Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 20th July 2011, 08:16   #3766

Re: Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars

[quote=chanu;2435004]Found this video on You Tube thought it deserves a place here.

Heartbreaking. What really surprised me was the pic of an F40 and a Jaguar XJ220 abandoned. Who abandons rare exotics like this??????
Old 22nd July 2011, 21:13   #3767

this may not be the 'classic' but its on the way.
Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc04616.jpg

Old 31st July 2011, 00:11   #3768

Spotted this Autsin 10(?) in Hyderabad. A real Sad sight! Ironically, the abandoned house where this car is parked is called 'Jeeva Nilayam'
Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-20110706-14.23.24t.jpg  

JayD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2011, 00:56   #3769

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Spotted this Autsin 10(?) in Hyderabad. A real Sad sight! Ironically, the abandoned house where this car is parked is called 'Jeeva Nilayam'
Here's one more to help you guys- a closer pic. of the car!

I'd incidentally first posted a pic. of this car here back in 2009, 'twas half-hidden by the grass/weeds then but it had the doors on the left side intact atleast.

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-ausrip1.jpg

Last edited by Stanher : 31st July 2011 at 01:01.
Old 31st July 2011, 10:33   #3770

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Here's one more to help you guys- a closer pic. of the car!

I'd incidentally first posted a pic. of this car here back in 2009, 'twas half-hidden by the grass/weeds then but it had the doors on the left side intact atleast.

Attachment 585785
By looking at the background. Certainly looks like both the Pics are taken on the same day.

Its a pity to see a car die at a place called "JEEVA Nilaya" which actually means HOUSE OF LIFE
Old 31st July 2011, 19:06   #3771

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
By looking at the background. Certainly looks like both the Pics are taken on the same day.

Its a pity to see a car die at a place called "JEEVA Nilaya" which actually means HOUSE OF LIFE
YES, both the pics. indeed were taken on the SAME DAY by the SAME PERSON too- JayD chettan!

Sorry if my post was a bit misleading

My pic. was posted here much earlier back in 2009 and in that the car wasnt visible fully like this, the weeds/grass around it was much more grown then! Looks like someone keeps trimming the place now and then atleast. There is a watchman sitting there once in a while.

And yes, the "Jeeva Nilayam" is indeed strangely ironic!
Old 31st July 2011, 22:03   #3772

Beetle - HSR Layout, Bangalore

Look what I found !!
Location - HSR Layout
Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-310711_1750.jpg  

Ravindra M is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st July 2011, 22:21   #3773

Re: Beetle - HSR Layout, Bangalore

Originally Posted by Ravindra M View Post
Look what I found !!
Location - HSR Layout
Overall it looks to be a complete car, it seems the owner just left her on the road to rot. Even the hub caps are intact,all lights are there, and car seems to be locked with all glasses in places,Dont know about engine and other mechanicals.
There must be a reason to abandon this beauty.What it could be????
Some body please save her from furthur damage.

Last edited by IQBAL VEERJI : 31st July 2011 at 22:25.
Old 31st July 2011, 22:50   #3774

Originally Posted by Ravindra M View Post
Look what I found !!
Location - HSR Layout
Belongs to our Bangalore Beetle Club member, he also has another running White Beetle.

Wants a high price for that car, so he'll not be able to sell .

Originally Posted by IQBAL VEERJI View Post
Overall it looks to be a complete car, it seems the owner just left her on the road to rot. Even the hub caps are intact,all lights are there, and car seems to be locked with all glasses in places,Dont know about engine and other mechanicals.
There must be a reason to abandon this beauty.What it could be????
Some body please save her from furthur damage.
Thats a Left Hand Drive AUTOMATIC.

Its almost impossible to put the Auto box to work right now, I remember i had posted the pics of this car somewhere.

Yes, every thing in this car is INTACT, but surely Falling to pieces.
Old 31st July 2011, 23:00   #3775

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Belongs to our Bangalore Beetle Club member, he also has another running White Beetle.

Wants a high price for that car, so he'll not be able to sell .

Thats a Left Hand Drive AUTOMATIC.

Its almost impossible to put the Auto box to work right now, I remember i had posted the pics of this car somewhere.

Yes, every thing in this car is INTACT, but surely Falling to pieces.
Pavan ji, In fact I thuoght of you ,and my mind said that you are the right person to bring this cute car back on its feet.
But as you said the auto Box can not be set right, how about manual transmission from a scrapped beetle to be fixed into it will it do the job?
If not then you mean to say its THE END for this beauty.??
Old 2nd August 2011, 10:19   #3776

Originally Posted by IQBAL VEERJI View Post
Pavan ji, In fact I thuoght of you ,and my mind said that you are the right person to bring this cute car back on its feet.
But as you said the auto Box can not be set right, how about manual transmission from a scrapped beetle to be fixed into it will it do the job?
If not then you mean to say its THE END for this beauty.??
Its very easy to swap to the manual gearbox.

But the main problem is, this person does not want to sell the car in its present state for less than 3 lacs

Slowly but steadily this car will get buried
Old 2nd August 2011, 12:19   #3777

The owner does not deserve to have a car like that, forget being a member of a Beetle Club. What one can make out from the picture is that he's plain careless. And no, I'm not talking about the condition of the car; that's a given. It's also been parked on the wrong side of the road, which gives cops the right to tow it away! Poor bug!
Old 2nd August 2011, 19:31   #3778

This Buick Special perhaps a 1958 was found in dilapidated condition and bought here for sanding. This was 3 years ago. There was a Perkins engine mated to some truck gearbox, floor shift. Since then I was told the car was shifted to Poona where due to lack of involvement and communication by the person who sought to restore it and the restorer has resulted in car rotting away. Sad but true. As im aware of who has taken the car for restoration and also to whom the car is given, i know for sure that it will disintegrate away. Sad for the actual owner.

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-12022008338-800x600.jpg
V-16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd August 2011, 01:59   #3779

Whats seen of the chassis and body still seems to be in a good nick. At least repairable rust spots. Hope with the time it has been lying around in this state, all the parts are still stored away or it could make a nice hot-rod project for someone (well its better than going to the ground).
Old 3rd August 2011, 23:57   #3780

Spotted this Morris Minor 2 door and very sad to see this car in this condition.

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dscn2811.jpg  

Last edited by kasli : 3rd August 2011 at 23:58.
kasli is offline   (1) Thanks