Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 18th April 2019, 19:02   #16

Re: Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"

Originally Posted by 1100D View Post
What a wonderful thread, am glued on. Rated 5 stars!!

Pardon my ignorance, So when you order parts from abroad, do they ship them to your doorstep, or do you have "customs" to deal with?
Hi 1100D,

Please PM me when you get a chance, would love to see your car!

So in my 8 years of importing parts, here's how it works:

DHL Express, FedEx & other Express courier companies will deliver to your doorstep. The rule now is that you have to upload your KYC details on their site for clearance by customs officers at the destination airport (usually New Delhi). The local delivery office will then call you & inform you of the duty amount to be paid. Once you agree to pay they deliver to your mentioned address.

Postal system (USPS, Royal Mail, Deutsche Post etc.): These reach India within 5 to 10 days but because of the sheer volume of inbound mail, the first customs airports (usually Mumbai & New Delhi) take a while to clear it, then it goes to the destination airport (NSC Bose cargo in our case), then it goes to the Foreign Parcel office. At the foreign parcel office they scan the package, levy duties & it goes back to the cargo airport It finally lands up at your local post office where the post man delivers to your door step & collects the duty amount. But, if they can't ascertain the value or if it's a large or heavy package, you would likely be called by Foreign Parcels, produce the invoice & if anything is out of place, expect to grease the officer's palms for them to clear the package. It's a shame but it still continues.

Duties on motor car spares are (% of invoice plus shipping cost):

Basic Customs duty: 10%
GST: 28%
Compensation cess for import of luxury goods (eg. if the invoice says parts for Mercedes) 10%.

Post GST you're looking at total duty & taxes of between 38 to 48%!

Hope this helps.

Prithvi Nath Tagore
mbz180 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th April 2019, 13:23   #17

Originally Posted by mbz180 View Post
Hi 1100D,

Please PM me when you get a chance, would love to see your car!
That was extremely insightful, will definitely come handy if I need sometime.

Right now, my PM box is full and I don't know which older messages to delete!

Anyways, would love to meet up, especially since I like the setup of the workshop that you are getting the work done. Most importantly they seem to know their old car.

Where is the workshop located?

My Team-bhp handle is inspired by our car, that we lovingly call Rampiari. Rampiari completed it's 50 years this year (being an early 1969 Delight - manufactured in the late 68). Attaching a picture. Although she looks better in pics there is work to be done. But then, each year, during the winters, running the car takes priority over a downtime for restorations. But most importantly, keeping her (and myself) away from being at the mercy of the workshops I know (my job profile wouldn't allow me to keep as much of a watch as I would be comfortable). So minor, nip-tuck patchwork is made, so that the car still gets decent run-time. But sooner or later, a grounds-up (floorboard) will be required.

However, the place where we live in (Howrah) has become so extremely congested in recent times that everytime I take her out for a spin, it's a scare (all it will take is one irresponsible move by a "toto" and I stand the risk of loosing something - say the round indicators, which are not to be found anywhere in Howrah/Kolkata these days)

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_71031.jpg
1100D is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th May 2019, 15:04   #18

Originally Posted by 1100D View Post
Anyways, would love to meet up, especially since I like the setup of the workshop that you are getting the work done. Most importantly they seem to know their old car.
Hi 1100D, good to connect with you! If it a clear day tomorrow, I'll probably take my Fiat out & I live close to Howrah, I'm across the bridge in Malapara, posta crossing!

Continuing with my Fiat's restoration, with most of the required parts with us, some alterations were made to 202 after discussing with the restorer, to make life easier for modern day driving conditions.

The oddly placed handbrake lever (still configured for LHD) was relocated on the right side of the transmission hump. Brakes were converted to split front & rear for more reliability. A charging point along with a hazard warning switch, both discreetly installed were some other touches. A new wiring harness was made & installed personally by the restorer with some innovative circuitry. Relays for the horn, headlamps, etc. were incorporated, mounted discreetly out of view.

202's original insulation inside the cabin bulkhead region was a coir like material which had to be discarded. I decided to go with a product that I read about on Team-Bhp itself-'Dampmat'. Essentially a more cost effective version of the US made 'Dynamat'. The guys at Dampmat were very helpful & once I determined the correct product & the area required the order was placed & with me in a couple of days. The product it fairly easy to work with & seemed to have a layer of rubberized soft compound/bitumen. Installation wasn't too difficult, they have adhesive on one side thought each square sheet it extremely heavy.

Harness & electrical installation, heat & sound insulation & basic electrical fitting done, it was time to install the chrome parts like the headlamp outer bezels, bumpers, etc. before painting to test & adjust beforehand so that there aren't any nasty surprises after painting & chroming.

I was lucky to get a new set of 5 MRF Twin Tread tyres from one of their last production batches, again helped by a friend in the South.

In the meantime I concentrated on the upholstery. When I bought 202, something told me that she may have here original seat material under the later upholstery & to be delight, she did! Sadly, they were too brittle to be usable but they did serve as excellent reference for the new upholstery. What I could retain was the original magazine/parcel net behind the front seat back. Once we had the original upholstery of, the seat frames were attended to. The front seat required only minor work, the rear seats were fine & all the hardware was cleaned & got the usual epoxy primer-paint before being sent to the upholster's.

Some photos showing the works in progress:

Old bulkhead insulation was like coir

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181006_142844.jpg

New insulating material - 'Dampmat'

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181004_101314.jpg

Wiring harness & installing the insulation. We had to be careful not to cover any holes/passages such as the one for the fresh air intake

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181006_141848.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181006_141927.jpg

Test fitting the bumper & some other trim prior to chroming

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181014_134821.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181014_134845.jpg

My daily workhorse loaded with parts heading for chrome plating!

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190105_163811.jpg

Testing the new electricals with the old lights

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181103_164434.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181103_164511.jpg

The boot lamp was one of the items which was beyond repair & had to be imported

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190112_180439.jpg

My first glimpse of the original seat material

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180526_175153.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180707_144607.jpg

Original material was too far gone but served as excellent reference for the new upholstery

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180707_161313.jpg

Here you can see the magazine/parcel net which we retained

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180707_161201.jpg

Seats at the upholstery shop being redone

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20180914wa0005.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180915_144839.jpg

I had decided that the body colour would be subtle, and 2 tone, Italian style. I do know the Super Selects did not come from the factory in 2 tone but I am okay with that. So we went through several upholstery combos before settling on this to match the exterior paint (which was not yet frozen)

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20180825wa0001.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190130_172537.jpeg

202 was missing her door armrests, the hardware was fabricated from originals from another car.

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180609_161051.jpg

The seats, parcel rack, door cars completed. I was happy with the colours & the quality of work.

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190127_025452.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20181120wa0058.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180919_164432.jpg

Missing fresh air duct which was fabricated after looking at a few prinouts from the net. Other items like the steering wheel, rear view mirror, instrument cluster shroud etc. had to be refurbished.

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190105_161024.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190118_130225.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190115_144328.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190115_150639.jpg

I managed to get a rubber mat for the trunk floor & a set of vent window seals from the South!

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180921_180558.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20180921_180622.jpg

And then we began tweaking the final colours!

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20181006_164043.jpg
mbz180 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2019, 15:15   #19

Hello everyone,

Many apologies for updating this thread after such a long gap.

Continuing where I left of:

Choosing colours for the body was a long process for me (and frustrating for others ).

I had a picture of the two tone shade I wanted but because it wasn't in any paint chart it took a few days to mix the colour for the top. The first paint shop messed up the shade I wanted inspite of me sitting with them for hours. After once coat of it on the roof, both restorer & I opined it looked too drab.

Drab grey-blue on the top was not to our liking

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20181228wa0046.jpg

The restorer suggested another paint shop & to my delight, they understood what I wanted & tweaked the paint to the exact shade within 10 minutes!

I finally got the pastel green I had in my mind.

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-photo-prithvi-nath-tagore-1.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-photo-prithvi-nath-tagore-2.jpg

Bella was temporarily wearing WBF 1's (1960 Fiat 1100 Select with Lusso trim) wheel & tyres. In the meantime, my Fiat's wheels were meticulously scraped to shiny bare metal, prepped, primed & painted in the Italian 2 tone style, all of which was quite time consuming. I was very happy the way the wheel turned out. They looked beautiful once the new MRF Twin Treads with inserts were fitted!

Refinishing the wheels

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-wheels.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190117_120912.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190126_165514.jpg

My Fiat did not have its original instrument cluster when I bought her. A friend very kindly gifted a correct unit that he had with him. Mr. Sircar, the restorer, took it upon himself to restore the meters as most of them were no longer working.

The clear plastic dial plates, which typically get yellowed with the harsh sun over decades, made it hard to see the meters. This is where Bhpian Manishalive and I partnered with each other to get a fresh set of plates. Manish already had finished plates but they were for earlier cars with Mph markings. I needed Kmph plates & wanted the red dots which indicate the speed at which you were meant to upshift. With our busy work schedules, it took more than a month and several rejected plates to arrive at a 99% match to the original. The hardest part for Manish was to get the curvature of the digits right. My deepest thanks to him for doing a stellar job & for putting up with my demands

Instrument cluster works. Manishalive recreated the dial scales.

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-20190417_182026collage.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-20190417_183424collage.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20181229wa0019.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190125_102059.jpeg

Small bits falling into place nicely

Headlamp inner retainers

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190112_181930.jpg

Renewed insect screens on either side of the radiator

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190115_151633.jpg

Work in progress

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190112_182356.jpg

One major pain was getting a person to refit the window run channels, glasses, window trims, weatherstrips, seals, etc. I know it looks pretty straightforward but there are many small bits required to complete, what we call, the 'lock-channel' work. The window glass bottom channels were no longer usable & had to be fabricated among other things.

For the lock-channel work, I drove my car, accompanied by friends, to a friend's place in town where the lock-channel guy agreed to work over the next few days. Being close to the upholster's shop as well, work on the ceiling & dash areas progressed side by side.

Setting off from the workshop to my friend's place in town for 'lock-channel' work

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190117_141025.jpg

Lock-channel babu doing what he does best

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190123_103656.jpg

Once this part of the work was over, Bella returned to Mr. Sircar's workshop for final assembly.

With glasses fitted!

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190126_120235.jpg

While buying the rear view mirror from ebay Italy, I came across these original Italian spec 1100 sun-visors. They were fabric covered for the Euro market. I liked them & bought them along with the mirror. The sun-visors were subsequently redone with new fabric.

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20180926wa0016.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190130_172722.jpeg

Interiors coming together

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190130wa0050.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190130_172601.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190130_172801.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190130_172645.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-4-2.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190509_114151.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190509_114138.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190509_114159.jpeg

Bella was being readied for the 50th edition of the Kolkata Statesman Vintage & Classic Car Rally, 2019.

Nearly completed engine bay

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190420_180310.jpg

Weber carb fitted. Bhpian SGChaudhuri printed the Magneti Marelli battery decal the night before rally scrutiny from a template that Manish had. It lent a nice touch to the engine bay. (Pic courtesy KPS)

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-3-4.jpeg

Nearly done

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190130_172845.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190130_172836.jpeg

Last edited by mbz180 : 22nd July 2019 at 15:17.
mbz180 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2019, 20:52   #20

The 50th Statesman Rally Kolkata was held on Sunday, 3rd February, 2019. As is the norm, cars which intend to compete have to be on the rally ground on the Saturday before. The team of judges inspect and appraise all the cars that turn up and for the most part, participants take the judging very seriously and do their best to present their vintage & classic beauties as best they can.

A couple of us had been coaxing KPS to come down for the event and we were very happy when he said he would come!

I have to say, as I drove onto the grounds in the afternoon sun, a number of our young friends that I've fortunately come to know thanks to our regular Classic Drivers of Calcutta (CDC) gatherings, were eagerly waiting to see Bella in her new avatar. Their reaction was enough, they were as happy as I was to see her! The Fiat's of-white paint and fresh chrome glistened under the bright sun and she really looked cute.

Driving in for judging

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190202wa0048.jpg

Bella lines up for scrutiny, glistening under the afternoon sun

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190202wa0049.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190202wa0050.jpg

I wasn't ready for what was to come. I last took part in the rally in my own car in 2005, thereafter I've either hitched a ride in friends cars or driven one of their cars.

14 years later, my humble Fiat was scrutinised by the 3 groups of judges to a level that left me astonished! And a lot of it happened simultaneously, opening the boot, bonnet, starting the car, showing if the switches work etc. I was honestly getting fried but thankfully my friend Rupak who owns the gorgeous 2 tone green 1947 Pontiac & KPS came to my rescue and took over the car while I tried to answer the questions fielded by the judges on various aspects of the car.

I had prepared an account on the restoration for the judges to peruse

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-5-1.jpeg

The dash area showed really well I thought

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190208wa0077.jpg

Engine bay

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-4-3.jpeg

I was asked to use the old jack; the judges wanted to see a bit of the sheet metal underneath (pic courtesy KPS)

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-3-3.jpeg

The rest of it was pretty smooth and I have to say that Bella brought a real smile to my face that day. My young friends at CDC who were present on the grounds & were a constant source of help & encouragement while the car was being restored, sheepishly asked whether they could have a spin in her. I was only to happy to hand them the keys after judging was complete. We firmly agree with the old thought, that we are only the custodians of these cars and letting like minded, passionate classic car lovers directly involved is the best way to create the next generation of custodians so that these cars live on. I could see that they were having a blast in Bella, massive grins on their faces and it made me truly happy. It was a great feeling!

After judging our young friends had some fun in Bella

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-photo-prithvi-nath-tagore-4.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190202_165600.jpg

A relieved me with my Fiat post judging!

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-picture04.jpg

A couple of shots before heading home at the end of the day

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-3-2.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190203wa0008.jpg

The next morning! En route during the 50th Statesman Rally, 2019, KPS navigating

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-51186853_10217341871801820_5752098602583326720_o.jpg

Back to the rally grounds after completing the route, Bella was parked into her allotted slot

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-dscn0142.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190208wa0078.jpg

A B&W shot

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-50983158_10217342283012100_5863913291541118976_o.jpg

Honestly, by mid-day I knew in my heart that my humble Fiat had been restored well and she compared favourably with the other beauties that participated with her. That satisfaction was adequate for me. But, when I was informed that the Fiat was to line up to receive an award, I cannot deny that I was thrilled!

With KPS in the car, we were in cue behind other exotic automobiles who were being felicitated in various categories. And then came my turn, I heard the Chief Judge announce my rally number, car name, my name & that I was to collect the award for the best maintained car built between 1956 to 1975! But Bella had other thoughts; the self starter refused to spin, just a 'tak' sound of the solenoid With the marshals and judges wondering why I was procrastinating, I left the car to KPS and walked over to receive my trophy. I was a little sad that my poor Fiat which had done so well throughout couldn't be with me at that moment but to my absolute joy, as I turned around towards the spectators with my trophy I see Bella approaching the trophy stands with KPS driving! The marshals & KPS managed to push & start her It was a hilarious sight for all of us there, including me & I won't forget the Chief Judges witty comment - "I've seen dogs following there owners but this is the first time I've seen a car following its owner". I cracked up.

I had no idea that the car which actually won the trophy is on her way

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-51786638_10217381183624591_1682766150758301696_o.jpg

KPS steers Bella towards her trophy; I'm thrilled to see her

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-51505852_10217381186424661_8150307232844611584_o.jpg

Restorer & owner stand proudly with our Fiat

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-2-4.jpeg

My friend's 1947 Pontiac picked up awards in 2 categories!

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-51505844_10217836565087867_8711703541976137728_o.jpg

The excellent team of marshals, all friends who are part of CDC

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-51535811_10217381314907873_5371890848952745984_o.jpg

With my navigator for the day, KPS!

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-2-2.jpeg

A great day for me & the Fiat

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190210wa0047.jpg

Once everything was wrapped up at the event, on our way home, I decided to stop in front of the Kolkata Town Hall and take a photo. If it weren't for our group of classic car lovers that have come together and met in front of Town Hall for drives regularly since 2017, I wouldn't have met a great bunch of people, including my friend who gave me the lead and a huge push to buy the Fiat. Thank you Soura uncle

Outside the Kolkata Town Hall

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-2-3.jpeg

Over the next few days, with the weather still cool, I used the Fiat to go to work. I had promised the previous owners that once she was fully restored, I would visit them again and show them the car their father had so lovingly cared for since 1963.

So I drove over one evening, a little unsure of what son & daughter of the original owner would make of 202 in her new avatar. After all, the car was always black and now she looked totally different. They closely inspected the car in absolute silence, not a word from them. That's it I thought, they hate what I've done to their late father's car. Just then, they asked me questions on how I managed to get all those old bits and pieces looking new & where I found them & that it looked fantastic etc. Phew! I could see that uncle really wanted to take his old car out for a spin and I offered him the keys. Without hesitation, he got into the car and was about to start of when I interrupted like an idiot to explain something. He looked at me, smiled, and said - 'I know everything about this car, we've had it since new'. I'm sure fond memories were rekindled. When uncle came back after his drive, a group of students stopped in front of the car to admire it and he stood their proudly explaining to them the history of the model.

Parked in front of the house where the Fiat spent all its life until 2019

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-photo-prithvi-nath-tagore-7.jpg

The original owner's son

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-photo-prithvi-nath-tagoremod.jpg

From their house

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-photo-prithvi-nath-tagore-6.jpg

Later, in March, a couple of friends and I drove to a beach town in Orissa for the weekend. We went in Bella & had no issues during the 550 km return trip.

Crossing over from Bengal to Orissa through some great stretches

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-save_20190410_103220.jpeg

Bella by the beach!

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190316_181154.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img_20190316_181106.jpg
mbz180 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2019, 15:58   #21
KPS

Thanks to mbz180 and sgchoudhury who pushed me to come the 50th Stateman's Rally, I had a wonderful experience and memories will remain fresh. One is attending the rally, the being able to participate in the wonderful Fiat was exhilarating.

The detailing on this car is just amazing. mbz180 has gone to the minutest details and the car is an absolute reflection of the labour of love and hard work put into this rebuild. The exhaust note of the car is just fascination.

Added to this, I could spend time with mbz180's family and it was an honour to stay with the culturally rich Tagores!

Thanks mbz180 and wish you many more wonderful miles in the beautiful Fiat.

KPS
KPS is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th July 2019, 09:09   #22

Hello Prithvi da,

Hearty congrats on the awesome dual tone Fiat of yours. I am happy that I could be of help in few bits on the car. The overall turnout is fantastic.

Like I said every thing on the car is super. Except the play on the steering (which you can tighten the stud on the steering box and is a simple fix). I had huge fun driving the car, the sound from the straight thru SS pipes is mind blowing.
manishalive is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th July 2019, 09:49   #23

@Mbz180 - that's an amazing restoration, bringing back the 1100 to such a pristine condition. And CONGRATULATIONS on the trophy's !

Btw, when I saw the fold-down rear seats, my eyes literally popped out !

One question - how come you are holding the trophy and dont know it is your car that's the winner ?
condor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 29th July 2019, 10:40   #24

Originally Posted by condor View Post
@Mbz180 - that's an amazing restoration, bringing back the 1100 to such a pristine condition. And CONGRATULATIONS on the trophy's !

Btw, when I saw the fold-down rear seats, my eyes literally popped out !

One question - how come you are holding the trophy and dont know it is your car that's the winner ?
Thanks Condor!

Your question, I knew my Fiat was the winner, just that she refused to start to receive the award...self starter solenoid switch misbehaved I had no option but to walk & collect her trophy and by then, thanks to the marshals & KPS, she started & joined me!
Old 29th July 2019, 11:03   #25

Congratulations mbz180 for winning this prestigious trophy. Makes all the hard work and investment worth it. And you had, KPS, the Guru of all Guru's to guide you. The pastel green and the colour combination looks delightful, eye-catching, gorgeous, kissable.....

If you post some more pictures we won't complain. :-)
V.Narayan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th July 2019, 16:49   #26

Originally Posted by mbz180 View Post
Thanks Condor!

Your question, I knew my Fiat was the winner, just that she refused to start to receive the award...self starter solenoid switch misbehaved I had no option but to walk & collect her trophy and by then, thanks to the marshals & KPS, she started & joined me!
Good show! For some reason the Fiat solenoid gods always seem to fail at opportune moments. In fact thanks to my Fiat I know whats a solenoid switch. What helps for me and works everytime is rocking the car back and forth. Anyways all said and done no car like a Fiat and my 57 continues to be my favorite go to car.
the mole is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th July 2019, 16:30   #27

Originally Posted by V.Narayan View Post
Congratulations mbz180 for winning this prestigious trophy. Makes all the hard work and investment worth it. And you had, KPS, the Guru of all Guru's to guide you. The pastel green and the colour combination looks delightful, eye-catching, gorgeous, kissable.....

If you post some more pictures we won't complain. :-)
I shall gladly post more photos!

Shortly after the Statesman Rally and the euphoria, a small group of us classic car lovers, all good friends, drove down to one of friend's lovely country estate in Nadia district. My Fiat had a 1955 MG Magnette ZA, a 1958/59 Amby Mark 1 and our host's 1968 Mercedes 220/8 for company.

Some photos from our stay in Maheshgunge, Balakhana Estate, Nadia:

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190302wa00141.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190302wa00151.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190302wa0034.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190302wa00331.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190302wa0062.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190302wa0071.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190302wa0077.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190302wa0078.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190303wa0011.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190303wa0020.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190303wa00271.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190303wa0030.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-31.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-mahesh1.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-mahesh2.jpg

A few weeks later, before it became too hot, a couple of friends and I took the Fiat by itself to a beach town in Orissa, covering roughly 550 kms.

Some pics from that trip:

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-talsari.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190314wa0037.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190314wa0034.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190314wa0035.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-img20190315wa0045.jpg

Bella's ever smiling face brings great joy to kids everywhere

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-24.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-22.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-kids2.jpg

Even the police come up to admire her (I'm not being hauled up for breaking a traffic rule )

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-cop1.jpeg

I was using her often to work and then as the summer months came in, started using her on our Sunday drives.

Bella on office duty

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-work1.jpg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-work2.jpg

One evening while driving home I caught side of a senior's Super Select and hailed it down to take a pic:

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-catchin1.jpg

On one of our Sunday drives

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-202sgc.jpeg

Indo-Italian PAL: 1963 Fiat 1100 Super Select "Bella"-bella1.jpg
mbz180 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th July 2019, 20:31   #28

What a wonderful classic car restoration thread after long time in Team Bhp. Indeed a great platform to share such an experience.

Congrats Prithvinath on such a meticulously restored FIAT; have a wonderful ownership experience.
arun1100 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2019, 00:25   #29

A magnificent thread. I was thrilled to read about the restoration and see all those photographs. This thread induced an urge in me to get one such car, restore and use it. You have done a great job. I congratulate you.

One thing I love about this model is the placement of front door hinges on B pillar. I like this much more than the fancy supercar doors, which swing upward in style.

Few queries from my end:
1. Does the Motor Vehicle Act (or any other law) prevent use of such vehicle on the grounds of emission norms or age?

2. After restoration, are we supposed to get any approval for the car? I am asking this because restoration may involve some changes / modifications in the original equipment in the car.

Rahul
Rahul Bhalgat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2019, 17:38   #30

Originally Posted by Rahul Bhalgat View Post

Few queries from my end:
1. Does the Motor Vehicle Act (or any other law) prevent use of such vehicle on the grounds of emission norms or age?

2. After restoration, are we supposed to get any approval for the car? I am asking this because restoration may involve some changes / modifications in the original equipment in the car.

Rahul
Thank you for your kind words Rahul. I'll try to answer your questions since I did do the emission test and approval for my Fiat post restoration:

1. Emissions: When I went to the emission testing centre, the person handling the software selected "emission test lower than Bharat IV". I had to tighten the idle mixture screw to a setting where the engine would be running on a very lean mixture. Once I did that, the Fiat legitimately passed the emission test.

2. If your car's registration is no longer valid (chances are it is not unless you have been renewing it) as in my case, you will have to obtain a 'Certificate of Fitness' from your local Motor Vehicles department. Before you can apply for the CF however, you have to clear of all pending road taxes, penalties, get your insurance renewed and have a valid 'Pollution under control' (PUC) certificate. Simple modifications do not attract unwanted attention from the MVD people. In Calcutta atleast, what is a problem is installing a music system in a car which did not have it factory fitted. In my case, they initially insisted that my car should be the the same colour as it left the factory and they wanted the original sale invoice. But these are all ways to try and harass the applicant to try and coax some money out of them. Once you refuse, all they check are whether all lights, horn, wipers etc. work and the engine area & interiors, boot, are clean. Tyres should be in good shape. Very importantly, they compare your engine number and chassis number with the numbers mentioned in the car's earlier registration papers. Once that's in order, the MVD issues you a new smart card and your vehicle is certified fit for use on public roads! I know it sounds a little complicated but if you have a decent agent (in Calcutta doing it yourself will be very frustrating) things should be fairly smooth.

Prithvi

Last edited by mbz180 : 31st July 2019 at 17:41.
mbz180 is offline   (1) Thanks