Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 25th April 2009, 10:32   #16

Originally Posted by Harbir View Post
On your recommendations, I am EXTREMELY unlikely to buy an an automatic of any kind. I cannot stomach driving an automatic.If traffic is so bad that an automatic becomes a must, I would choose not to drive at all and just hire a driver, while I sit in the back and read the paper or do some work.
Hey Harbir, you just stole my words on driving an automatic!

I am surprised that you still love to drive a stick shift, after having spent a long time in the US, the land of automatic transmission cars. Most of the US drivers, who use cars just to commute, don't even know how to drive a manual... right?
Old 25th April 2009, 11:27   #17

how about palio 1.6, getz crdi or g-punto T-Jet
Old 25th April 2009, 12:31   #18

I'm confused, your going from cars that cost 3L to cars that cost close to 25L

You want piece of mind so why bother with second hand cars.

You said you are looking at under 5L, so that leaves you with hatches in the new car segment.

Dont buy anything at the moment, wait for the Honda Jazz and the GP
Old 25th April 2009, 12:55   #19

I would reccommend the Getz CRDI (on road comes over 6L) as well or the Swift VDI or Swift ZXI Petrol for the fun to drive under 6 lakhs. If you want an open top get one of the Jeepers on the forum to locate a used Gypsy or MM 550 for you as well. The Jazz is announced at 5.5 in May so may be worth waiting.
Old 25th April 2009, 14:11   #20

what about the soon to be launched grande punto.
or a linea.
or our very own desi scorpio or safari if refinement is not an issue(like the gypsy)
well for indian standards the above two are a pretty good option.

Last edited by vinaydas : 25th April 2009 at 14:13.
Old 25th April 2009, 14:35   #21

Originally Posted by v1p3r
Just convert the Lotus to RHD and ship it down.
+1 to that.
Convert every car you have to RHD and have it shipped into the ountry via TR.
Old 25th April 2009, 14:46   #22

Just look for a good used 325i. Resale drops because of the thirsty petrol so you'll get a good price. Only drawback is automatic.

For manual, you can wait for the Laura with the 1.8TFSI engine.

There's also an option of picking up a second hand lancer for around 2lakhs then swapping the engine with a 1.6litre MIVEC. For 6-7L you will get a 180-200bhp quick street car. This is a knwon setup with not many issues.
Old 25th April 2009, 15:11   #23

i would vouch for either the swift VDi or the fiesta S !!
both are fun to drive cars and easy on the pocket too!!
if you want more juice out of them just mod them up (which has been done by our fellow members) and im sure you will have your unforgetful driving moments!!
Old 25th April 2009, 15:20   #24

If you have about 6 months time, how about a Mk2 Toyota Aristo V300 with a HKSGT35 turbo and a 6Speed Getrag Swap?

I have one. See my Garage.
<------

Also you said you would consider a LS400 but say you dont want Automatic.????

FYI a Nice 2000 LS would be about 10-12l.
Old 25th April 2009, 15:34   #25

Harbir, great to hear of your move back!

Suggested drives:

1. New Fiesta 1.6S : Compact for the city, and rewarding engine / handling. Very driver oriented. 4 year warranty.

2. New Gypsy King : Buy a basic offroader, keep sprucing her up and keep forever. The offroad scene is truly gaining ground, whichever city you intend to move into, fun weekends guaranteed. Maybe you could buy one anyways (in addition to a regular sedan / hatch).

3. Used Octavia vRS : Service from a good independent. Not the most reliable though. Excellent after-market performance part support.

4. Used Mondeo : Killer deals on some immaculate cars (4.5 lakh onward). Great to drive, spacious interiors too. One of the most bang-for-the-buck buys today. An alternative to the Mondeo is a pristine W124.

5. Used Imports : List is endless and offers interesting cars from 5 lakhs (MR2's) to 30 lakhs (M3's & Porsches).

Originally Posted by sids911 View Post
Gypsy is still being sold!!??
The Gypsy still manages a respectable 500 - 600 cars a month (that's more than regular hatches like the Skoda Fabia or Fiat Palio BTW).
Old 25th April 2009, 15:37   #26

Hows the Mondeo a good buy? I have heard parts are difficult to find, maintenance is high and there are problems with the car on indian fuel. Are these all true?
Old 25th April 2009, 17:23   #27

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Hows the Mondeo a good buy? I have heard parts are difficult to find, maintenance is high and there are problems with the car on indian fuel. Are these all true?
Thats absolutely false, ask real mondeo owners out here. I have never had a problem sourcing any spare part and she never needed any maintainance except for a few tire issues which I sorted out. All false rumors nothing else.
Old 25th April 2009, 17:36   #28

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
I have heard parts are difficult to find
Wait period at authorised, some after-market shops have ready stock. And others order directly online.

maintenance is high
Well, it's not Japanese reliable, but pretty good otherwise. I'd say a Mondeo is far more reliable than a vRS.

and there are problems with the car on indian fuel.
Not that I know of.

Hows the Mondeo a good buy?
For 5 lakhs, a 5 year old D quick D segment car with a driver-oriented nature, E-Class interior space and most amenities.
Old 25th April 2009, 18:56   #29

i would suggest 2 cars
a city car-i10 auto-whatever your feelings towards auto tranny few days of driving in indian metros on a manual you will rue your desicion. auto is best for city driving stop and go traffic
a highway sedan or suv with manual tranny-lots of them out there depends on how much you want to spend
btw what are you going to do with the cars you presently own in usa
Old 26th April 2009, 05:42   #30

I suggest you try out Mitsubishi Cedia and Maruti Baleno as well. Both available for a lot less in the second hand market.