Team-BHP - Should I sell my Fiat Punto after 10 years & 1.5 lakh km?

-   What Car? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-car/)
-   -   Should I sell my Fiat Punto after 10 years & 1.5 lakh km? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-car/234334-should-i-sell-my-fiat-punto-after-10-years-1-5-lakh-km-3.html)

Same boat here!

I bought my GP Emotion 1.2 in 2011 at 4.77L OTR as my first car and still have it.
Yes it feels underpowered not due to 1.2L motor but due to its heavy chassis.
That chassis is class apart, sorted, dynamic, potent, stable, thick and strong and what not.
Rest assured you'll find it hard to get one car closer to this masterpiece.

I had my niggles too with it but which car doesn't have it.

I would take you little off topic but please read my experience below where this car saved me once.

You might be aware that this car has a solid engine shield below the engine so as to stop projectiles (stones) from damaging the engine. On my 8 months old car back then, this engine shield served me a different purpose. I was cruising solo at 80-90 in Delhi at night when I was negotiating an overtake when I heard a loud bang and the car started shaking, wobbling vigorously. I was in a situation where I couldn't slow down but had to complete the overtake so the reflexes pushed the pedal and I did overtake and found the convenient place to stop. I was sure that I blew up a tire. I stepped out only to find that all the tire were intact, checked the shockers, were intact too. Couldn't make out what happened.

Realizing that the journey wouldn't be possible, I took a U-turn back to my home, all terrified and disappointed. The car was still wobbling at the speeds of 20-30 and then I suddenly realized that I paid for RSA as well and should call them. The guy at the other side took an hour to come near Sahara Mall, Gurgaon and started looking for the cause of wobbling and was clueless for a long time. The engine would start and stop well, the car would move forward and reverse well but would wobble despite the shocker mounts and tires well in place.
Then he lay down and looked under the engine only to realize that the engine shield was bent and was just 2 inches above the ground. Immediately he stood up and checked the engine mounting only to find that the engine mounting was broken and the engine fell down on the shield. This thick shield was supporting the whole weight of the engine all through this!

Should I sell my Fiat Punto after 10 years & 1.5 lakh km?-mounting.jpg
Should I sell my Fiat Punto after 10 years & 1.5 lakh km?-nuts.jpg

If it wasn't for this shield, the engine at those speeds could have broken loose and the outcome would have definitely been catastrophic. That day I realized the dual importance of an engine guard/shield.

Have thought about this many times to post about this incident here and here I think this would be very suitable in this thread.
Hope this changes your mind to part away from this machine.

If not, look again at it.

Should I sell my Fiat Punto after 10 years & 1.5 lakh km?-punto.jpg

Originally Posted by KPR (Post 5020847)
There's something called life in these fiat cars. If you do a car hunt now in market you will understand what Fiat gave us and what others give us.

Option 1: Instead of spending close to 10 lakh on a new car, spend over a lakh to bring Punto back to glory. Imagining every year a car depreciates by a lakh, so spending one lakh isn't a big issue for this petrol punto.

I second you on this one! My petrol Punto got restored luckily in 30K and not a lakh. Touch wood, nothing major was done and now it purr like a kitten.

Also, if its your first car, which ever it is, do not part away without a restoration!

Originally Posted by stadimet (Post 5019827)
Hai all,
I want to have your idea on what should I do with my Fiat Punto Emotion 1178 CC, Petrol car which has so far clocked 1.46 Lakh km on Indian roads and which is nearing 10 Years of service life.

I'm still holding on to my Jan 2010 Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 Emotion Pack. Mine is no where close to yours when it comes to KM's clocked but has undergone timely servicing/parts replacement over the years.

I got fairly large parking which can comfortably accommodate 2 SUV's and a compact hatchback so I'll be holding on to mine as long as I can :)

...What is your opinion on the maintenance aspects of cars which are more than 10 years old.

I have voted as "keep". You can keep the car for a couple of years more at the max. It has nothing to do with the high mileage. The ageing factor and consequently lowering of reliability will kick in with time and this applies to low mileage cars too.

Even with regular and good maintenance, its better to sell it off at the 12 year mark from the reliability and safety perspective, especially if you take the car regularly on highway drives.

If your intention is to use just for regular local commuting within city limits where the speeds are much lower and help can be expected in case of break downs, its ok to extend it to as long as you are able to maintain it. Keep in mind that maintenance costs usually increases significantly after the 9 year mark from my experience.

I can relate to your query quite well since I too own a 11 year old Punto (MJD Emotion pack) and have clocked 120k kms.

I have wholeheartedly decided to keep the car. Reasons:

- I am hopelessly emotional when it comes to the Punto. She has been involved in all my life milestones - big or small. Just too many memories. It'll be too much for me to see her go.

- Practically, there will be absolutely no resale for a car that has been discontinued and the manufacturer itself has wound up in the Indian market (damn you FIAT)

- Having maintained her to the T, she still drives like a charm. Till date, this side of 20 lakhs, I doubt if any car will match her driving dynamics, fantastic steering, highway manners and sorted chassis.

- The timeless design still makes me go weak in my knees :)

- Though I will need a bigger car in another 3 years time, the Punto will still remain as the city vehicle and occasional short trips (wife is very comfortable driving the Punto and feels "safe" in it).

Hope you make the right choice.

Some things are beyond practicality. For me, one of those is my Punto.Leaving you with a picture of her, fresh after a thorough detailing session as a gift for her 10th birthday (last year).

Happy to see many bhpians who continue to keep their fiats. There are cars and there is fiat. Such is the love story with a fiat. I'm a happy owner of punto that is just 5.5 years old and close to a lakh on odo. It is going to stay with our family and taking care of her is quite easier too as she normally demands less maintenance only.

Even I am a proud owner of EVO diesel 5 years old now. Absolutely no issues so far with this vehicle and as you rightly mentioned, the standard of build quality is very high. Fiat did pull the bar high up!!.
I personally feel its time to change for you. There are some vehicles in market that may offer you similar solid build quality. In ny opinion, VW, Ford and Tata can offer you similar segment cars(if you are not planning to upgrade) with high standard of build and performance as well.
To be more specific, Polo, Freestyle and Altroz iTurbo would be my immediate suggestions for replacement

I think this would be a tough car to upgrade from. It has a solid build along with a very well weighted steering. I am sure you must have experienced this on the Lambasingi and Aruku ghats.

Personally speaking, the options for a lateral upgrade in Visakhapatnam are quite limited unless you directly know the seller of your next car. Most people I know here tend to hold on to their cars for quite a lot longer than in other cities.

Restoring would be a good option if you are not tired of trying to source parts, but if you need to upgrade, probably something from the German stables will be a worthy one.

Sell it!

But if buying, do give the Honda JAZZ a look!

Has one of the best driving dynamics, good boot and reliable I-Vtec engine.

The build is a lil suspect , but better than tin can Maruti Suzuki‘s.

Also a proper family car and has a decent AT tranny box(not as fun as the GT tSi though)

Hai all,
I want to have your idea on what should I do with my Fiat Punto Emotion 1178 CC, Petrol car which has so far clocked 1.46 Lakh km on Indian roads and which is nearing 10 Years of service life.
I am a maintenance freak and get the vehicle serviced every 2 to 3 months.

But off late I am experiencing break down of various parts like the Dickey lock mechanism, the Odometer LCD is now almost gone and the readings cannot be discerned, Both shock absorbers -front and back are replaced, the connecting rod to the right side tyre and recently replaced the entire AC Compressor etc. I also had the entire car except the ceiling painted again due to rust spots etc. I park the car near the sea side and hence experience this problem. I water wash it at least twice a month if not 4 times which is very common and get both the interiors and exteriors cleaned.

To the extent possible, I change the parts, replaced Car Batteries, Tyres and everything that is needed over a period of time. I do not shirk for costs involved and want the car to be in top shape as I not only ride in the city - but also go 700 km at a stretch in a single day when the requirements exist to another town and back to Vizag. So I want my car to be reliable.
So far there are no complaints on the engine side.

Also FIAT discontinued this model and I do not find anything which from FIAT stock is ready to replace her. I liked FIAT especially for the thick steel that they used which I do not find in many cars now. Most of the cars are now tin cans or so it seems. So on the other hand this is also one of the reasons why I am loathe to give up on my 10 year old.

But I am thinking, if I need to start planning to change my Car. It had been a very reliable car for me so long and I wish it continues that way for at least 3-4 more years so that I can change to all Electric when the tech matures on that side.

But I am thinking if it is required to change my car. What is your opinion on the maintenance aspects of cars which are more than 10 years old.
Let me know your opinion.
--
Surya@Vizag

Hey Surya!

Like you, I love my 7 year old Linea T-Jet, and my 10 yrar old Polo 1.6 Petrol alike. My ownership experience has been relatively trouble free for both cars, barring harrowing (repeated) electrical issues for over a month in the Linea. While i have made up my mind to retain both for as long as possible, it's the Fiat's rusting issues and general quality niggles that make me belive that 10 years would be the max I'd keep it. There is a Fiat ASC near my place, which gives me a lot of confidence to retain it for that long. They even offered a complete annual service for Rs.4999 recently, which seems like a steal.

The Polo ticks all the right boxes for me, and even though the Linea's suspension and steering is still unmatched, the Polo is the nearest to perfection. While some of the parts might be expensive, maintenance of a Petrol Polo is pretty reasonable. We have 3 Polos in our family, ranging from the 1.2 NA Petrol, to the 1.2 GT TSi with the DSG gearbox, and finally my own 1.6 NA Petrol.

The Polo still looks great, rides well, and the only downside is the lack of space. While the Polo seems to have many cubby holes and spaces for knick knacks, the Linea doesn't even have a proper place for my phone and wallet, or even for bottles in the door pockets for that matter. Also, unlike the Linea, it is possible to achieve a perfect seating position, and the noise insulation on the Polo is way better, as is the overall quality of materials. No rust anywhere on the car, even after 10 years, and the plastics are still as good as new.

If I were you, I'd definitely consider the Polo 1.0 TSi, and enjoy the gem of an engine, and the brilliant chassis. Unless the lack of space matters to you, just test drive the car a couple of times, and get it of it works for you. Here are a couple of pics of my gorgeous cars x 2. lol:

Originally Posted by ironshark (Post 5022668)
I can relate to your query quite well since I too own a 11 year old Punto (MJD Emotion pack) and have clocked 120k kms.

I have wholeheartedly decided to keep the car. Reasons:

- I am hopelessly emotional when it comes to the Punto. She has been involved in all my life milestones - big or small. Just too many memories. It'll be too much for me to see her go.

- Practically, there will be absolutely no resale for a car that has been discontinued and the manufacturer itself has wound up in the Indian market (damn you FIAT)

- Having maintained her to the T, she still drives like a charm. Till date, this side of 20 lakhs, I doubt if any car will match her driving dynamics, fantastic steering, highway manners and sorted chassis.

- The timeless design still makes me go weak in my knees :)

- Though I will need a bigger car in another 3 years time, the Punto will still remain as the city vehicle and occasional short trips (wife is very comfortable driving the Punto and feels "safe" in it).

Hope you make the right choice.

Some things are beyond practicality. For me, one of those is my Punto.Leaving you with a picture of her, fresh after a thorough detailing session as a gift for her 10th birthday (last year).

I am on the same boat , 9 yrs and 1.15lakhs kms on the odo. Will keep the car for even longer though.
Lucky charm , a daily driver, one car that goes anywhere and many more adjectives that put a smile on my face always.
Planning to get it repainted with same color in next summer in FIAT MOPAR Service centre.
My commitment to this car is i travel to Mysore only to get it serviced from Bengaluru :).
Also Own a Punto Evo Abarth and VW POLO 1.6 GT TDI too , but the Grande punto Multijet is my love of life. My Mom love this car more than any other even though its not a RED color car.

Originally Posted by KPR (Post 5022671)
Happy to see many bhpians who continue to keep their fiats. There are cars and there is fiat. Such is the love story with a fiat. I'm a happy owner of punto that is just 5.5 years old and close to a lakh on odo. It is going to stay with our family and taking care of her is quite easier too as she normally demands less maintenance only.

Almost two more years passed since this post. Now 7.5 years old and 1.10Lakhs ODO. I did a 650 Km drive last weekend. It is super fun even now. There is nothing that amuses me like red Punto even in 2023. :D

It is very difficult to upgrade from these kind of cars. There are simply no matching options in terms of what we are offered. Solidly built, fundamentals like brakes, suspension, steering right, reliable engines and comfortable, what else can one ask for?

Still holding on to my 10 year old Punto 90hp, done close to 2 L kms and still running like new, also a 10 year old Linea T Jet, unicorns of the future automotive scene, and am absolutely happy to have them forever.

Should I sell my Fiat Punto after 10 years & 1.5 lakh km?-img_20230109_104516692.jpg

Should I sell my Fiat Punto after 10 years & 1.5 lakh km?-img_20221223_153226115.jpg

Went through the same dilemma, having a 11 year old gem which has covered 1.15 lakh kms without any major issues. Finally sold it off as it was time to get a new car as already holding a 5 year old Linea TJet in addition to the Grande Punto. Unable to get anything which is even closer to the dynamics and comfort offered by the GP, however due to certain conditions, have to part it off from my garage.

It's always an emotional event when you sell your first car but that's the way it is.

With heavy heart, sold it to a person who is again a fiat fan.

Looking forward to see my old pal again somewhere sometime to remind me of our long run companionship. :sadface