Team-BHP > What Car?

Search this Thread
Old 10th October 2021, 10:53   #1
BHPian

Tata Nexon vs. Mahindra XUV300 vs. Kia Sonet | Which car should I get for 15 Lakhs?

Hello BHPians!

I'm looking for a car at ~15L (max 16L) OTR for my first car ownership. While I'm new to car ownership, I've been driving cars for 10+ years now and have driven a variety of cars during this period.

Requirements

The one-line requirement goes as this: "a car that'll get us around comfortably on highways and broken roads for long road trips and weekend mall crawls with occasional city usage".

The car will be primarily used by me and my wife (and hopefully a future dog) most of the time. However, we'll have our siblings and parents visit us 2-3 times a year. Hence, rear seat comfort, while not critical, is not to be ignored completely. I'm also expecting an annual mileage of 15,000km.

Some basic checklist features that I noted down based on above:
  1. High on safety
  2. Great highway stability
  3. High Ground Clearance - so ruling out sedans
  4. Diesel engine - to keep the fuel costs low
  5. Good practical boot size for carrying all the luggage around
  6. Few comfort features that support highway usage like - Cruise control, practical cabin for storage of phone, bottles etc.

The Shortlist

The current cars under consideration are (in the order of priority):
  1. Tata Nexon 1.5D XZ+(S)
  2. Kia Sonet GTX Plus 1.5D

Car that came close:

Mahindra XUV3OO W8(O) - due to a lack of rear AC vent and a poor boot space, we're not very keen on this despite being a strong contender otherwise. This will be our only steed for a good time to come so we do not want to be in a position that makes us feel disappointed.

Used cars are a strict no from my wife.

The Assessment

I did the test drive for both Nexon and Sonet, both manual. Up until this point, I was mostly clear on getting the Nexon, however, with the test drive things kind of changed.