Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 19th September 2015, 00:54   #3181

Re: The "I Booked my Car" Thread

ABS and at least Front Airbags were compulsory for me.
I had stretched my budget by 1.5 lacs to get the Duster 85 ps RXL option pack just for these features. Otherwise the 85 RXL was well within my budget. The additional EMI is but a small insurance premium to pay
openroad is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th September 2015, 20:15   #3182

I won't even attempt hiding the grin on my face when I write this

Make : Hyundai
Model : Creta
Variant : SX(O)
Fuel : Diesel
Booking Date :19/9/2015
Color :White or silver
Expected Delivery Date : If we are lucky, there will be a white available by the end of this week for delivery. If not, we will be made to wait for 2 months. We will be able to get our preferred colour, silver, then.
Dealer & City : Advaith Hyundai, Bangalore
Freebies : None

Eagerly waiting for our first SUV, first oil burner and third Hyundai to arrive!

Last edited by Turbo_asd : 19th September 2015 at 20:18.
Turbo_asd is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th September 2015, 10:11   #3183

Given all the discussions on safety, I was wondering if we, BHP'ians could set an example by mentioning the below details as well?

- Was the particular car/ variant selected for safety features?

- If safety features have been skipped, why? (Eg: Automatic transmission not available on the top most trim)

Hope it would help to make people more aware of safety while announcing their bookings, while also benefitting as a database of how many enthusiasts actually pay for safety, and if not- what are the top reasons to skip it?
It's good that you mentioned this,because the sole reason why I went for the Ecosport was safety. Sure there's this recent argument going on that it's untested but if Figo's crash test is something to go by, the Ecosport won't do bad at all. Six air bags were a minimum so that only left us with three cars, Creta, Aspire and Ecosport.
Didn't like the Creta and hence the only option was the Ecosport(which isn't a bad car for an enthusiast).
If safety wasn't such a high on my list,then would have went for a Linea Tjet.

Last edited by Doge : 20th September 2015 at 10:12.
Doge is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th September 2015, 17:31   #3184

Given all the discussions on safety, I was wondering if we, BHP'ians could set an example by mentioning the below details as well?

- Was the particular car/ variant selected for safety features?

- If safety features have been skipped, why? (Eg: Automatic transmission not available on the top most trim)

Hope it would help to make people more aware of safety while announcing their bookings, while also benefitting as a database of how many enthusiasts actually pay for safety, and if not- what are the top reasons to skip it?
Make: VW
Model: Polo
Variant: GT Tsi
Colour : Carbon Steel Grey
Dealer: Ramani Volkswagen, Coimbatore
Discounts: None
On Road Price: 10.01Lac
Booked on: 19th September 2015
Expected Delivery Date: 8 weeks
Safety Features: I chose this car mainly for the standard safety features (2 airbags, ABS, ESP, EBD) it offered. Earlier, I had booked a Celerio Zxi AMT on July 29th. The recent discussions on safety brought doubts on my choice, as Celerio Zxi only offers driver airbag, no ABS and also the doubts on the structural strength. Because of these, though I had to severely stretch my budget and required to go for a loan which I had not planned earlier, I cancelled the Celerio and have ordered the Polo GT TSi.

If only we had strict rules on safety and all cars had basic safety features, the need to extend the budget would not have happened! Hope we get to see all cars equipped with safety features soon.
graaja is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 20th September 2015, 20:12   #3185

Originally Posted by graaja View Post
Safety Features: I chose this car mainly for the standard safety features (2 airbags, ABS, ESP, EBD) it offered. Earlier, I had booked a Celerio Zxi AMT on July 29th. The recent discussions on safety brought doubts on my choice, as Celerio Zxi only offers driver airbag, no ABS and also the doubts on the structural strength. Because of these, though I had to severely stretch my budget and required to go for a loan which I had not planned earlier, I cancelled the Celerio and have ordered the Polo GT TSi.

If only we had strict rules on safety and all cars had basic safety features, the need to extend the budget would not have happened! Hope we get to see all cars equipped with safety features soon.
And also one of the best cars you can buy for under 10L too. The GT TSI is a good value and talking about safety,it also has a very important safety feature and a feature which is a must in India IMO, ESP. The GT is really twice the car Celerio can dream to be. Congratulations.

Last edited by Doge : 20th September 2015 at 20:13.
Doge is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th September 2015, 20:54   #3186

Originally Posted by graaja View Post

Its raining GTs
Adding to @graaja list

Colour : While
Dealer: B.U.Bhandari, Pune
On Road Price: 9.8 (need to double check)
Booked on: 7th September 2015
Expected Delivery Date: 45 days

Delaer had Jun/Jul manufactured 2 white pieces from the old model in stock. SE tried to push for old model saying Cruise Control is useless on Indian Roads and Cooled Glove box is a gimmick. Personally, not a big fan of auto fold mirrors. Kind of agree with him, but I would rather buy something that is "latest". Also I was not getting much discount for old model.

I usually stick to 80 on expressway no matter which car I am driving, so Cruise Control may be useful for someone like me.

But the feature I really wanted was blinkers on ORVMs. I would even go onto say that its a good passive safety feature. In city traffic there are instances where rear indicators are blocked for some reason (biker trying to jostle his way) any additional blinkers come in very handy.

So, I decided to go for the latest update and hence the waiting period. SE said I can expect delivery in 30 days for White.
freedom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2015, 21:50   #3187

Finally booked a FORD (Fun On Road Daily)

Make : Ford
Model : Figo Aspire
Variant : 1.5 TDCi Titanium
Booking Date :23/9/2015
Color : Smoked Grey
Expected Delivery Date : Dusshera (23rd Oct)
Dealer & City : Fortune Ford , Hyderabad
Freebies : Free 3rd Year Extended Warranty, Exchange Bonus of 10000
Others :
Safety Criteria : No compromise on Dual Airbags and ABS
The link "https://www.team-bhp.com/advice/no-claim-bonus-how-save-your-insurance-premiums-0" was quite helpful in reducing the insurance

Ownership details to follow soon....

Last edited by dpkbehera : 23rd September 2015 at 21:51.
dpkbehera is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th September 2015, 18:47   #3188

Make : Skoda
Model : Rapid
Variant : Elegance Plus Diesel AT
Booking Date :Got the delivery this Monday - 22/09/15
Color : Brilliant Silver
Dealer & City : New Delhi
Freebies : Free Parking camera and 2 years extended insurance along with other discounts.
Safety Criteria : No compromise on build quality and other safety features.
heydj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2015, 22:58   #3189

Make : Maruti
Model : Ciaz
Variant : ZDI+ SHVS
Booking Date :27/09/2015
Color : METALLIC GLISTENING GREY
Dealer & City : NCR
Freebies : MGA Kit & 13000 Cash Discount
Buying Criteria : Trusted Brand "Maruti".
ptaneja is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2015, 23:32   #3190

Originally Posted by ptaneja View Post
Congratulations on booking the most affordable hybrid. So what is the final on-road price and its breakup please?
Old 28th September 2015, 00:39   #3191

Originally Posted by ptaneja View Post

I am also contemplating to go for Ciaz. Can you tell me which dealer is yours. I am also in NCR and can speak to the dealer. Thanks.
Old 28th September 2015, 05:58   #3192

Originally Posted by anmolbedi View Post
I am also contemplating to go for Ciaz. Can you tell me which dealer is yours. I am also in NCR and can speak to the dealer. Thanks.
Competent Motors, Gurgaon. PM me your details, and I'll speak to the sales guy if required.

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Congratulations on booking the most affordable hybrid. So what is the final on-road price and its breakup please?
Ex Showroom + 3rd/4th Year Extended Warranty + Gurgaon Registration = 11 Lacs.

I'll spend another 18K in Insurance/Maruti Insurance ( after transferring NCB) - dealer quoted me 32K for this.

Buy back for me was 4 lacs.

Filled up SBI forms for remaining 7 lacs - 10.05% Loan, Pre-Payment possible, Zero File Processing charges.

Last edited by ampere : 30th September 2015 at 00:39. Reason: Back to back post merged
Old 29th September 2015, 19:26   #3193

Make: Hyundai
Model: Xcent
Variant: SX(O)
Colour : Red
Dealer: Talwar Hyundai, Hyderabad
Discounts: ~33k
On Road Price: ~8.65 Lakhs
Booked on: 28th September 2015
Expected Delivery Date: 1 week
Safety Features: 2 Airbags (D+P), ABS - During my search 2 things were mandatory
1. Dual Airbags
2. AT Transmission
Before booking this, I took TD of Figo Aspire, Micra, Zest. I nearly booked Tata Zest XTA QJD. The response I received from Tata dealer - Malik cars, Himayatnagar was worth appreciaition. I took pretty long test drives as well. They negotiated well too.
But the price difference after discounts in both the car was above 65k towards Xcent and my running cant justify buying a diesel as well.

Though I should say, I loved the Zest and it was a very very difficult decision to make. Head for Xcent and Heart for Zest.
At the end - Head one and booking done. Now awaiting the delivery.
WheelD is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 1st October 2015, 10:36   #3194

Make : Ford
Model : Figo Aspire
Variant : Ambiente
Fuel : Petrol
Booking Date : 7th September 2015
Color : Silver
Delivery : October, during Navratri
Dealer & City : Cauvery Ford, Mangaluru
Sales Advisor : Arun Shetty, Udupi
Freebies : Ha Ha

Price Breakup:
Ex-Showroom : 5,03,128
Ford Preferred Insurance : 22,649 (buying it directly from Royal Sundaram for 15,880 with additional benefits)
Inceidental Expenses : 9,500 (3,500 if I do the registration)
Bank Charges : 316
3rd + 4th yr Warranty : 13,053
Essential Accessories: 5,100

Total On Road : 6,31,940

Savings on:
Insurance: 6,769
Handling Charges: 4,000 (6000 - 2000 actual cost of registration)
Essential Kit will be replaced with some other accessories.
samaspire is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2015, 12:39   #3195

Did I miss it, or has no one booked the TUV yet ? Anyways here is mine.

INCOMING CAR

Make :
Mahindra
Model : TUV 300
Variant : T8 Manual transmission
Booking Date : 19.09.2015
Color : Black
Expected Delivery Date : 10.10.2015
Dealer & City : Zulaikha Motors, Chennai
Freebies : The tea, coffee and coke the family and me had during the 3 visits made to the showroom for the test drives and booking.

OUTGOING CAR

Make : Volkswagen
Model : Vento
Variant : Highline TDI
Color : Black
Year : 2012
Reason : Need money to buy the TUV 300