Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 4th October 2009, 02:39   #106

Originally Posted by AHK500 View Post

Sadly none of my cars are in India as the import duties would bankrupt me several times over! But I would love to have a car in India and the Golden Hawk would be a great start.

To think that the car was so close to me all the years I was in school in Poona & to come across it now is, I hope, destiny!

Any help you can render in contacting the owner would be much appreciated!
Hi AKH500

The Golden hawk in pune is for sale a very high price for which it is not worth.The owner wants something close to 80-90lacs for that car.That car is very well kept i must say.But the front windshield of that car is cracked.You can always import one but you know there are high chances of damage.If you are still interested some members from pune could help you or otherwise a uncle of mine knows him so you could mayb go through him if you like.
Old 4th October 2009, 10:45   #107

Myn Father also had a 1951 Champion, a blue 4 door sedan that we sold in 1967. It was registered in Bombay as BML 8117. Anybody know what became of that car?
Can't say I remember 8117, but BML 8118 is a black 57 Fiat 1100 regularly seen on the road in Bombay

You could add it to the list here, she may turn up some day.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...-classics.html

If you dig up any old photos of the Studey, do put them up here

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...ly-s-cars.html
Old 4th October 2009, 14:03   #108

This early Studebaker participated it the Amby Valley rally to Lonavala some years back.

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-00.jpg
Old 4th October 2009, 18:44   #109

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
This early Studebaker participated it the Amby Valley rally to Lonavala some years back.
This Studebaker belongs to a collector in Lonavalla. He is a memeber and could give us more history of the car.
This car had participated in an event in Australia, hence that sticker on the door.

Cheers harit
Old 6th October 2009, 18:23   #110

Attached please see the Studebaker monogram of an earlier pre 1920 car. Now the car has to emerge.

Cheers harit
Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-studebaker-monogram.jpg  

Old 8th October 2009, 08:48   #111

Hi Harit!

Sadly none of my cars are in India as the import duties would bankrupt me several times over! But I would love to have a car in India and the Golden Hawk would be a great start.

I am not too technically savvy with this aspect of computers but when I get time, I will upload a few photos.

Manny,
I had posted a photo of your Studebaker and Chev on posting #88.
I am posting on your behalf these great photos of your 53 Studebaker that I consider one of the finest looking American Classics.
What car show did you attend and was it judged?
Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-sdc-meet-lancaster.01.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-sdc-meet-lancaster.03.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-sdc-meet-lancaster.05.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-sdc-meet-lancaster.04.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-sdc-meet-lancaster.09.jpg  

Old 8th October 2009, 19:33   #112

Originally Posted by john a milne View Post
Manny,
I had posted a photo of your Studebaker and Chev on posting #88.
I am posting on your behalf these great photos of your 53 Studebaker that I consider one of the finest looking American Classics.
What car show did you attend and was it judged?
Isnt this what they call a Studebaker Speedster which only came for one year in 1956?
Old 8th October 2009, 22:07   #113

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Isnt this what they call a Studebaker Speedster which only came for one year in 1956?

Amol this is a 1953 car because the car you are talking about is a 1955 car which if you remember you had posted a picture of a 1955 studebaker president that car was a speedster.The speedster was the first step towards the sporty car, and the forerunner to the memorable Hawks The most expensive offering in this year's revived top-line President series, this two-door hardtop featured a special interior with quilted-pattern leather and vinyl upholstery and a full complement of white-on-black instruments set into a dash with a tooled-metal appliqué.A high-performance rendition of the Studebaker small-block V-8, now bored out to 259.2 cid, was standard on the 1955 Studebaker President Speedster. The midyear Speedsters shared the heavy, more chrome-laden "fish-lip" front-end styling adopted for '55 across the line.The 1955 Studebaker speedster and the 1956 Golden Hawk had a similar body sturucture
with minor differences in the body like the bonnet and grill but the trunk(boot) shape is different.Apart from this the golden hawk came with more trims on it and had the Big 352 cu.in engine.Have attached some pictures below.

The car shown above is i think a Champion Regal(or regal delux) or a Commander regal(regal delux).I am attaching a 1953 body style identification sheet below which may help us to furthur identify this car.
Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-1955studebakerpresidentspeedster1.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-dscn3352.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-studebaker1953.jpg  

Old 9th October 2009, 22:45   #114

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Its great to hear that it was finally resurrected.

Indrojit thanks for posting the pics of the car. This is one of my cars whose pics i dont have. Can i please request you to also post/email me more pics of the car when it was Black and Gold? It will be a huge favour. Thanks!!

Nostalgia Nostalgia!!!

Gogi ji as per what i had promised you i found a few pictures and i have scanned them and i am uploading them here please do comment on it.If the engine and interiors were the same when you got the car or was it changed before or by you.Would love to hear from you about this car.I am uploading a picture of when the car came to us parked in a garage in our house before restoration.
Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-untitled1.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-untitled2.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-untitled3.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-untitled4.jpg  

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-untitled5.jpg  

Old 10th October 2009, 01:55   #115

Mods-Please merge this thread with the other Studebaker and nash cars in india thread to keep all the records in place.
Old 10th October 2009, 08:05   #116

Mods note: Thread merged.
Old 10th October 2009, 14:34   #117

Found this old picture of my Golden Hawk while i was hunting for the president pictures this is how it looked when it had come.
Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-untitled6.jpg  

Old 10th November 2009, 14:48   #118

Saw this Studebaker (Commander?) in the parking lot at City Center a few days back. Sorry for the crappy phone cam pix.

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-img00003200911051646.jpg

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-img00004200911051646.jpg

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-img00006200911051647.jpg

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-img00007200911051647.jpg
Old 10th November 2009, 18:54   #119

Originally Posted by suren181 View Post
Saw this Studebaker (Commander?) in the parking lot at City Center a few days back. Sorry for the crappy phone cam pix.

Attachment 225301

Attachment 225302

Attachment 225303

Attachment 225304

Hi Suren

A very nice catch indeed.Well i don't think this is a commander.This car looks more like a 1948 Land cruiser.See the doors,the lights and the front end.I am attaching some pictures below of the Land Cruiser.One more thing and that is this car is a sedan(4door) and the commander and the champion both of this time were coupes(2 door).If you remember one more thing and that is when you look at the car infront on the right side next to the Studebaker badge did you see land cruiser written or commander?

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-1948studebakerlandcruiser62.jpg

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-1948studebakerlandcruiser66.jpg

Studebaker and Nash Cars in India-1948studebakerlandcruiser64.jpg

Last edited by IndrojitSircar : 10th November 2009 at 18:56.
Old 10th November 2009, 18:57   #120

I got this video from the studebaker club today and it shows a 1956 Golden Hawk from pre restoration till full restoration.Have a look guys its great.