Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 30th September 2021, 08:06   #4846

Re: The "I Booked my Car" Thread

Originally Posted by sudhindraaithal View Post
This is my first post so I apologize if I have posted in the wrong thread. Couldn't figure out where to post this question

I booked an Ertiga ZXI AT in the first week of July. The booking was done with Bimal in Yelahanka, Bangalore. At the time of booking I was told the car would be delivered in 2-3 months. Now they are not sure of a delivery date. They are citing the chip shortage as a reason. Has anyone else booked an Ertiga and facing a similar issue? I saw posts where people got their cars within 1-2 months of booking so not sure if this is an industry wide issue.

If I need to escalate this, who do I talk to in the dealership?
Five years ago, I faced similar issue! I had booked Ertiga ZXi Automatic, and even after 4 months, there was no movement. Got no updates on when it would get delivered. Looked like automatics don't move fast, and only manuals were come in. So finally gave up and went for Jazz. Looks like some things never change!

Try reaching out to Maruti over Twitter etc and see if you get any response.
sanchari is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th September 2021, 08:25   #4847

Originally Posted by sudhindraaithal View Post
If I need to escalate this, who do I talk to in the dealership?
Ertiga seems to have a long waiting period of 6 odd months, based on what I have seen posted on various groups. Your booking docket should have the email id/phone number of the Maruti RSM who you can reach out to. Do reach out to him/her and request for clarity and ask to fast track delivery. I had to do this for my car recently and the RSM did respond and provide a clearer picture of when I can expect delivery.

Last edited by procrj : 30th September 2021 at 08:26.
procrj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2021, 10:50   #4848

Originally Posted by sanchari View Post
Five years ago, I faced similar issue! I had booked Ertiga ZXi Automatic, and even after 4 months, there was no movement. Got no updates on when it would get delivered. Looked like automatics don't move fast, and only manuals were come in. So finally gave up and went for Jazz. Looks like some things never change!

Try reaching out to Maruti over Twitter etc and see if you get any response.
Thank you sanchari, will try escalating within the dealership first before going the social media way

Originally Posted by procrj View Post
Ertiga seems to have a long waiting period of 6 odd months, based on what I have seen posted on various groups. Your booking docket should have the email id/phone number of the Maruti RSM who you can reach out to. Do reach out to him/her and request for clarity and ask to fast track delivery. I had to do this for my car recently and the RSM did respond and provide a clearer picture of when I can expect delivery.
Thank you procrj. I have thoroughly enjoyed your thread on Brique . I am currently in contact with the RSM but he also seems helpless. There are a few other contacts in the booking email we got, will try reaching out to them.
I might also look at booking an XL6 if I can get it earlier. I was always for the XL6 but my wife wanted an Ertiga for its 7 seater capacity. I might be able to convince her now to buy the XL6.
Old 30th September 2021, 12:06   #4849

Originally Posted by starrys987 View Post
Make: Hyundai
Model: Tucson
Variant: GLS 4WD
Fuel: Diesel
Transmission: 8 speed AT
Color: Starry Night
Booking date: 01 Sep 2021
Expected delivery : 5th Oct 2021
Took delivery of the vehicle yesterday 29th Sept
starrys987 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th September 2021, 15:09   #4850

After serving us for 13 years we had to exchange our beloved Ford Fiesta 1.6

Make : Toyota
Model : Urban Cruiser
Variant : High MT
Fuel : Petrol
Colour : White
Booking Date : 27/Sept/2021
Expected Delivery Date : 07/Oct/2021 (On first day of Navrathri)
Dealer and City : United Toyota, Mangalore
On Road Price : 11.49 L
Freebies : Discussion in progress
Discount : 25k cash discount and reduced 4.3K from 14.3K accessory cost(rear camera, front arm rest,fog lamps.)

They gave us a good rate for our Fiesta.
Test drive(multiple) to Booking experience has been great except initially confirmed that i will get a September manufactured car but when i checked the VIN it was July manufactured and then apologised citing they were not aware.

Last November had booked Sonet HTX MT Diesel at 12.36L on road, waited till March and Naara KIA kept on postponing the delivery so cancelled the booking.
pudarsanketh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2021, 16:26   #4851

After months of research and test drives, booked MS Scross Zeta MT(Granite grey) with Indus motors(Nexa), Ernakulam. They provided a better offer than Popular motors and after all the discounts on road price is coming to 11.05 lakhs. Delivery within 15th days.
MichaelBallack is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th October 2021, 11:59   #4852

Insurance policy has been generated for my car and i see that the IDV is 890625 while the ex-showroom price is 937500.
Wanted to understand for new vehicles IDV will be 95% of the ex-showroom price ?
Old 4th October 2021, 14:13   #4853

Ha! What a joy to be posting in the "I booked my car" thread!!

The last time was in 2018. Last 3 years have been pretty tough, all credit to Covid19. I finally have bitten the new car purchase bullet

Car that it replaces : My 2015 Ciaz ZDI that I sold in January 2021.

Usage : 100-120 km a day / 35000 km per year

Make : Tata
Model : Altroz
Variant : XZ(O), MT(As though altroz has an AT lol)
Fuel : Diesel
Colour : Downtown Red with dual tone black roof

Waiting period : 40 days (I might just pester the brains out of them into getting it earlier)

Ex show room : 9,19,400
Life tax & Regn : 95,000
Insurance (1 Comprehensive + 3 TP) : 43,800
Ext. Warranty : 6500 (3 years & 75000 km)
Basic Accessories : 3000

Total on road : 10,67,740

I shaved off 10k from insurance and another 2k as cash discount.

Total after discounts : 10,55,000

This will be my 7th Tata car in the last 2 decades and 2nd Tata car currently in my garage. Feels good to find a car in Tata which has almost no compromise. Safe, gorgeous, spacious, powerful enough, a lot of features and terrific fuel efficiency.

Other car(s) considered:

Tata Nexon XM(S) diesel

Why chose Altroz over Nexon :

1. Looks
2. More VFM. Even though nexon xm is mych less feature-wise, it was 1.1 lakh costlier
3. I wanted top trim and I don't care about the image/segment or Ground clearance

What I miss in altroz that nexon has?

That creamy punchy 108 bhp tune and 6 speed MT, plus sunroof (child in me likes it). But these are not deal-breakers as the altroz 90 bhp 200 Nm itself is punchy enough.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 4th October 2021 at 14:41.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 4th October 2021, 17:31   #4854

After buying my i20 in 2012 and running it over 1.5 lac kilometers, was contemplating on upgrading to a SUV.

Considered Alturas, but did not get a positive feedback from existing owners.

Was waiting for XUV7OO, boy, what a piece.

Booked one today! (not exactly, but gave the booking cheque in advance)

Model: XUV 7OO
Variant: AX7 L (Diesel)
Color: Midnight Black.

Can't wait to get my hand on it!
abhijeetsng is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 6th October 2021, 18:56   #4855

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post

Usage : 100-120 km a day / 35000 km per year

Make : Tata
Model : Altroz
Variant : XZ(O), MT(As though altroz has an AT lol)
Fuel : Diesel
Colour : Downtown Red with dual tone black roof
Changed my booking to the top of the line

Altroz 1.5 D XZ+ Downtown Red

Reason :

Tata has removed TFT instrument cluster from the XZ(O). I cannot put up with the LCD ugly cluster that XZ(O) currently gets.
Moreover I get these extra

1. Leatherette seats (not a big deal though)
2. One touch up& down for driver window (XZ has only one touch down)
3. IRA connectivity
4. Express cool feature
5. Rear fog lamp
6. Better wiper blades
7. Instrument controls on steering instead of ugly stalks in console of XZ(O)

The extra cost was just 45k. I will be using this car for 6 or 7 years. I did not want to be sitting inside the cabin 2 hours every day, looking at the speedo console and regretting that I should have gone for top most variant.

OTR : 11,12,000
Discount: 12,000

Delivery : 40 days waiting period

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 6th October 2021 at 19:08.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 6th October 2021, 19:03   #4856

Went ahead and booked MG Hector Plus Sharp Hybrid Manual

Make : MG
Model : Hector Plus
Variant : Sharp Hybrid MT
Fuel : Petrol
Colour : Burgundy Red
Booking Date : 31/Sept/2021
Expected Delivery Date : 11/Oct/2021
Dealer and City : Jubilant, Bangalore
On Road Price : 23,03,244 (including 12,000 Maintenance Package; No Accessories)
Freebies : None
Discount : None

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 7th October 2021 at 23:19. Reason: typo in model name.
TSEA is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th October 2021, 13:00   #4857

Originally Posted by abhijeetsng View Post
Can't wait to get my hand on it!
But you may have to wait.
Ensure your cheque doesn't get lost in the 25,000 official bookings it gathered so far!
balenoed_ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2021, 14:41   #4858

Originally Posted by balenoed_ View Post
But you may have to wait.
Ensure your cheque doesn't get lost in the 25,000 official bookings it gathered so far!
Booked within the first 25000 bookings. Got confirmation today.
abhijeetsng is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2021, 22:21   #4859

Originally Posted by abhijeetsng View Post
Booked within the first 25000 bookings. Got confirmation today.
Managed to book the XUV 700 today too. Harrowing experience, but ultimately managed by a stroke of luck!

Booked the AX7 Petrol AT (Everest White).
Booking amount: 21,000/-
Waiting for the Mahindra team to reach out for further formalities.
IamNikhil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2021, 22:30   #4860

Originally Posted by TSEA View Post
Went ahead and booked MG Hector Plus Sharp Hybrid Manual

Freebies : None
Discount : None
Congrats on the booking. Just curious, are there no discounts at all on MG despite the brand facing stiff competition from Tata, Mahindra, Toyota and others? Even Toyota dealers do offer 15-20K off as a token these days on the Innova.
sid_deb is offline   (1) Thanks