Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 27th July 2017, 14:22   #256

Re: What was your car's actual resale?

Had booked an Alto, but when I heard a relative selling his santro, cancelled the Alto booking.
1. Car (with version): Santro 1999 model (without PS) bought in 2005 from a relative
2. Approx Kms run while selling: 72k (35k when bought)
3. Car's overall condition as per you: Poor. Excellent engine, lots of dings and scratches, water dripping from the roof during rains.
4. No. of Owners while selling: 4 (First car )
5. City of Selling: Mumbai
6. Sell Price: Rs. 65,000 (bought for 125k)
7. Sold to Individual. Sold in 2008
Was my first car, bought from a close relative and condition was good. Only problem, I did not check anything. Fact that my uncle himself was taken for a ride and he never realized. Lot of work was done on the car before he bought and he did not know. During my usage, lot of POP or lambi started coming off and I realized the extent of work that was done on its exteriors.
But the car that it was, it never gave any problems as such. Quite a workhorse.

1. Car (with version): Palio GTX 2002 (bought in 2008)
2. Approx Kms run while selling: 49k (15k when bought)
3. Car's overall condition as per you: Good. Excellent engine, one dent on the bonnet, hardly any scratches, chiller of an AC
4. No. of Owners while selling: 2
5. City of Selling: Pune
6. Sell Price: Rs. 55,000 (bought for 160k)
7. Sold to Individual. Sold in Dec 2016
Was difficult to sell it but had to let it go due to its age.

Above two posts also show how beneficial it is to buy used cars. Unfortunately my family had only one condition this time. Whatever you buy, buy new. So I ended up buying a new i20 in Jan 2017.

Last edited by vinit.merchant : 27th July 2017 at 14:47.
vinit.merchant is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th January 2019, 14:50   #257

Sold my 2012 Beat LT Diesel, Biege color in October 2018 for 2.1 lakhs.
Odo was at 57000 kms during sale. Genuine reading. Like the name suggested it was used mainly as a Beater car for groceries, short runs etc with other cars doing long distance runs. Chev shutting operations in India had impacted the resale value hugely.
Old 9th January 2019, 11:17   #258

My first "own" car sold after 14 years of usage.

1. Car (with version): Santro Zip Drive(2003)
2. Kms run while selling: 100000.
3. Car's overall condition: Mechanically excellent,
4. No. of Owners while selling: 1
5. City of Selling: Vadodara
6. Sale Price: Rs. 90000
7. Sold to dealer or third party: Third party broker.
8. Reason for selling: Replaced it with MS Brezza.
SJM1214 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th November 2019, 21:51   #259

Bought an I 20 top spec Asta Manual for my parents in 2014 Jan.
Paid Rs 7.5 lacs on road in Madras at the time.
Sold it this year in 2019 June. It had 25000 kms on the odo at the time of selling.
Received Rs 4.25 lacs for it from T S Mahalingam and Sons - prominent car dealers in Madras.
shankar.balan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th November 2019, 19:19   #260

What was your car's actual resale?

Bought my Yeti Elegance 4x4 in Nov/ Dec 2011.
Paid almost 20 lacs - approx 19.75/- lacs On Road Bangalore.
Now selling it off tomorrow or so, directly to an end-user/ buyer for Rs 6.25 Lacs after almost exactly 8 years of good service, plenty of enjoyment, having spent lots of money to look after it perfectly and having driven approx 47700kms in it.
Buyer has paid me an advance. Im in the thick of the paperwork now and expect to complete the transaction tomorrow and receive the remainder.
All the Registration Transfer costs, agent costs and fresh insurance costs are all to the account of the buyer though I am helping him through the whole process to ensure it gets done efficiently, speedily, professionally and on time.

Last edited by shankar.balan : 26th November 2019 at 19:23.
shankar.balan is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 26th November 2019, 19:27   #261

Car: Tata Nano 2010 (top end that time, without PS or music system)
ODO 48k kms
Car's overall condition mechanically perfect with new tyres run for 10-12k kms. Body had a few dings here n there.
First Owner
Sell Price 40k ₹
Sold to third party
Sold in Mahad (150kms from Mumbai, on NH 66

Looking to sell our petrol Tata Indigo too.
Will be replacing both of them soon with a spacious 5/6/7 seater depending on parents choice.
Torq is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th November 2019, 09:00   #262

1. Car: Fiat Palio MJD 2008
2. Kms run while selling: 254000
3. Car's overall condition: Mechanically and cosmetically excellent (Paint. No dents)
4. No. of owners while selling: One
5. City: Hyderabad
6. Sale price: Rs. 80000
7. Sold to dealer
8. Reason for selling: In exchange for a Honda WRV
Old 28th November 2019, 09:14   #263

Maruti 800- my first car. Bought in 2006 for INR 2.2 lakhs and sold in 2012 for INR 1.15 lakhs.

Maruti Swift petrol- my second car. Bought in 2012 for INR 5.75 lakhs, and spent lots of money of high quality alloys, tires and an expensive audio setup. Sold in 2019 for INR 3.55 lakhs in exchange for my current Honda City.

Both cars were maintained in mint condition, with a lot of love and affection, needless to say.

That is the magic of Maruti in the Indian market. If the car is decently maintained, you are likely to get a solid resale value for it even after a relatively long ownership period. Fun fact- both were sold to dealerships in exchange offer transactions. If I had made the effort of negotiating for a private buyer, the prices would in all probability have been substantially higher.

Last edited by arindambasu13 : 28th November 2019 at 09:15.
arindambasu13 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 28th November 2019, 10:10   #264

2 Cars,

1. Car (with version) - 2000 Maruti 800 (non-ac)
2. Approx Kms run while selling ~ 86xxx
3. Car's overall condition as per you - excellent
4. No. of Owners while selling - first
5. City of Selling - vadodara
6. Sell Price - exact same amount as kms run
7. Sold to - Relative (2006)
8. Reason - upgrading to Esteem (my parent's dream car)since their dating days in 1994, they were dreaming long drives in Esteem and... .

1. Car (with version) - 2006 Maruti Esteem LXI with 53000 worth of aftermarket Sony multimedia system
2. Approx Kms run while selling - 1,98,xxx
3. Car's overall condition - Aesthetically - excellent, mechanically - ok
4. No. of Owners while selling - first
5. City of Selling - valsad
6. Sell Price - 50,000
7. Sold to - Broker (2018)
8. Reason - Team bhp (made us "conscious" about car safety)
JJay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th June 2020, 19:27   #265

1. Car: June 2010 Honda City S MT
2. Kms run while selling: 78k
3. Car's overall condition: Mechanically and cosmetically excellent (Paint. No dents)
4. No. of owners while selling: One
5. City: Gurgaon
6. Sale price: Rs. 2 lakhs
7. Sold to Cars24
8. Reason for selling: Wasn't being used as much

Could have easily got more for this car (given the condition and the model) but chose to go ahead with the price Cars24 offered because:
1) Covid has affected the market sentiment overall so individual sale might have take unpredictably longer
2) Didn't want to have multiple people come in and TD the car given Covid
3) Didn't want parents to deal with the whole process
4) Didn't want parents to deal with the RTO transfer process

Convenience far outweighed possible better resale value.
libranof1987 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st July 2020, 19:46   #266

1. Car: Aug 2012 Honda City V AT
2. Kms run while selling: 47k
3. Car's overall condition: Mechanically and cosmetically excellent (No dents)
4. No. of owners while selling: I was second owner
5. City: PUNE
6. Sale price: Rs. 4 lakhs
7. Sold to Individual
8. Reason for selling: I was in UK until March 2020 and was planning to return only in 2022. Did not want it to be just sitting in my parking space without being used.
daredevil is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th July 2020, 16:30   #267

1.Car: Toyota Innova 2014 GX, 7 seater, 1 air bag verison
2. Kms: 83K
3. Condition: Great condition, no dents, seat covers, premium tyres, audio system installed, 3M carpets, 3M windows UV protection
4. City: Bangalore
5. Sale PRice: 10 Lakhs
6. Sold to Individual
7. REason: Safety - Only driver Airbags. Lack of other safety mechanisms. Manual Gear. Felt sad to sell. Drive was butter smooth. Service was impeccable and cheap.