Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 25th April 2017, 17:16   #1051

Re: Early registration numbers in India

Originally Posted by harit View Post
Any idea about this series, DD 120?5 where there seem to be 5 numbers with the second last one covered?
Cheers harit
Originally Posted by travancore View Post
I am not convinced that the picture or the licence plate is for real....looks more like a "recreation" of an event during the 1911 Durbar.
Originally Posted by sabinesnubbing View Post
Harit, Travancore.
That is so amazing that you found this photo or perhaps advert would be a better name.

This number plate photo was first known about before the 1950s by one of the very earliest collectors of plates but was just the number alone without the car or background and thus we have it as 'unknown'. It was stated then to be a photo taken in 1911 but never where.

Now that I see the advert and whole picture, I believe that this is a very early dealer plate from somewhere. I would expect Bombay to have been B or a number alone maybe so I just wonder if DD was Delhi???? The flyer seems to read (if my old eyes don't deceive me) that Standard supplied cars (plural) for the royal guests in Delhi so I think DD is indeed Delhi Dealer. 120 would be the Standard Motor Co. and 5 would be the 5th plate for that dealer.
Cedric

Originally Posted by travancore View Post
Standard Motor Co. supplied 70 cars for the Delhi Durbar. These were stationed at Bombay, Delhi, Calcutta and Nepal - as far as I know.
Here is a great picture which captures two cars bearing the DD series, this picture is from the coronation durbar 1911, picture was found on ebay a while back and I bid on it but unfortunately did not win it.

The caption reads,
Naval guard of honour arrive at review - Delhi 1911
Early registration numbers in India-delhi-durbar.jpg

Please click on the picture to enlarge

Last edited by KartikeyaL : 25th April 2017 at 17:40.
KartikeyaL is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2017, 15:55   #1052

Cross posting here, the picture is from the album of Mr. C.C Kellar

More here : http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...ml#post4192701

Early registration numbers in India-unidentified-kellars-album-19131930.jpg
KartikeyaL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2017, 13:50   #1053

Originally Posted by KartikeyaL View Post
This is from Ajmer before independence and before merger with Rajasthan,here is a snap shot of number plate of my family's car.
Originally Posted by sabinesnubbing View Post
Gents,
That is what I have - a 1939 series number from what I believe was officially Ajmer-Merwara-Kekri. We are all in agreement then which is good!

Cedric
Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Thanks for sharing - but do share more of the photo!
Here is the picture of my family's car , this is 1929/30 Chevrolet and my grandfather is at the wheel, picture should be from 1944-45

Early registration numbers in India-kartik-family-car.jpg

Last edited by KartikeyaL : 19th May 2017 at 14:11.
KartikeyaL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2017, 14:24   #1054
KPS

Originally Posted by vintageman View Post
Modifying my earlier post with regards to UP numbers . The first series when the 3 alphabet norm was established in Uttar Pradesh had the US & UP series running concurrently , the first series in Lucknow was USJ , whereas in Kanpur the first series was UPR & USK came later .
Surprisingly USA was shared by both Agra ( in the West ) & Gonda ( in the East ) with USA 1 to USA 5000 with the Agra RTO and 5001 to 9999 with Gonda RTO. UPL Varanasi . UPC Allahabad. UPF Jhansi ( The UPF 105 Rolls I saw in one of the links could be a Datia , Panna or a Charkhari car ). UPX Faizabad.UPM Mirzapur.
The US.. & UP.. series ran through till early 70's.

The other series since then were :

UT.. : 1973 onwards. UTW & UTZ were both Kanpur series
UR.. : late 70's
UH.. : early 80's
UA.. : 84
UG.. : mid 80's
UM.. : Late 80's
UV.. : Last alphabetical series before changing to UP ..

UP 01 to UP 07 belonged to districts which later formed Uttarakhand. So now UP 01 ~ 07 no longer exist.

Here is a car with UPM registration

Early registration numbers in India-image1.jpg

KPS
KPS is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th May 2017, 23:32   #1055

There was a 1947 Buick which was shipped from Bareilly with a UPM registration. Could be Moradabad or similar west UP registration
vintageman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2017, 20:20   #1056

Was there a 60's registration plate CPM? if so which state was it from?
Old 7th June 2017, 18:25   #1057

There was no State of Navsari, but they wrote the towns name in full on the number plate. A very clear photo.
The number plate is beautifully cast.

Cheers harit
Early registration numbers in India-navsari.jpg  

harit is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th June 2017, 09:50   #1058

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Was there a 60's registration plate CPM? if so which state was it from?
Probably Central Provinces, now Madhya Pradesh. I think this series was issued in the 70s, I have even seen a Vijai Super scooter with CPC registration.

Originally Posted by harit View Post
There was no State of Navsari, but they wrote the towns name in full on the number plate. A very clear photo.
The number plate is beautifully cast.
Superb! I can't imagine what each plate would cost to manufacture today.

In 2012 you had also posted a Buick with plate Navsari 132 here (Early registration numbers in India)

Early registration numbers in India-navsari2.jpg
karlosdeville is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th June 2017, 14:12   #1059

I have even seen a Vijai Super scooter with CPC registration.
Here's a Bajaj 150 that belongs to a mechanic, his daily ride..

Name:  ForumRunner_20170630_141149.png
Views: 2303
Size:  624.5 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20170630_141155.png
Views: 2258
Size:  623.5 KB

Name:  ForumRunner_20170630_141200.png
Views: 2187
Size:  624.1 KB
schakravarthy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th July 2017, 06:23   #1060

Early registration numbers in India-chrysler-75-hp-1927.jpg

Cross posting an interesting car. Dated 1927
travancore is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th July 2017, 20:17   #1061

Originally Posted by schakravarthy View Post
Here's a Bajaj 150 that belongs to a mechanic, his daily ride..]
as per MVD records this vehicle is registered in MYSORE WEST RTO,
So is this an original Karnataka registration number
If not please check with the guy where CPC is from?
Old 13th July 2017, 14:51   #1062

While browsing through some old issues of Auto India (from the 90s) I came across this ad for a Plymouth. The registration reads J.P.R. 1606 - wonder if it is genuine, and where it originated from? I suppose Jaipur/Jodhpur could be one option? A couple of similar cars do attend events in Delhi, perhaps the car survives.

Early registration numbers in India-img_4736.jpg

Incidentally I think the Ford on the right is now in the Dharmasthala collection.
karlosdeville is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th July 2017, 16:57   #1063

While browsing through some old issues of Auto India (from the 90s) I came across this ad for a Plymouth. The registration reads J.P.R. 1606 - wonder if it is genuine, and where it originated from? I suppose Jaipur/Jodhpur could be one option? A couple of similar cars do attend events in Delhi, perhaps the car survives.
Karl,
The car very much survives and is now part of the Rambagh palace car fleet.
Here is a brief history of this car, as narrated by Hamid Bhai.

The car was in Rajasthan in small town called Ugariyawas from where, Hamid Bhai of Ghani Auto's bought it for Rs. 25,000/- in 1987/88.

This car had the Jaipur state numbers J.P.R. 1606 and upon merger into the union was alloted RJL 1149. When he bought the car it sported the JPR numbers in front and RJL no's at the back.

Mr. Bedi was shooting a documentary film on " Lotan Baba " .

https://www.hinduismtoday.com/module...hp?itemid=3349

He saw the car while he was in Jaipur and bought it from Hamid Bhai.
Mr. Bedi is a renowned photographer/film maker and used to come to Rajasthan/Ranthambore quite often.

Mr. Prithvi Singh ji (Pat Bapji for Jaipurites) saw this advertisement and bought the car from Mr. Bedi, who was also his friend.
Early registration numbers in India-27.jpg

Incidentally Hamid bhai has copies of all old reciepts etc of this car, from 1937, which I hope to get from him soon.

Last edited by KartikeyaL : 13th July 2017 at 17:10.
KartikeyaL is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th July 2017, 17:05   #1064

Karl,
The car very much survives and is now part of the Rambagh palace car fleet.
Here is a brief history of this car, as narrated by Hamid Bhai.
TBHP never ceases to amaze

Incidentally Hamid bhai has copies of all old reciepts etc of this car, from 1937, which I hope to get from him soon.
Can't wait to see them, and I'm sure many more treasures he should have.
karlosdeville is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th July 2017, 18:04   #1065

Here is one that used to be parked in our apartment.
Early registration numbers in India-old-car.jpg  

swissknife is offline   (2) Thanks