Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 16th March 2021, 17:33   #46

Re: A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore

Go for the Polo. I was in the same situation when I was shopping for a car for my wife, and finally picked the polo. And I have never regretted it. My car is a GT, and believe me ,it is worth stretching the budget for it. But manual is also a great choice.
eyeman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th March 2021, 17:55   #47

My car buying dilemma!

Hello everyone, instead of introducing myself (you can check my introduction here if you're really interested https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/intro...m-bhpians.html (Hello Team-BHPians!)) I will come straight to the point to tell that I am looking to buy a new car for my family of 4 adults and a kid.

I currently own a Maruti Suzuki Esteem 2006 model which I won't replace but keep as a local driving car.
A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore-img20201129wa0004_1616062570570.jpg

Since it's 15 years old now, I want a reliable, safe, comfortable and economical car for my family. Most of my driving runs would be on highways for monthly trips with family and a few daily shorts runs in an around town. On average my per day running would be 35-40 kms. I live in Firozabad a town near Agra, the roads around here are mostly highways and expressways except for a few state roads which are bad(read worst) and I have to travel at least once a month to my wife's hometown to visit her family.

Also the three lanes connecting my house all have raised culverts so a decent ground clearance is nessecary. So, I need a car that drives really good, handles well, comfortably sits 4 adults with a kid, is built well, has nice comfy suspension ride, has good bootspace, has decent ground clearance and is a well built safe car(not a coffin on four wheels).

Also, whatever we'll be buying we'll be keeping for long time, atleast 10 years.

So I started my search by first deciding the budget which is < Rs 9.99 lakh ex showroom(obviously because of the tax rule) or < Rs 11 lakh on road.
Then I started going through the segments which are available in my range, Hatchbacks, Compact Sedans(<4m and a few > 4m), Compact SUVs(<4m and a few > 4m) and a few MUVs.

Now according to my requirements following cars out of all segments are available for me:-

Hatchbacks:-
1. Altroz
2. I20
3. Baleno
4. Jazz
5. Figo
6. I10 nios
7. Swift
8. Polo

C-Sedans:-
1. Skoda Rapid Rider
2. Ciaz
3. Verna
4. Honda City 4 gen
5. Tigor
6. Aura
7. Amaze
8. Dzire
9. Aspire
10. Yaris
11. Vento Turbo Edition

C-Suvs:-
1. Ecosport
2. Nexon
3. XUV 300
4. Creta base petrol
5. Brezza
6. Urban Cruiser
7. Venue
8. Sonet
9. Seltos Base
10. Kiger
11. Magnite

MUVs:-
1. Triber
2. Ertiga
3. Bolero

Note:- I haven't included < 5 lakh cars and the KUV disaster from Mahindra and maybe some cars I don't at all like.

So I began testing cars from dealers and even my friends who own a few of these and came to a conclusion selecting best out of all categories. These conclusions are made by me according to my personal preference and also approved by my family according to their comfort and convenience.

Here are the results, I have posted photos of only those cars that I have shortlisted:-

Hatchbacks:-
1. Altroz- best among the hatchbacks for comfort, ride quality, built, safety and decent economy just the ground clearance is a little issue
A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore-img_20210212_154135.jpg

2. I20- bit too pricey and Tata offers better vfm than this

3. Baleno- peppy, economical but build and safety issues

4. Jazz- great car but too overpriced

5. Figo/freestyle- good car but too dated and looks old now even bought new

6. I10- nios didn't give that good feeling for the price also small boot and interior space

7. Swift- peppy to drive, economical but again safety and build issues also small boot for my family

8. Polo- too small and dated

C-Sedans:-
1. Skoda Rapid Rider- Best vfm of all cars mentioned here, Great to drive, decent economy, comfortable for family with ample space in boot, dated but not outdated, feels premium but I have heard horror stories about Skoda's after sales behaviour so even when I feel this is the ONE, I am scared of going ahead.
A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore-images-2.jpeg

2. Ciaz Delta- Good to drive comfy suspension with lots of space
A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore-images-3.jpeg

3. Verna- Not that premium feel and space for the price

4. Honda City 4 gen- Dated and ground clearance and soft suspension made it hit every culvert near my house, also we have one already in family

5. Tigor- good Vfm car but I feel something is still less when I drive this

6. Aura- Good vfm with cng option but is small for my family and they didn't like the comfort either

7. Amaze- good vfm car but again rejected by family for being small

8. Dzire- feels like a cabby while driving one, family didn't even bothered checking it out as they don't want me to buy a cab

9. Aspire- great car vfm but same as Figo dated and looks old even bought new

10. Yaris- Why is this even an option this car has least to offer for the price only good thing is a Toyota badge

11. Vento Turbo Edition- nearest VW dealer/service center is 200km away atleast so doesn't fits my criteria

C-Suvs:-
1. Ecosport Titanium Diesel- Great to drive, feels good to be in one, ageless design but the diesel is the more economical option to buy also family feels it is cramped in rear
A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore-images-4.jpeg

2. Nexon xm sdiesel- good ride quality, good handling but long waiting period here in my city 4 months
A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore-images-5.jpeg

3. XUV 300 W6(o) diesel- Great to drive, comfy for rear passengers, family loved it, most recommended by friends, but Mahindra sales and service here is really bad, I'll write about it later in this thread
A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore-images-6.jpeg

4. Creta base- Great car with everything but 10 months waiting period here is not making me go for it

5. Brezza- good car but feels dated now

6. Urban Cruiser- same as brezza with a few bucks more

7. Venue- Felt likea swollen I20, ride is too stiff

8. Sonet- 5 months waiting period is a no from me

9. Seltos- Base again waiting period problem

10. Kiger- built quality issues even with demo model few part fel like they'll fall apart in few days after buying also reliability issues and aftersales of Renault

11. Magnite- same as Kiger and also I want a car in 2021 not 2022 so one year waiting is a big no from me

MUVs:-
1. Triber- Build quality not satisfactory also placing 7 seats made it smaller even for 5

2. Ertiga- Good vfm and cng available but cabby feel while driving
A car for my cousin which ticks most boxes | Budget 8.5 lakhs OTR Bangalore-images-7.jpeg

3. Bolero- No, No a big No for a 2 decade old slow bouncing box shaped car

So the shortlisted cars of all are:-

1. Tata Altroz XZ Petrol 8.8 lac on road
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20210212_154135.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	5.00 MB
ID:	2134198

2. Skoda Rapid Rider Petrol 8.9 lac on road

Name:	images 2.jpeg
Views:	2073
Size:	20.8 KB
ID:	2134228

3. Maruti Suzuki Ciaz Delta Petrol 10.1 lac on road

Name:	images 3.jpeg
Views:	2064
Size:	26.3 KB
ID:	2134235

3. Ford Ecosport Titanium Diesel 11.3 lac on road

Name:	images 4.jpeg
Views:	2044
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	2134251

4. Tata Nexon XMs Petrol & Diesel 9.75 lac and 11.25 lac on road

Name:	images 5.jpeg
Views:	2048
Size:	70.3 KB
ID:	2134252

5. Mahindra XUV300 W6(o) Diesel 11.4 lac on road

Name:	images 6.jpeg
Views:	2040
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	2134258

6. Ertiga VXI CNG 10.32 lac on road ONLY HERE FOR VFM REASON AND FAMILY COMFORT

Name:	images 7.jpeg
Views:	2036
Size:	26.7 KB
ID:	2134264

I need help for making me take decision out of these. Also, if anyone thinks of a better option for me then please let me know.

I am in a state of dilemma choosing a good car for me as well as my family. Need suggestions.

P.S: will post my experience of different company dealers and my experience while during this search.

Last edited by Aditya : 21st March 2021 at 15:34. Reason: Excess bold tags removed
ImDivyy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 18th March 2021, 19:26   #48

Re: My car buying dilemma!

Since its quite an exhaustive list, good work, I will just add a couple more to check out :

- S-Cross : seems perfect for your requirements, might be liked by your family but is a bit dated. Have read about an update but no ETA.

- Kushaq : looks promising, if you are keen on Rapid so this is worth the wait and a TD when available.

A good problem to have IMHO

PS : Your requirements point to the Crossover/SUV category since the GC factor seems important as your trips are with full load so the extra GC will come in handy.

Last edited by shancz : 18th March 2021 at 19:44. Reason: formatting
shancz is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2021, 19:54   #49

Not aware of any coffin on wheels for sale but do consider ownership period of 10 years will rule out many many cars for you, some manufacturers as well as models we have now may not even exist due to their low sales. Those vehicles that are rejected by most customers today will become Junk at that point.

Stick to tried and tested brands if you are looking at a peaceful 10 year ownership.
Kosfactor is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 18th March 2021, 20:22   #50

As mentioned SCross, Kicks(I love its CVT as the best value for money) base version you may try. They are not fancy looking but def5worth considering.
Ramchi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th March 2021, 21:11   #51
AZT

The Vento dealer is far away but don't let that be a deal breaker. You may or may not like it but definitely check it out, if it turns out the better car then go for it.
AZT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th March 2021, 21:50   #52

Originally Posted by AZT View Post
The Vento dealer is far away but don't let that be a deal breaker. You may or may not like it but definitely check it out, if it turns out the better car then go for it.
Well your point is valid but I have also seen and tested Skoda Rapid which is as far as I know a differently styled VW Vento. So assuming both cars feel and drive the same I opted not to travel all the way to Noida or Lucknow just to test drive the car. For all the other cars I had been given test drive at my doorstep and few cars were owned by friends.
Old 18th March 2021, 21:54   #53

I strongly urge you to go for Global NCAP rated 5 star cars. Never buy those coffins on wheels (you know what those cars are ). I don't want to mention it otherwise, someone will drag the thread in a different way.

Please see below thread. Safety is more important:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/road-...ml#post5024900 (India tops the world with 11% of global road accident deaths)

"Peace of mind thingy" is an over exaggerated phrase in our country if I am honest. That phrase gives a shiver to new car buyers. I am one of those succumbed to that and bought a Tin-can, regretting ever since. When I bought my car, G-NCAP 5 star cars were not there. Now you have a chance, please don't miss it.

Some people will create an image like other brand cars always stay in the company garage for repairs. Don't believe them.

Last edited by amvj : 18th March 2021 at 22:00.
amvj is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2021, 22:36   #54

Sorry If I missed it, but is there any orientation towards Petrol/Diesel & Manual/Auto transmission ?

Originally Posted by ImDivyy View Post
the roads around here are mostly highways and expressways except for a few state roads which are bad(read worst) and I have to travel at least once a month to my wife's hometown to visit her family.

Also the three lanes connecting my house all have raised culverts so a decent ground clearance is nessecary. So, I need a car that drives really good, handles well, comfortably sits 4 adults with a kid, is built well, has nice comfy suspension ride, has good bootspace, has decent ground clearance and is a well built safe car(not a coffin on four wheels).
Reading about the roads made me rule out the sedans and hatchbacks. If it is as bad you say, the frequent trips will be better of in a SUV form factor.

One of my initial suggestions would be the XUV 300, as that is wide (seat 3 in comfort) and can take on bad roads but then you said this, which rules out Mahindra.
3. XUV 300 W6(o) diesel- Great to drive, comfy for rear passengers, family loved it, most recommended by friends, but Mahindra sales and service here is really bad, I'll write about it later in this thread
Also, whatever we'll be buying we'll be keeping for long time, atleast 10 years
I guess the cars like the S-Cross, Ertiga & the Brezza will be apt. All three are economical and will serve you fine with support well into 10 years. The Brezza though might look outdated, is a car that will last you well. It also has a good safety rating if I am not wrong. The remaining good contenders will be the EcoSport and the Nexon. The EcoSport still looks fresh and is a good reliable vehicle but then your family felt the car to be crammed. I would go for the Brezza reading your requirements.

Last edited by TrackDay : 18th March 2021 at 22:39.
TrackDay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st March 2021, 20:58   #55

I just got this thread in "hot threads". But seems it has boiled down couple of weeks back. Probably I'm too late to the party and the decision is already made.

However - I'll make a suggestion anyway. And an odd one at that. If I was shopping with this budget - I'd pick the Tigor top trim. Or increase the budget and go for the Altroz iTurbo higher trim.

TIGOR has a very good ground clearance, is sufficiently chuckable in city, has a deceptively large boot space & has good road manners. Its quite low on maintenance (Have a total of 5 Tiagos + Tigors in my close family/friend circle). Your relative will be able to squeeze good discounts on it being a low mover.

On a slightly tangent thread - Tigor has conventionally shaped fog lights along with projector head lamps. There are literally INFINITE options for lighting upgrade with this car even within tight budgets. This is not even REMOTELY possible with the Altroz trims that your cousin will be able to get.
Reinhard is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st April 2021, 08:00   #56

I would ask your cousin to stick with the Polo and the Amaze. Off your list, these two are the only tried and tested products. The Polo maybe a 11 year old design, but has aged well and looks like it will continue to do so till the end of time! However, like many others have pointed out, the Amaze is a superior package in a sedan form and surely has more space than the Polo.
I would have asked you to consider the Altroz, as its turbo versions are vastly superior to other cars in this list, but the Altroz is still a nascent launch. I would choose the Amaze and happily drive it home!
Miel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th April 2021, 17:11   #57

Best car under 6 Lacs for my husband (No Hatchbacks)

Hello Everyone,

Trust you and your family are safe and sound.

My husband is finally due for an upgrade from his 2005 Opel Corsa. Though the car still runs fine, and has a sweet 1.4 Litre petrol mill and neither has it had any major repair bills, yet it's crossed the 15 year mark and he needs a new set of wheels.

A little background first :

He is a sedate driver and dislikes driving unless it's absolutely necessary, he rather relies on cabs or public transport or of course me and my Thar.
He will never modify a single part of the vehicle, and what it comes from the factory is how it will remain for the remainder of its life.

Keeping that in mind we have the following requirements :

1. Strictly under 6 Lacs On road.
2. Has to be petrol (We live in the NCR)
3. Strictly no hatchbacks, my husband feels a hatchback won't be an upgrade as he is coming from a Sedan.
4. Easy drivability in the city, with a light clutch and power steering.
5. Has to have a decent sized boot.
6. Only new not second hand.
7. Fancy gizmos aren't needed, neither are they wanted, even manual window winders will be fine.
8. No Renault Cars (His Mom had a horrid experience with her Captur, so any Renault car in our household is a big no no) else the Triber and Kiger would have made an appearance below.

We have seen the following cars so far :

1. Nissan Magnite (XE) : This seems like the most logical choice in my opinion, it even has all 4 power windows as well as a great stance. Probably the best that this budget can buy. My husband on the other hand found the clutch heavy and gear shifts too notchy. Also it lacks even a basic stereo. Still if it were me, this would be my pick.

2. Tata Tigor (XE) : My husband loved the design of this car, and preferred the clutch gear combo to that of the Magnite, it also lacks a stereo, but he loved the overall silhouette of the car. The dealership experience was another concern altogether but will not digress.

Unfortunately, these are only two cars in India right now that fit our strange set of requirements.
My heart says Magnite, as will most of the forum members I believe. But looking forward for your advice on this.

Kaur

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 4th April 2021 at 19:29. Reason: Rigor > Tigor
KaurDiCar is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 4th April 2021, 19:09   #58

Re: Best car under 6 Lacs for my husband (No Hatchbacks)

With such a narrow shortlist, the decision is best made between the both of you, it is apparent that from a passenger point of view, the Nissan has better height for easier ingress/egress and overall visibility and rightly so, that has become your choice and from a driver point of view with smoother clutch/gearshift and better drivability the Tigor is ahead and has become the choice of your husband.

Since both cars won't be faulted for safety (according to regional crash tests), again nothing substantial can be leveraged and tilted towards a particular car by forum members.

With zero experience of either cars, I'd guess that the Tigor will hold up better over the long run in terms of interior trim. Service will be on par but again I feel the Tata might be on the safer side.

I'd say count all opinions but in the end, just try to arrive at a mutual decision between the two. Accessories like stereo, seat covers, parking sensors, camera etc can always be added on at any date but the core of the automobile and the engine smoothness/drivability can never be tampered with so do factor that in as the decision is being made.
dark.knight is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th April 2021, 19:15   #59

I respect your decision on top limit of 6 lakhs. But, as you rightly pointed out, the choices of petrol sedans which suits all your requirements are very limited.

Hence, I suggest to look for slight increase in the budget (through auto loans and EMI Options) and lot of good cars come under the range.

My suggestion would be to go with Toyota or Honda cars which will easily last longer than your expectations instead of going for Nissan and Tatas

You can look at honda Amaze which has its price range near to your expectations. You may need to stretch a bit by going for loan from a good bank.

Avoid all gizmos and accessories. You can always get them from outside market at much lower cost. Go for a variant that you need and not what you want.

All the best for your new purchase.

Last edited by gkveda : 4th April 2021 at 19:18.
gkveda is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th April 2021, 19:20   #60

Originally Posted by KaurDiCar View Post
Unfortunately, these are only two cars in India right now that fit our strange set of requirements.
My heart says Magnite, as will most of the forum members I believe. But looking forward for your advice on this.
There really isn't any other car that fits your criteria(and I believe this void should be exploited by some manufacturer).

I have never driven a Magnite, but I have a Tiago and Tigor in my family. Both cars have a good steering feedback, with good gear and clutch combo for their segment. The boot space in Tigor is pretty good, and it's a comfortable 4 seater. Tata's dealer network is also pretty wide compared to Nissan (inconclusive on the service quality). I haven't gone into too much detail about the features, but atleast on the mechanical and practicality front, I feel Tigor to be the better choice for the NA engines. (It would have been in favor of Magnite, if you were comparing the top end versions of both cars)