Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 1st October 2020, 23:35   #4426

Re: The "I Booked my Car" Thread

Originally Posted by kirans_nair View Post
Hi Nazaar,
What prompted you to choose the Verna petrol over the new City. Sailing in a similar boat verna backseat is the major downer compared to the city for me. Otherwise would have chosen verna eyes closed. Eager to know the rationale.
Upgrading from a car based on the 'safe' ultra light Heartect platform (Dzire), safety and heavy build were at the top on our requirement list!
With a budget of close to 1.4 million rupees, the Verna (SX) and the City (V) fitted well in our budget.
So,

Following are the reasons why we chose the Verna over the City:
1)Overall Build & quality- Although the City holds a prestigious 5 star crash safety rating from the ASEAN Ncap, the Verna's doors, bonnet, boot lid and overall metal just felt heavier in comparison. Even the interior quality is a tad bit better.

2)Pricing- With the same money, we got the Verna in the SX trim which is just one below the top spec SX(O) whereas the V trim of the City is the base model and it does feel like one! Amaze-like speedo console, 4 speaker sound system, no leather wrapping on the steering wheel, no cooled glovebox and the small 15" rims are things which are just unacceptable at this price point!

3)Dashboard design- Now I know this is a subjective matter but the empty space below the City's dash really reminds me of the Omni! The Verna is no C class either but it does come across as the more contemporary one here.

4)Bad experience with the 4th gen City-We had a 4th gen City iDTEC in the family and our experience with it was nothing to write home about. The interiors started rattling after 3.5 years of it's age, the overall build was mediocre, the brake pads had a very short life, the rear suspension made a squeaking sound, the rear right door had some water clogging issues in the monsoons and the air conditioning struggled under direct sun. Hence, nobody was keen to bring home another Honda.

Apart from the rear seat space, which undoubtedly is and has always been City's ace, the Verna, atleast to me, seems like a better car in every other possible way!
The Verna's rear seat, in isolation, is quite comfortable. The recline angle is great and even the seat base is nicely angled. In fact, the Verna's seat base is actually longer than the City's!
BUT, if you have 6 footers at home then you have no other option but to go with the City or some Crossover.

I hope this answers your question

Last edited by Nazaar25 : 1st October 2020 at 23:38.
Nazaar25 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 06:18   #4427

Originally Posted by Nazaar25 View Post
I hope this answers your question
Oh yes crystal Excellently articulated. And one more query why the petrol over the diesel Verna. I see you previously owned a diesel City and hence the question. Is it purely based on driving requirements(lesser kms) or was anything else the reason like NVH etc.,.
(I have heard great things about the Verna diesel in this forum or was it the previous gen ?)
kirans_nair is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 11:58   #4428

Originally Posted by kirans_nair View Post
Oh yes crystal Excellently articulated. And one more query why the petrol over the diesel Verna. I see you previously owned a diesel City and hence the question. Is it purely based on driving requirements(lesser kms)
Thanks a lot!
The premium for the equivalent diesel+AT variant was about 1.50 lacs and our running is too less to justify or recover that cost.
The iDTEC was mainly driven by my uncle since he had to travel a lot.

or was anything else the reason like NVH etc.,.
(I have heard great things about the Verna diesel in this forum or was it the previous gen ?)
NVH can never be a problem with a Hyundai! These cars are very well insulated.
Nazaar25 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th October 2020, 07:42   #4429

Ok- here goes, booked my latest, effectively closing the thread on One Do-it-all car that I had put up earlier:

Make: Hyundai
Model:Creta
Fuel: Diesel
Variant:SXO
Transmission: 6 speed AT (Torque Convertor)

Colour: Typhoon Silver.

Dealer: Shivam Hyundai-Baner , off Pune-Bangalore Bypass.

Total Cost: 2095000 On Road
Discounts: Whats that??

Anticipated delivery time- 4 weeks, although they have indicated it could possibly be earlier.

Interestingly enough, there dont seem to be many lengthy review videos or ownership videos of the Diesel Automatic Creta. Most reviewers including our own, have done the manual variant.

Last edited by fhdowntheline : 5th October 2020 at 07:45.
fhdowntheline is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 07:32   #4430

Make : Maruti,
Model : Dzire 2020,
Variant : Zxi AMT
Fuel : Petrol
Booking Date : 25th September 2020
Color : White
Expected Delivery Date : 10th October 2020
Dealer & City : Sai service, Palghar
Freebies : Seat covers, floor mats, Mudflaps
Others : 3k Corporate Bonus + 15k Dealer Discount + 25k exchange bonus (net 37k discount)

Took extended warranty upto 5 years or 1 lac Kms
Aniruddha_Ch is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 09:13   #4431
MCR

Make : Hyundai
Model : Grand i10 Nios
Variant : Magna Corporate Edition MT
Booking Date : 5th October 2020
Color : Aqua Teal
Expected Delivery Date : 19th October 2020
Dealer & City : Pavan Hyundai, Bangalore
Freebies : Mats, Mud flaps, Scuff Plates
Others : 5k Corporate Bonus + 13K Dealer Discount + 13K off on Insurance

Warranty : 4 yrs or 50000 kms.
MCR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 10:11   #4432

Originally Posted by MCR View Post
Can you please share cost breakup. One of my acquittance is planning to buy one. Many thanks
sparkguy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 11:04   #4433
MCR

Originally Posted by MCR View Post
Variant : Magna Corporate Edition MT
Originally Posted by sparkguy View Post
Can you please share cost breakup. One of my acquittance is planning to buy one. Many thanks
On-road price Bangalore was Rs. 7,61,xxx/-. I am getting it for Rs. 7,25,000/-.
MCR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2020, 19:00   #4434

Make : Kia
Model : Seltos
Variant : 1.5 HTX IVT
Booking Date : 6/10/2020
Color : Aurora Pearl Black
Expected Delivery Date : 25/10/2020
Dealer & City : SPL Kia, Kolkata
Freebies : None
Others : Dealer Belongs to a friend hence got a Good deal, Can't disclose the price.
YashD is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th October 2020, 18:26   #4435

Make : Honda
Model : City
Variant : ZX MT
Booking Date : 09-Oct-2020
Color : Platinum White Pearl
Expected Delivery Date : 11-Oct-2020
Dealer & City : Shubh Honda, Bilaspur (C.G.)
Price : 15,29,000 (Including 5 years extended warranty)
Discount : 38,000
Freebies : Essentials kit as the freebie, amount added to total discount
Final OTR : 14.91 lakhs

So, finally dad traded in his Skoda Rapid 1.5TDi 2015 for this white beauty. Finally managed to wriggle out some discount by pulling some strings. Did not negotiate for insurance as Honda's insurance, although costly, offers complete peace of mind due to absence of discount players in the market there. Can't wait to check it out next week when dad visits Pune for some other planned purchase! Hope investing in a Honda brings a trouble free experience for many years to come.

Checked the VIN too and the car is freshly out of the oven, manufactured in Sep 2020, billed to the dealer on 29-09-2020 and arrived at the yard on 07-10-2020.

A preview pic attached!
The "I Booked my Car" Thread-img20201009wa0037.jpg
tp_dominator is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 9th October 2020, 18:44   #4436

Make : Hyundai,
Model : Venue
Variant : SX+ DCT Sport,
Fuel : Petrol,
Booking Date : 01/10/2020
Color : Titanium Gray + Black
Expected Delivery Date : 15th November
Dealer & City : Modi - Mumbai
Discounts : 35k
Others : Opted for lighter interior provided by the dealer (at an extra cost). Wife doesn't like the All black interior and personally I want something different too having driven dark interior cars all my life.

Getting it just shy of 14 including everything. Dealer salesman at Modi has been fantastic so far, hopefully his enthusiasm follows through the delivery process. Considering how painful the experience with shreenath hyundai was. I haven't seen a single Sport Venue DCT on the forum, so will make it a point to make an initial ownership thread.
heatednemz is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th October 2020, 19:06   #4437

Originally Posted by heatednemz View Post
Make : Hyundai,
Model : Venue
Variant : SX+ DCT Sport,
Congratulations!!!

With so much hype around the Sonet any reason for not going for that?
sv97 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2020, 21:13   #4438

Originally Posted by sv97 View Post
With so much hype around the Sonet any reason for not going for that?
Its a long story that started back in July. Sonet was on my radar, and its a really good car. But paying the Kia premium for a handful of features did not agree with my wallet.

Short version Venue is the 2.5 lakhs cheaper(with discounts) and provides everything I need.
Old 12th October 2020, 18:13   #4439

Originally Posted by AutoConsultant View Post
Hi, can you share the details of the full on-road price charged including Insurance, accessories etc? Thanks!
Sorry for late reply. Since I had opted fancy number plate total came out to be approx. 13.5 lakhs on road.
Are you considering buying Honda City?

Last edited by FrozeninTime : 12th October 2020 at 18:14.
Old 12th October 2020, 18:24   #4440

Originally Posted by FrozeninTime View Post
Sorry for late reply. Since I had opted fancy number plate total came out to be approx. 13.5 lakhs on road.
Are you considering buying Honda City?
Yes I am. Based on the price I am assuming you went for the V variant. Do you have an idea of the On-road price of the VX or ZX variant in Delhi?

Also, would like to know what made you go for a City V over a Verna SX? Thanks!