Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 27th September 2017, 01:36   #106

Re: Diesel automatic in 15-20 lakh budget

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Our Ertiga has done 63,000 in 3 years now. Will be changing the car soon and want a Diesel AT in 7 seater configuration.

I can only see Mahindra XUV 5OO W6 AT as a good VFM option. Worst case W8 AT if budget permits.
^^^ Wait for new Ertiga, like I am! I am sure the new version will have diesel AMT in top version, a la new dzire.
ani_meher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2017, 04:06   #107

Originally Posted by ani_meher View Post
^^^ Wait for new Ertiga, like I am! I am sure the new version will have diesel AMT in top version, a la new dzire.
Thank you for the heads-up. If this happens in reality, Ertiga it is again.

I hate the AMT but dad is okay with it.
Old 27th September 2017, 06:49   #108

Originally Posted by rajshenoy View Post
Primary reason - "Traffic in Bangalore"
Creta would have been a good choice, but if 4+2 is a requirement you definitely need a third row; cramping 4 at the rear is far from ideal. That leaves you with options 5, 6 or 7.
Old 27th September 2017, 10:35   #109

Thanks a lot guys. Looks like this is a common confusion for many and hopefully the thread will be useful for others as well.

Based on my current observations with Ertiga, it is either last row or boot space. So even XUV 500 will mostly be a 5 seater(rear bench is super wide though). This makes it bit awkward at times because technically we can carry more than 5 people on long journeys but not their luggage. This was the primary reason for me to explore pure 5 seater + boot.

I am the only driver at home. So even if i go with two cars, only one of them will be used at a time.

I am evaluating these 3 options now

1. Keep Ertiga, buy a cheap petrol AT or EV for city usage. Did consider E20plus but feels overpriced for what it has on offer. I drove KWID AMT and felt it was decent for city with 2+2 kids. As Ertiga is just 4 year old, i can enjoy for few more years easily.
2. Buy a compact car like Verna/Creta AT and use self drive 7 seaters for those occasional long drives
3. Go for 7 seater AT, XUV 500 seem to be popular choice - But worried about its footprint for city drives.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 24th October 2017 at 00:57.
Old 27th September 2017, 10:54   #110

Originally Posted by rajshenoy View Post
2. Buy a compact car like Verna/Creta AT and use self drive 7 seaters for those occasional long drives.
If footprint is an issue, I'll go with Option 2.

You can hire a 7 seater when you need one. Rest of the time you can use your car.
Old 17th October 2017, 22:07   #111

Re: Automatics between 10-17 Lakh OTR - A Comprehensive Guide

Time to sell my Indica and buy a new car

Requirements:
1. Petrol
2. Automatic
3. Mainly City driving in Mumbai
4. Ideally SUV
5. Should be able to seat 5 passengers

Options which were in my list
* New S-Cross:
-Exterior looks good, Interiors are fine and car is pretty loaded with features
-Found the front and rear seats to be comfortable
-Is a CUV with higher seating position
-Rear seats were comfortable for 3
-Dropped this option due to lack of Petrol with AT

* Jeep Compass
-Looks a stunner
-Proper SUV
-Driving dynamics are outstanding (Diesel TD)
-Front seats are comfortable
-Rear seat is a squeeze for 3
-For the price of Petrol AT, it does not offer 6 airbags and Cruise Control
-Not as feature rich for the price point. Apple Carplay does not show full screen on the 7" screen
-Find it expensive

* Honda City
-Looks are strictly okay
-Seats are super comfortable
-Rear seat is wide for 3 and has acres of legroom
-ZX variant is well loaded with features (Sunroof, paddle shifters, cruise control, 6 airbags, LED lights... everything one can ask for)
-Lack of Apple Carplay is a bummer
-Not a SUV so old parents will take some effort to get inside

* Ford Ecosport
-Looks great (Upcoming facelift)
-Front seats are super comfortable
-Top variant will be well loaded with features (Sunroof, paddle shifters, cruise control, 6 airbags... everything one can ask for)
-8" touchscreen with Apple Carplay support is great
-Proper compact SUV
-Rear seat is a squeeze for 3

Don't like Mahindra so XUV is out. Love the looks of Hexa but it is large for City driving. Duster interiors are too bland.

So current open options are Compass, City and Ecosport.

Super confused

Last edited by tsk1979 : 24th October 2017 at 00:58.
Old 17th October 2017, 22:35   #112

Originally Posted by damager21 View Post
Whenever choosing the car, always remember this requirement. That it should seat 5 as this is where many cars would fail.

You have rightly put Honda City in the list. At its price its one of the best petrol cars, that seats 5 comfortably.

If high ground clearance is your preference, you can check out the BR-V. It is not as wide as City, but has third row of seats which should solve your requirements. There are some good offers going on too. You can easily add Carplay compatible HU at a later stage with the money you save.

You can also consider Hyundai Elantra and Toyota Corolla. They are both significantly more expensive than Honda City, but are cheaper than Compass and might be in your budget.

If engine power is not a huge concern, you can also consider the Ciaz. The engine is weaker, and it is equipped with a 4 speed AT, but the car is very well priced and is loaded to the gills. You would save around 2 lakhs over the City too.
autorahul is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2017, 22:54   #113

Originally Posted by autorahul View Post
If high ground clearance is your preference, you can check out the BR-V. It is not as wide as City, but has third row of seats which should solve your requirements.

You can also consider Hyundai Elantra and Toyota Corolla.

If engine power is not a huge concern, you can also consider the Ciaz. The engine is weaker, and it is equipped with a 4 speed AT, but the car is very well priced and is loaded to the gills. You would save around 2 lakhs over the City too.
- Hyundai Elantra is an interesting choice. Will check it and take a TD.
- Honda BRV seats I found to be too thin and less comfy to my liking
- Not considering Ciaz for its engine + AT combo
Old 17th October 2017, 22:57   #114

- Hyundai Elantra is an interesting choice. Will check it and take a TD.
- Honda BRV seats I found to be too thin and less comfy to my liking
- Not considering Ciaz for its engine + AT combo
Creta 1.6L VTVT AT is available.

Should have been in your list IMHO. Am I missing something?
Old 18th October 2017, 07:38   #115

Creta 1.6L VTVT AT is available.

Should have been in your list IMHO. Am I missing something?
From what I have read on Team Bhp so far, Petrol AT of Creta is not as great as Diesel AT and it has a poor FE.

-Looks great
-Front seats great
-Feature loaded (Cruise control and 6 airbags missing)
-Rear seats felt a bit claustrophobic given the higher window line (I am 5.8")

Not taken a test drive yet
damager21 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2017, 09:31   #116

Worth considering the pre-owned market for CRV and Outlander into this mix?

Requirements:
1. Petrol
2. Automatic
3. Mainly City driving in Mumbai
4. Ideally SUV
AirWind is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2017, 11:03   #117

I can only see Mahindra XUV 5OO W6 AT as a good VFM option. Worst case W8 AT if budget permits.
If I remember correctly, the W8 AT has been replaced now by the W9 AT. Gets a sunroof, but not 6 airbags
Old 23rd October 2017, 21:48   #118

Currently, I'm using an i20 Elite diesel and we have an XUV w6 AT also in the family. Now, I'm planning to change my i20 by this December.

Usage: Extremely High
At least 4 hours daily covering 60-70 kms in Hyderabad city traffic and 700-800 km round trip highway journey once every 15 days. So overall, I drive close to 4000 kms per month easily.

Requirements:
Diesel Automatic for sure & lumbar support is a must (back pain)
Fuel efficiency is definitely appreciated
Fun-to-drive
Preferably Higher Ground Clearance (Thanks to Hyderabad roads)

Budget: 20-22 lacs max

Options considered:

Used Endeavour (18-22 lacs)
- Solid looks - Feels like Boss while driving this car. But, FE is a concern for my high usage, can be little cumbersome as a daily car. And, our other car is also an SUV.

Used BMW 3 series (18-22 lacs)
- One hell of a car to drive. But, low GC and high maintenance costs are concerns (considering I drive a lot on all kinds of roads)

Used BMW X1 facelift model (22-25 lacs)
- Fun to drive & more practical than 3 series. But, hard to get a used one in that price bracket. Also, due to higher running, maintenance cost is a concern

Used Octavia (15-18 lacs)
- Decent brand value with good fun-to-drive factor, very practical & spacious car. But, reliability of a used one is a concern.

Jeep Compass Diesel Auto (Will be launching in Jan 2018)
- Most practical & easy-to-maintain SUV of the lot. But, I didn't quite like the interior design and the LHD based dash layout.

Creta Automatic (17.5 lacs)
- Cheaper than Jeep & practical SUV. But, spending 17.5 lacs on that car? I feel it's not worth it.

New Verna or Rapid Automatic (15-16 lacs)
- Actually perfect cars for my high usage, barring the relatively low GC. Very easy to maintain, extremely fuel efficient. But, will lose the brand value of others.

I couldn't able to decide on this guys. Generally if I buy a used one, I'll replace it in a year. If I buy a new one, I'll keep it for at least 4-5 years. Now if I buy a new one, I'll keep it as a third car and go for a luxury car new/used car next year.

Please help me out in choosing the best one for my requirement.
Any other suggestions are also most welcome. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 24th October 2017 at 00:58.
madhav14 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2017, 00:45   #119

Originally Posted by madhav14 View Post
Now, I'm planning to change my i20 by this December.
I think you should replace small car with a small car, thereby retaining practicality and ease of use in the city. The smaller cars also give much better financial benefit for diesel. Large Diesel SUVs are not the most frugal bunch.

Unfortunately with diesel compact SUVs the only option is TUV300, and its gearbox is not the smoothest of the lot. You can still check it out though as it is priced and packaged quite well.

You could also look at Volkswagen Ameo, if the rear seat space is not too important. It has same engine and transmission as the Skoda Rapid which you are considering in a much cheaper package. You should get some significant discounts.

Third option would be Hyundai Creta. Yes, you may not be convinced about shelling 17 lakhs on that car, but the difference to Verna will come back to you, both in terms of tackling potholes and in resale value.
autorahul is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2017, 13:00   #120

I would suggest to have a look at used Jetta MK6 2.0 Tdi. It is a fairly reliable car & will also be a lot cheaper than used Octavia.

2.0 Tdi is fun to drive as well as fuel efficient. It also provides best in the class handling.
bhavik.1991 is offline   (1) Thanks