Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 17th June 2008, 22:36   #1
sakharamcool

New Hatch or used sedan?

i will be buying my first car very soon , i have a budget of about 3-4 lacs
i am confused whether to buy a brand new small car like chevy spark or i10 or whether to buy a used luxury car like a 2004 optra ,, is a used car worth the money or should i go for a small brand new car ?

please help

Old 17th June 2008, 23:03   #2

New Car rules dude! Anytime. Moreover, you have not mentioned your basic necessities like daily usage, number of people, frequent long journeys etc.

All these would help you make the decision! Let us know your choice.
Old 17th June 2008, 23:05   #3
sakharamcool

well it will be driven 98 percent in the city , traffic ,,will carry 2-3 people and a long journey almost next to none , so basically a complete city car ,,

Old 17th June 2008, 23:14   #4

IMHO, you will better off with a new car, New cars seldom give any challenges but after 3-4 years, little issues will begin cropping up even on the best maintained cars.
Moreover your usage is mostly within the city and a small car will mean easy parking and ease of driving in congested area.

Last edited by F50 : 17th June 2008 at 23:20.
Old 18th June 2008, 00:20   #5

Originally Posted by sakharamcool View Post
i will be buying my first car very soon , i have a budget of about 3-4 lacs
i am confused whether to buy a brand new small car like chevy spark or i10 or whether to buy a used luxury car like a 2004 optra ,, is a used car worth the money or should i go for a small brand new car ?

please help
New car rules

options : Santro GLS, Zen Estilo vxi, Wagen R Vxi
Old 18th June 2008, 13:36   #6

Originally Posted by Sheshagiri View Post
INew cars seldom give any challenges but after 3-4 years, little issues will begin cropping up even on the best maintained cars.
I'd agree with this statement if we were in 1995, but the modern machinery of today is super-reliable. If maintainence schedules are adhered to, no one should have a problem well beyond the 1,00,000 kms mark.

@ Sakharam : I see an Esteem in your profile. Is this potential car meant to be a replacement? If so, I would seriously recommend a pristine used sedan, preferably Japanese, to you. Depreciation makes for some mouthwatering deals in the used car market.

I think you should also read through this article; it will help you further in evaluating your priorities and deciding on the next car.
Old 18th June 2008, 13:45   #7
sakharamcool

is a jan 2000 / nov 1999 maruti esteem a good deal ?

Old 18th June 2008, 14:08   #8

Well it will be better to try get hands on a 2002 or 2003 model preferably.
Old 19th June 2008, 22:22   #9
sakharamcool

a new development , i just found out that my 6-2 frame cannot fit into the maruti esteem , so i am now looking for something that can fit my frame inside ,, i am thinking of MUVs and SUVs,, if anyone of you are above 6-2 please tell me what cars fit you correctly across all segments from small cars to SUVs .. thanks

Old 25th June 2008, 23:48   #10

If its going to be city car, then go ahead with a hatch.
Also look at Wagon R. It will suit you frame.
Old 26th June 2008, 00:06   #11

for 4L, how about a new sedan, an indigo CS!
Old 26th June 2008, 00:14   #12

Very well said GTO. Modern cars, especially Japs are very reliable. All you have to do is pick a good used car and that's well begun. One advantage of buying used is that the first owner who buys from showroom takes the biggest depreciation hit. While buying used, you can bargain for less and later while reselling, you can bargain for more. I know a guy who bought a Ford Escort diesel for 1.5 lakh two years back. After using it for two years he sold it for 1.32. He bargained deftly both the times--- towards lower side while buying two years back and towards higher side while selling now. The 18 K loss in two years is nothing and that too a defunct car like Escort. With brand new car the hit you take when you resell will be in lakhs and not thousands.

I am not saying everyone must buy used but if your budget is limited and if you are the type who just have this itch to change your car 2/3 years down the road no matter how well the car runs, then used car does indeed make sense.

But for those who buy a car and hang on to it till they see their retirement form service or till the car falls apart, new is the only way to go.

Third, of course, if you are financially sound, then you can buy brand new cars and yet change 'em every 2 years, 1 year, 6 months , 3 months or whatever is your cash versus boredom limit.
Old 26th June 2008, 00:23   #13

If you have learnt driving recently I suggest you to get yourself a second hand WagonR.It will be perfect for you're frame and will suit you're requirements .2-3 yrs down the line when you're good at driving and accustomed to the maintainance costs of a vehicle ,raise you're budjet and get yourself a full sized car.
Old 26th June 2008, 16:09   #14

For your requirements I would recommend the hatch. And looking at your frame, I agree with aaggoswami.... WagonR would be a good one for you..... take a test drive and check it out
Old 4th July 2008, 21:28   #15

Try Wagon R or Santro. It may suit your build and they are the best city cars. AFAP, try to go in for a new car.

Any SUVs / MUVs will not come for 3~4 lacs. If they do, it will be used extensively.