Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 22nd April 2019, 19:03   #91

Re: What's the coolest car one can buy for Rs 100,000?

From the OP it is obvious what is the objective of buying the car which is to save the parking spot from being encroached upon by someone else.

I am assuming that the friend who wants to buy the car is not a car enthusiast but wants a decent car which is reliable so that it is in working condition and can be safely parked to save the parking space.

In this case my advice is to stay away from cars which are old. We are a forum of car enthusiasts and hence many members have suggested some lovely neo classic cars which we would like to own and maintain if we had a budget of 1 lac for a car.

I think it is best to buy the most recent car which one can buy in that amount so that it is relatively new and hence has a lower risk of breakdowns due to parts failing.

I second the suggestion of a used Tata Nano. Don’t look beyond that. Give priority to just one thing.
Most recent car in a working condition for a sum of 1 lac which will not fail even if it is not used for extended periods. Any old car is bound to give problems if not used regularly.
RajBajwa is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2019, 11:44   #92

Oh, love this thread. My vote would go for the legendary Zen. That perfect shape, that driving feel. Just unmatched.

What's the coolest car one can buy for Rs 100,000?-mhv_maruti_zen_01.jpg
What's the coolest car one can buy for Rs 100,000?-mhv_maruti_zen_02.jpg

Besides that I would also vote for the car I grew up dreaming of (yes I have very low standards for dreaming), the first car I drove (at a driving school, where else?) and also the first car I owned.

What's the coolest car one can buy for Rs 100,000?-headon.jpg

Last edited by rajushank84 : 23rd April 2019 at 11:47.
rajushank84 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2019, 15:38   #93

I'd suggest a Maruti Esteem - If possible in white. I've seen some on the road and it has aged very well.

Should be easy to maintain as well; No problems with spare parts - It's a Maruti afterall !
What's the coolest car one can buy for Rs 100,000?-esteem.jpg  

vaasscit is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th April 2019, 19:56   #94

Find anything made by Sipani. Most of the people will never have heard, let alone seen this car. There is some information about Sipani on another thread.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...tomobiles.html (Remembering Sipani Automobiles!)
BowMan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th April 2019, 20:01   #95

@BowMan ooh the Dolphin! That's a good one- my father had one of these and he used to borrow a friend's Dolphin frequently before that. It was a lot of fun, he used to chuck it around like a gokart. Apparently it's a fiber glass body so ridiculously lightweight. It was also a coupe, which felt fancy in those days. Between this car and my uncle's Yezdi, there were a lot of fun moments in my early childhood.

Unfortunately it ended up crashed by one of his employees who was a new driver. I guess they chucked it around too hard without the skills.
I love that car, it's one of the cars I'd like to get my hands on sometime.
rajushank84 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th May 2019, 15:31   #96

I probably missed reading on the thread, or everyone forgot to mention. I would certainly search for a Palio 1.6 / S10 in that budget!

Personally speaking, two cars from that era that always pulls my heartstrings are -

1. Classic Zen
2. Palio S10

Compact. Fun to drive. In 1L budget. Good to look at!
Gagzie is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th June 2019, 14:12   #97

Opting for Fiats, Palio S10s, Carbons/Steels, Vtecs won't be a fair deal. They're collectibles now and should be bought only to be loved and not to be kept idle to block a parking spot. Also, good ones are seriously overpriced. Type 1 City is a safe bet but it doesn't look very exclusive as such. Infact, these 3 will be the best cars to buy looking at the maintenance costs, reliability, and size which can give a reasonable presence on the road.. oops, I mean parking spot. Also, if needed, these cars can be happily driven around without worrying a lot about rarity or value.

These cars are sort of rare today, and also cheap to buy.

1. Accent Viva
What's the coolest car one can buy for Rs 100,000?-images-3.jpeg

2. Ford Ikon 1.6
What's the coolest car one can buy for Rs 100,000?-images-1.jpeg

3. Opel Astra 1.6/Club
What's the coolest car one can buy for Rs 100,000?-images-4.jpeg

All these examples are available under a lakh
300 KMPH is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th June 2019, 23:58   #98

Will the car have to be street legal? Will a hatch suffice or need a sedan type?

I would suggest aiming for a Maruti that's about 14 years old, owners would be eager to let it go so they don't have to bother about fitness tests. Get something for about 50k, spend another 25k on making it work, fitness, insurance etc and park it.

No electronics, preferably, so can be kept there for days unattended.
honeybee is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd August 2019, 19:16   #99

I don't know if it has been mentioned before, but I would go for the Getz 1.5. It was one properly fast car when it was launched. Some examples are over 1 lakh, but I've seen some that are between 95k-1.1 lakhs.

And it's a Hyundai, so it'll probably run for a very long time before showing any signs of problems, and servicing also won't be a pain.

Last edited by SaiSW : 3rd August 2019 at 19:19.
SaiSW is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th November 2019, 10:16   #100

Hunt hard enough and you can even get an early Skoda Octy or a Ford Mondeo at that price.
Those were seriously expensive cars when they were in production/ on sale in India.
Both were luxurious and were great performers too.
And solid cars which means they ought to have aged well.
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2020, 15:49   #101

Someone in the family might need to buy a car to hold a parking spot. Wants to spend max of 1 lakh rupees.
I just stumbled upon this thread. Now after 100 posts and many suggestions, I'm curious to know which car did your family member eventually end up buying

Last edited by Bibendum90949 : 10th October 2020 at 16:01.
Bibendum90949 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2020, 21:50   #102

There are few used Honda civics going for around a lakh.It will definately look good in the parking space and will also put up a smile when driven on the streets.
Few other example you can consider are 1st Gen Hyundai Santro,Hyundai i10 which are easier to maintain and lighter on the wallet too.