Fuel: Diesel
Booking Date: 24-Dec-2010
Booking Amount: 1L
Total amount: 13,60,610
Color: Pearl White
Expected Delivery Date: 1 week. See below
Dealer & City: Pandit Auto, Pune
Freebies: 12k Off

After reading lots of posts regarding Safari and non-availability of Toyota Fortuner,
I was thinking about booking Safari when I saw the ad of 12k off at Pandit Auto, Pune. Took that as a sign from heavens to book *now*, I rushed to the only TATA dealership in Pune. But, they told me that 12k off is only on the vehicles which can arrive in their lot by 27th Dec. And since 4x4 in made to order, there wasn't any chance.

I was furious and just walked into the sales manager office and made my feelings clear to him. He heard me patiently and made some phone calls and told me that there is a slight chance that he can get it by 27th! So went ahead with the booking with the condition that I will get a full refund if they do not get the car in time.

Looking back actually it was not potential loss of 12k that made me furious, but, they way I felt cheated about it.

Got a call on 26th that my Safari has arrived and I should bill it to take advantage of 12k offer. Did that. Now trying to decide to do registration/delivery now or in new year. Dealership is suggesting in new year as that will add to resale value. I posted a separate thread for the same. Please help me decide.
Old 30th December 2010, 19:29   #1247

re: The "I Booked my Car" Thread

Booked a Red Chevrolet Spark LS For my wife. The cars in consideration were I10, Santro and Spark. This car will be driven in city 99% and would have a running of around 800kms per month.

This will be a second Chevrolet in our house. I drive an Aveo and am extremely happy with the *** hence this decision.

The Car is costing 3,41,900/- OTR after a discount of 54K and some freebies thrown in

Following is the break up

Ex Showroom= 3,04,634
Insurance = 7667/-
Regestration = 16,050/-
Central Locking = 3200/-
Logistics = NIL
Music System = 6000/-
Standard accessories = 2350/-
fabric seat covers = 2000/-
Old 30th December 2010, 20:10   #1248

I booked a Ford Figo. Details as under:

Make: Ford
Model: Figo
Variant: Titanium ( TDCI)
Booking date: 10 Dec, 2010
Colour: Diamond White
Delivery Date: Dec 19, 2010
Price: Rs 565 K ( On road)
Freebies: Rs 6000 discount, 3rd year extended warranty, Basic Kit and Car cover
Dealer: NCR Ford
Old 30th December 2010, 22:51   #1249

Make: Chevrolet
Model: Beat
Variant: LT
Fuel: Petrol
Booking Date: 27-Dec-2010
Booking Amount: NIL (Company Lease)
Total amount: 4,33,000
Color: Sand Drift Grey
Expected Delivery Date: Delivered today (30-Dec-2010)
Dealer & City: Regent Auto, Mathura Road, New Delhi
Freebies: 32K discount (includes corporate discount), mats and flaps, remote central locking, 3 years (or 45K kms) cashless maintenance package
Old 11th January 2011, 23:18   #1250

Make : Fiat
Model : Punto
Variant : 90 hp (Emotion Pack)
Fuel : Diesel
Booking Date : 11/1/11
Color : Bossa Nova White
Expected Delivery Date : 27/1/11
Dealer & City : Wasan Motors, Mumbai
Freebies : Free extended warranty + Roadside Assistance + Floor Mats (I refused mud flaps which were offered)
Others : Cash discount of Rs. 13,000

The entire discussion of the selection & buying process is here.
Old 15th January 2011, 00:50   #1251

Make : FIAT
Model : Linea
Variant : T-Jet +
Fuel : Petrol
Color : Sunbeam Biege
Booking Date : 12/01/2011
Expected Delivery Date : 2nd week of Feb'11
Dealer & City : Concorde, Chennai
Freebies : Extended Warranty + Roadside Assistance + Floor Mats + Boot Mat + Mudflaps
Others : Corporate Discount and Cash Discount totalling Rs.10,000

I am upgrading from 1.4 FIRE Linea to T Jet. Yes, from a NA Petrol Linea to a Turbocharged Jet.

Keeping my fingers crossed to get her at the earliest.

Once a FIATian.. always a FIATian !

Last edited by bnzjon : 15th January 2011 at 01:06.
Old 16th January 2011, 15:38   #1252
R17

Make : BMW
Model : X1
Variant : s18
Fuel : Petrol,
Booking Date : 14/1/20111
Color : White
Expected Delivery Date : Mid - Feb
Dealer & City :Navneet Motors, Mumbai
Freebies : None
Others : Early delivery (dealer is a business client, with whom we ve been closely associated for 2 decades)
Old 17th January 2011, 07:42   #1253

Originally Posted by R17 View Post
Make : BMW
Model : X1
Variant : s18
Fuel : Petrol,
Booking Date : 14/1/20111
Color : White
Expected Delivery Date : Mid - Feb
Dealer & City :Navneet Motors, Mumbai
Freebies : None
Others : Early delivery (dealer is a business client, with whom we ve been closely associated for 2 decades)
@R17,

A big congratulations. I guess yours is the first X1 to be booked on the forum. Request you to mention the OTR cost of the vehicle if thats Ok with you.
Old 17th January 2011, 09:52   #1254

Make : Maruti
Model : A-Star
Variant : VXi Automatic
Color : any other than red
Booking Date : 10/01/2011
Expected Delivery Date : 3 months waiting
Dealer & City : Popular Vehicles, Kottayam
Freebies : Nothing discussed. Probably Mats and Mudflaps
Others : Cash Discount Rs.20,000 (currently available. Whatever is applicable at the time of delivery would be the final one)
Old 17th January 2011, 19:34   #1255

Make : Hyundai
Model : i10
Variant : Sportz Automatic
Color : Blushing Red
Booking Date : 17/01/2011
Expected Delivery Date : 10-15 days
Dealer & City : Kanchana Hyundai, Udupi
Freebies : 7K worth of free accessories + remote keyless entry
Others : Ordered art-leather seat covers, door scruffs and fog lights to fill up the free accessories offer. Yet to pick alloys and tyres.

This is the color:
The "I Booked my Car" Thread-fullscreen-capture-1182011-12832-pm.bmp.jpg

This is the alloy I have selected:

The "I Booked my Car" Thread-img_0088.jpg

Last edited by Samurai : 18th January 2011 at 13:32.
Old 17th January 2011, 21:06   #1256

Congrats Samurai and scuderiaferrari!

The whole thread looks more like a log now.. not much of excitement here huh! Well here are the details of the car I booked

Make : Fiat
Model : Punto
Variant : Emotion
Fuel : Diesel
Color : Tuscan Wine
Booking Date : 26/12/2010
Expected Delivery Date : 5-10 (more) days
Dealer & City : Prerana Motors, Sarjapur Road, Bangalore
Freebies : The usual mats, mud flap and 3M tints. RSA and Extended Warranty
Others : Ordered door sill plates, I hope get the speakers changed for now as they sound really bad, seat covers, horn and headlamp bulbs are also on the list

The wait though not the longest seen here is getting kinda long due to the loan being processed by Govt. undertaking bank (even though my father is an ex-employee and I have a good account with them). I hope to get the documentation done and pick up the car soon

Last edited by Sks_Biker : 17th January 2011 at 21:07.
Old 18th January 2011, 13:39   #1257

Originally Posted by Sks_Biker View Post
Congrats Samurai and scuderiaferrari!

The whole thread looks more like a log now.. not much of excitement here huh!
Thanks, I added couple of snaps to my post make it interesting.
Old 18th January 2011, 13:58   #1258

The "I Booked my Car" thread

My fourth car:- 1985 to 1993 Ambassador (100,000 kms), 1995-Mar 2005-Van (110000kms), 2005 till date Wagon R-94000 kms
Make : Maruti
Model : Ritz
Variant : LXI
Color : Silky Silver
Booking Date : 17/01/11
Expected Delivery Date : 5 days
Dealer & City : Bimal, Bangalore
Freebies : The usual mats, mud flap, sun film and cover
Others : Central locking, Teflon coating and anti rust paint of the undercarriage.

Col J H Mayne
Old 19th January 2011, 17:36   #1259

Make: Tata
Model: Safari
Variant: LX 4x2
Fuel: Diesel
Booking Date: 11-Jan-2011
Booking Amount: 7,92,601
Total amount: 7,92,601
Insurance(Self Purchased) Amount : 20885
Color: Cycus Grey
Expected Delivery Date: 2 weeks.
Dealer & City: Pandit Auto, Pune
Freebies: 13k Off(7 K extended warranty + 6 K corporate discount)

The heart always used to beat for the BEAST .I had been thinking about booking Safari with the launch of the DICOR engine long back , but budget / time constraints always kept away the BEAST from me . December'10 all of a sudden the heart took a plunge to go ahead and DO IT I rushed to the only TATA dealership in Pune. Finally booked the BEAST on JAN '11 .

A few personal calls were made to the TELCO team to arrange for the quick delivery of the vehicle as the Cycus grey is a less selling color(to be read as presumed ), hence not ready stocked .

Jan '14 got a call from the TELCO sources , vehicle has been dispatched . Reconfirmed the status from the SA , whoa !! he was unaware . Few hours and it was confirmed that it has been out of the production line ready to be moved to the dealer stockyard .

Pestered the SA for a (pre form 20 signing ) PDI as a humble BHP-ian . He was like "sir kya dekhogey , bahut gandi hoti hai , you won't be able to see anything .Already hamari team ne PDI kia hai . Moreover the stockyard is way outside the city limits , forget it " My blunt reply was " aap ki team ne (Tata Motors ) ki team ne PDI kia hai that's the reason I need to take the extra effort ." Zapped he surrendered instantly and arranged for the PDI . Went off a heck of 24 odd kms (read as all worth) just to see my Long Lovable BEAST , standing and grinning in the sunlight .

First roll of eyes went on the tyres and the mood went off , my goodness SAFARI with Apollo's :( dejected , inspected the vehicle further till the odometer reading . All looked OK . The stockyard manager was almost shocked with the points of the checklist for the PDI (Team BHP ) , lets put it correctly HE just got zapped and impressed .

Told him and the SA that need no other than Bridgestone Deullar HT on the vehicle . Agreed to it , have sent the vehicle for passing today .

Eagerly awaiting get my hands on MY BEAST (probably 2 days from now, Friday )

Mods please pardon my ignorrance and move the thread to appropriate place , if not .

Pankaj
Old 19th January 2011, 18:36   #1260

@jealousdiamond : Congrats for the Safari.. Well that makes two of us who are expecting the car this Friday!

@samurai: Yeah that does put a bit on life into this thread