Team-BHP > What Car?

Search this Thread
Old 21st February 2011, 07:31   #1
BHPian

Finalized to buy my first car, need a little help here

Greetings,
After a lot of thought i have decided to buy a new car

Need for a new Car:
I am an IT professional and ride to office on a daily basis on my bike (A biker at heart), but following points have made me consider buying a car
1. Poor road conditions - They give me a backache at time, i need a comfortable office commuter
2. Trips outside city on weekends - I still can't give up on my long drives, too much addicted to it
3. Increased driving distance from home to office - A job switch caused the to and fro distance to go up by 15 KMS
4. Driving in wet / cold conditions - Reaching office in heavy and unpredictable Pune rains becomes a trouble at times
(by now you must have understood since i mention the word office so many times, i am a workaholic)
5. Growing pollution - it might sound weird but the pollution levels in city are having a bad impact on my health,
ideally we should all be driving battery cars to preserve nature instead of buying gas guzzlers
but that is a different argument and a never ending one so not now
6. Hatchback car for city drive - We own a Tata estate and driving it around tight city roads is not an easy task (trust me on this)

Planned purchase Date: March 2011
Budget: 5 Lacs
Monthly Running: 1000 km
Criteria: With Growing petrol prices, petrol engines are out of question, CNG or Diesel is the way to go for now

The Hunt:
I Know i am hunting for a car in the most densely populated segment which offers maximum options,
But here is my opinion on them (this is IMHO, no personal attacks are being made here)
1. Honda Jazz - I could buy 2 cars in the price of this car, and i dont even understand why it costs so much
2. VW Polo - They claim it to be best in class, i claim it is heavily overpriced