Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 4th October 2014, 19:35   #31

Re: 1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip

That's an amazing trip!

Since it is an LHD car, it must have changed your driving perspective a little bit. How was it driving an LHD car over the highways for five days?
honeybee is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th October 2014, 22:18   #32

Pavan, now that is some classic restoration. I am already following all of your works on FB and I was thrilled to see this road trip update.

I am not into classic cars but this one pulled me to this section of the forum.

OT:

The Red Mercedes is next that I waiting for!

Overall, it is fantastic seeing your restoration standards along with quality. Congrats on this work and all the best for the rest and many to come, I know.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th October 2014, 19:51   #33

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Pavan, now that is some classic restoration. I am already following all of your works on FB and I was thrilled to see this road trip update.

I am not into classic cars but this one pulled me to this section of the forum.

OT:

The Red Mercedes is next that I waiting for!

Overall, it is fantastic seeing your restoration standards along with quality. Congrats on this work and all the best for the rest and many to come, I know.

Anurag.

The Red W201 is done and delivered, Since its a modern car, did not want to put up a seperate thread

Here are a few pics
1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip-img_6113edited.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip-img_6120.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip-img_6121.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip-img_6135edited.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip-img_6142edited.jpg  

1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip-img_6117edited.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 11:19   #34

Dear Pavan - hello after a very long time and congratulations for the really fantastic work done on all your cars. Keep it up. Please resend me your mobile number by PM as I have lost all data when my mobile gave up on me sometime back, I need to talk to you.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 14:57   #35

Dear Pavan

I am a big fan of all your restorations. The attention to detail is outstanding.

I was following this thread for picture of the VW fastback but then you posted pictures of the W201, which is my favorite Benz after the W124.

The pictures gave me goose-bumps. The fit and finish is exemplary to say the least. Could we have a few more pictures of this car please? The reds you have used are Signal Red and Brilliant Red (If I am not wrong.) which is my favourite colour for this shape as well as the W124.

I own a W124 in white, but someday hope to restore it with this colour combination.

May I request you to post a few more picture of this beauty for the sake of us Mercedes fanatics.
laxmanrk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2014, 11:43   #36

looks like a lovely restoration and stories like these are a source of inspiration to a project that i am currently engaged in...

but I believe the more retro looking wheels with hub caps would look classier....my two pence though
BowMan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2014, 23:08   #37

Few more details of the said trip here.

Route - Bangalore - Guwahati

Distance - 3286 kms

Time taken to travel - 5 days

Car - 1967 VW Fastback, Air-cooled Rear Engined, Flat Four, Single Carb

Fuel Consumed - 244.37 litres

Fuel Effeciency - 13.50 kmpl

No., of Tolls passed - 40

Toll paid - Rs. 2,382/-
Old 11th October 2014, 23:35   #38

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Fuel Effeciency - 13.50 kmpl
This means this old car "Accha Deti Hai" .

This was an epic travelogue Pavan and I did not know that this car does not have AC. Driving without AC till Guwahati is Herculean task and it is commendable. I met you just a day before you started you journey to Guwahati. Twice I driven to my native in JH and it really requires lots of determination to drive that long that too in vintage car.

No doubt that you have got some terrible road in JH. If you would have discussed me before, I would have told you smooth alternate route till Bhagalpur from Durgapur. I would have been suggesting Durgapur - Gobindpur - Giridih - Deoghar - Bhagalpur.
anujmishra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th December 2014, 22:19   #39

Visited the car once again last week, and it feels really emotional to see it again after a long time. Drove it around, Still a butter smooth car to drive around. Bid good bye with a hope to see it soon
1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip-10500429_1021447874548501_3060537771891090277_n.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th August 2015, 16:06   #40

Mod Note: This thread is hereby closed, with strict action taken against the OP. Reason = Misleading the community & passing off stolen images as his own work.

Refer to the engine image in this post.

This picture is stolen and isn't an actual image of the motor powering the VW Fastback.

Source of original image is this & this, taken from this 2008 thread. Even the file name matches that of this image!!!

1967 VW Fastback: A 3286 kms Road-Trip-502995.jpg

Zoom in on the pic that the OP has uploaded and it's obvious how the circles have been removed.

This is a warning to the OP to NOT post stolen images on Team-BHP. We will NOT permit misleading our members & trying to pass off someone else's work as your own.
GTO is offline   (30) Thanks