The best way to overcome all of these is to network with fellow enthusiasts who are a little more experienced.
karlosdeville is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th September 2014, 13:47   #17

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
Lack of Air conditioning is one reason (at least in city like Chennai) Other reason being lack of performance on highways.
Well, if you are driving several Km on highways on a daily basis, I guess performance would be an issue. otherwise I see no reason for not driving these cars daily.

They rekindle the joy of driving, the modern cars are all so similar , at least to me , and also so predictable!

We also drive them on highways once in a while and believe me, they're fun and most are driven at speeds between 80and a 100 Km/Hr effortlessly for hours at a stretch.

But then , I guess to those of us that love these cars, both the issues raised by you are really non issues..

But then, to each his own!
Bulldogji is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th September 2014, 15:45   #18

Lack of Air conditioning is one reason (at least in city like Chennai) Other reason being lack of performance on highways.
Originally Posted by Bulldogji View Post
But then , I guess to those of us that love these cars, both the issues raised by you are really non issues..

But then, to each his own!
To me the issues I personally face about driving these cars daily is one, lack of driving sense or the general traffic on our roads, driving a classic is easier due to better braking/steering etc, driving a vintage car is our traffic is a task in itself.

The other issue is safety of the cars, unless one has a secure parking space, at both the starting and ending points of the commute, there is too much risk in leaving a car unattended.

But everything said and done, everything is an non issue, compared to the joy and thrill of driving a beauty !

Last edited by KartikeyaL : 8th September 2014 at 15:47.
KartikeyaL is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th September 2014, 16:01   #19

I'm 27 years of age, if that qualifies me as youth I'd just like to add that I would love to own a vintage car. Perhaps not as a daily driver but definitely one in the garage for the weekend or late night drives on weekdays .

I saw a beautiful Triumph Spitfire some months ago and absolutely fell in love with it, and other vintage sports cars of that era that shared the same design language of that decade.
Maky is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th September 2014, 16:47   #20

If I can speak for all the Jeepers here and beyond - I think the Jeeping community is the largest and close-to-vintage owners group when it comes to owning a 1970s CJ3B, or a 1980s Early MM540 or PLENTY early 90s jeep.

Its no joke having a Automobile that is minimum 15 years old, average age could be 20 years, few older. Kudos to them...

EDIT, why I call/compare Jeeps as Vintage (Close to)...

1) No AC/Pwrstr/Comforts - CHECK
2) Ridiculous to maintain, difficultly involved - CHECK
3) Specialist mechanic, family friend - CHECK
4) Every Jeep has its story - CHECK

Last edited by svsantosh : 8th September 2014 at 16:50.
svsantosh is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 8th September 2014, 23:34   #21

Re: Indian youth & Vintage cars

Great thread idea and excellent discussion. Loved reading the comments.

While the classic car experts might disagree, I think the barrier to entry of vintage car ownership is pretty darn high. You need to be 'connected' to the network for good / rare cars, have cash on hand (no EMIs, buddy), a mechanic familiar with your vintage car (a rarity), ability to search for parts (easier now, due to e-comm, but expensive), dedicated parking spot (preferably covered) and lots of time. The last point is the biggest challenge for me as my current rides take up all my automotive time.

Still, it's an experience that is unrivalled by any modern machinery. The charm is something else. Voted yes on the poll. I hope to own a nice three-pointer classic some day.

Do I see a lot of youth getting onto the bandwagon? No. For the reasons listed above, and today's kids are anyway more interested in studying details of the latest android update no 4.5.6.7.8.x than engine specifications. Those with $$$ in hand would certainly want to own a nice car, but it would be more of a fill-it-shut-it-forget-it modern luxury car than an ol' girl.

But for sure if we could get a brand new production car in vintage looks, it should sell in good numbers.
Originally Posted by alpha1 View Post
Why don't the manufacturers introduce the cars with the shape of classic era?
There are a couple of them available internationally. In fact, one model (the TD2000) nearly made it to India - link.

Also check out this thread and this.
GTO is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 00:32   #22

An even bigger factor than time and money is parking spot at home at least for me. I might be able to save up enough to buy and restore/maintain a decent classic. I might even be able to get some spare time too. However, if I want to have an additional parking lot, I'll have to dump all my savings and all my future savings into a place that is big enough to hold at least 3 cars. Do I see it happening? I doubt!

But for sure if we could get a brand new production car in vintage looks, it should sell in good numbers.
Wasn't our good old Ambassador exactly that?
zenren is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 14:57   #23

Well i dont like the cars of say 1930's or 40's. If the cars of of late 1960's to 1980 qualify to be called Vintage, i dont mind owning couple of them.
Personally any car that is well maintained catches my attention. For example i happened to follow a white Elantra(1st generation). Man i travelled nearly 100KM at 70-80KM/hr just to enjoy the sight!.

Among the ones manufactured in India, i would like to own the below:
1.A pristine black Amby-Mark 4.
2.A well kept Contessa.
3.A RD 350.
Old 9th September 2014, 16:12   #24

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
If I can speak for all the Jeepers here and beyond - I think the Jeeping community is the largest and close-to-vintage owners group when it comes to owning a 1970s CJ3B, or a 1980s Early MM540 or PLENTY early 90s jeep.
Santosh Ji,
Cant agree more. After restoring few jeeps and owning few Jeeps (from 1942 Ford to 56 Willys LHD, 61 Willys LHD, CJ-5 RHD to 97 MM Classic), i still have a soft corner to these old beauties.
One of the biggest roadblock for newbies (including me) in getting into vintage car scene are:
1) no proper guidance from GENUINE person
2) High entry cost (to buy an original vintage vehicles)
3) Lack of spares availability
4) High probability of being caught by so called 'Professional restorer' who will milk his client till the last drop

Without a good network of well wishers, mechanics, agents its difficult to get into this cult.

Shubhendra
Old 9th September 2014, 17:03   #25

Would really love to own a '68 Mustang GT fastback. Only if I had the money
Old 9th September 2014, 20:22   #26

Hello gentlemen ,

First I thank ad3952n for raising such a pertinent topic. I am a vintage car owner- restorer and a person who uses the cars on a daily basis - I also have two grown up sons working their way through university. I would submit - everything has to happen ( if it does ) in its own good time - when did the vinatge bug bit me - when I was 34 - I have been infected by the bug for the last 20 years. For the children there was an age and time when they were as enthusiastic about it as me - but, in time - priorities changed ( in the right direction ) they got involved with their studies and what ever the kids do at those ages and with the regular cars to carry them and their friends around

Photographs of fond memories!!!

Indian youth & Vintage cars-yashwant-black-ford.jpg

Indian youth & Vintage cars-yashwant-working-topolino.jpg

But the priority is kids have to do what they would rather be doing !!

Most of us got interested in vintage cars at a certain age, I think that still holds good - there is a time for interest in - acceleration and speed - the Mclarens , Mercedes and the Veyron ( about 2 wheelers - I have very little information about what is in vogue today-in my time it used to be the RD).

I think other than exceptional person such as fintail or indrjeet the vintage fever infects at a later stage in life - maybe it is an image that the younger generation does not want to be identified with till they reach a certain position in life.

Vintage cars are fun to drive - if one can drive a S-Class through todays traffic - handling a small Austin should not be a problem as long as one is aware of the cars maneuvering and braking abilities and why should a vintage car owner ask for leeway from the traffic - brake well in advance - give way to the faster cars and follow traffic rules - and - all will be well.

Cars - restoration projects - are still available at reasonable rates - the problem lies in the restoration - I would still like to think other than in the bigger cities restoration is still feasible and reasonable ( cost ). I understand some of the persons who handle restorations in the big cities are persons one should steer clear from - but that is the point - find a mechanic - these cars are basic and not too difficult to repair mechanically - there are still body work persons available.

So - to the gen-next - if you think you would rather be driving a vintage car- step at a time - look for one and buy it - then we will worry about the restoration - restore it we will - for sure.

Chauhan

Last edited by karlosdeville : 10th September 2014 at 09:08. Reason: On request
vintageman is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 20:43   #27

Originally Posted by vintageman View Post
I think other than exceptional person such as fintail or indrjeet the vintage fever infects at a later stage in life - maybe it is an image that the younger generation does not want to be identified with till they reach a certain position in life.
I really don't know, but this statement nailed it on the head . There is a certain perception, amongst the society, that old cars generally belong to senile people.

Suffice to say, I am as much at home discussing the latest iPhone VI, as I am with discussing a Dodge Kingsway.

In the restoration thread of MRX/6839, 62 Superselect 1100, BHPian Superselect has described the experience of driving a Superselect, across Bombay. He has stated, that a taxiwallah mistook him to be a Bawajee. Okay, and the vocabulary used by the Cabbie was "Yeda Bawa lagta hai."

While @Superselect might have enjoyed the experience, I DID NOT like the vocabulary used by the cabbie.

The word "Yeda" just reeks of sacrilege.

That bring us to another thing, maybe people just do not understand the reason for our passion towards these cars. Oh well....Maybe awareness can help?

Last edited by FINTAIL : 9th September 2014 at 20:44.
FINTAIL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2014, 14:32   #28

My heart sank when I read the opening post.
I would definitely be considered an Indian youth who owned an old car.
Will never forget the Contessa I bought 8 years ago after saving every penny from my first year of working. For me, the Contessa is THE car that made me an auto enthusiast when I was all of 6 years of age. Owning one had been a dream since childhood. I stumbled upon a great example and immediately put down an amount that would be considered peanuts today. Over the next 5 years, I never bat an eye lid to spend most of what I earned on its upkeep and improvement. It was expensive and I had no support from family as they hated it - I never understood why.

I had to let it go for the following reasons:
1. I did not have a place to park the car. I lived with my parents back then and the Contessa was never welcome.
2. Upkeep was expensive and beyond what I could afford at the time.
3. I could not afford a second car and was in great need of reliable vehicle for inter city runs.

A Contessa may not be considered vintage, but I mention it here as the buying and maintenance of one can be compared to a vintage car.

Today, things are different. Now that I live by myself, my biggest priority was to have two secure car parks in the unlikely event that I find a great Contessa again. Hence if there is any bhpian in or around Chennai who needs a safe, secure basement to park a vintage car, you are most welcome to use mine.

I hope this picture brings fond memories to anyone who has owned a Contessa
Indian youth & Vintage cars-p3211491.jpg  

Lakshman1645 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th September 2014, 15:33   #29

Interesting topic, thanks for putting it up. I can't comment on the Indian situation but in Europe and the USA vintage/classic cars tend to be for the more mature under us car enthousiast. At least thats' my experience.

I will up some photographs of a recent classic car show I attended in the UK. Six hunded plus classic cars. Love these shows, for the cars obviously, the atmosphere, but also, with my 55 years of age, I tend to fall into the younger age group of the audience and owners, believe it or not.

In general there has been a trend developping in the west where young adults don't even own a regular daily use car. None of my kids (23, 25 and 29) own a car for daily useage. Not because they can't afford it so much, as that they don't see the need to own one. Owning a daily runners isn't a status sympol, maybe even quite the opposite as my daughter is very much concerned about the environment, so for that reason alone she wont get her own car.

Irrespective of market specifics, my feeling is that generally owning and running vintage cars is something that comes a little more natural to those of us of a more mature disposition. To some extent is also has to do with your particular stage of life you find yourself in. When you are young, say in your twenties/thirties, you are sill focussing on building a career, a family, maybe a house and maybe a daily runner.

But a vintage car takes a certain of time, money that at that stage in your life you might not have or just won't spend on a hobby.

My eldest son Luc bought a beat up Mercedes 123 together with a friend of him. They don't use it for daily use, only for fun and they enjoy a bit of work on it. Takes after his dad, I'm very happy to report. But as far as I know he is the exception. I'm still a member of various classic car clubs in Europe (UK, the Netherlands) and the USA. Certainly in the USA Jaguar club my wife and I were one of the youngest couples. In the Mercedes Club more or less the same, although there are a few young people like my son. The various Alfa Romeo clubs I belong to about the same. I would still think the average age of the member is well above 45. Same is true for my UK Classic Car club.

There is also a bit of a difference what kind of persons (age-wise) get attracted to certain cars. Because an old (classic) Mercedes W123 might still make a fine daily drive! And until recently it was cheap to run those cars, especiallly the diesel version as they were excempt from road tax. Same was true for old Volvo's. Some young people like to run them as cheap alternatives for a daily runners. But more exception than the rule.

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th September 2014, 11:35   #30

Originally Posted by vintageman View Post
Hello gentlemen ,

For the children there was an age and time when they were as enthusiastic about it as me

I have very little information about what is in vogue today-in my time it used to be the RD.

I think other than exceptional person such as fintail or indrjeet the vintage fever infects at a later stage in life

Cars - restoration projects - are still available at reasonable rates - the problem lies in the restoration
I fully agree with Chauhan on his observations.

I take that the beaming kid in the photo is one of your children. If so I am sure he has already been infected and it will come out at the right time - the pics remind me of myself when I was the chief helper for may grandpa's driver cum mechanic for all his projects. Yes that is when I too got infected.

Vintage Cars and Bikes many not be every youngsters dream/thing these days but show them a well kept RD350 and you should see how most of them salivate . Again I think for enthusiasm, there should be some connect from the past.

Projects are available but increasingly restoration (body work especially) is becoming more and more difficult.

Yes, am glad that there are few "young vintage gurus" amoung us who will keep the VCC flag flying and pass on to the gen next as well.

Best Regards & Drive/Ride Safe

Ram