Team-BHP > What Car?
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 21st March 2022, 12:19   #1
BHPian

Effortless-to-drive car for the city

What Car?
I used to think I am an car expert. Having successfully advised family and friends in selecting the right car for them. Multiple success stories there, but boy when I landed on this scenario even I am struggling to find out the right car. Hence thought of starting this thread to take your inputs.

Context:

We have two cars which are going to hit 15 years soon. We thought replacing one of them and get a new car.

Car 1: 12 Year old Dzire. Petrol. Mileage around 70K. Does crazy power but bad mileage. Took out the remapping still mileage hasn't come back to decent levels. I get max of 10 Kms per litre. Issue with this car - No airbags. Feel scared with the increasing number of rash drivers on the road these days. Also has some sound coming in from differential - will need repairs of 50K in another 10K kilometers, plus new tyres in another 2 years.

Car 2: 11 Year old Wagon R. Very less used. Needs body work. No airbags. No technical issue but then it’s a very light car and lack of airbags makes me feel unsafe taking this out. New Tyres. Mostly does city duties but again we have to hit national highway multiple times given the location of our home

So coming back to the ask, we are planning to get a small car (Budget max 10 Lakhs) that will replace either Dzire or WagonR and can fulfill the following requirements:

1. Easy to drive and park in City
2. Dual airbags (it's there almost on all cars now a days)
3. A car which has bonnet visible. Yes this is a ask from Wife and my father who aren't comfortable with cars where you have to drive purely on judgement like I10, Baleno, Altroz. No offence to any owners here this is just how they feel comfortable
4. Good mileage needed as it's a city car and will do atleast 1500 to 2000 kms in city per month. Should I consider CNG?