News

Advice needed: Buying a used 2014 Ford Ecosport petrol for 3.5 lacs

The owner says the mileage is about 11-12 kmpl in City. With the rising petrol prices this is also a concern.

BHPian tyronshoelaces recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I am in the market for a used car and recently got an opportunity to buy a 2014 ecosport ambiente petrol at a price of 3.5 lakhs. My mechanic said that the car is in great condition, and when I test drove it, I liked it too. It has done about 40k kms and it is driven by one person only so far. Other than the usual Ford no longer being in India concerns, I have the following thoughts as well;

• Registration and name transfer will take another Rs. 10k. So that makes it 3.6 lakhs. The tax is due in Feb 2024, so thats another 40-45k. So effectively the car becomes a 4 lakh car.
  • I understand from reading this forum that the diesel engine is very good in ecosport and also the dragon petrol. But I dont have much clue on the petrol engine of a 2014 ecosport. How reliable is this one?
  • The owner says the mileage is about 11-12 kmpl in City. With the rising petrol prices this is also a concern.
  • If I need to sale this car in 3-4 years, I am probably not able to get anything out of it. Ford not being in India anymore along with the fact that its already a 8 year old car and there is now a 15 year policy for cars in my state, these 2 facts will lead to very little resale vaue.

My heart says but this car, but can't convince my head yet. That is why I am asking your advice on this. The main things I am looking for is reliability, stable ride especially in highways, and safety.

So what do you think? Should I go for it or is it not worth it at this price?

Thank you.

Here's what BHPian deehunk had to say on the matter:

Since this is a 8 year old car, suspension, tyres and batery may have to be replaced. In used car market, meter tampering is rampant, so no guarantee about odometer readings.If you plan to keep the car for 2 years, expect a depreciation of 60-70% of buying price. The realistic mileage will be 10-12 kmpl on an average. My offer price to the seller will be 2.5 to 2.7 lakhs.

Here's what BHPian rkv_2401 had to say on the matter:

4 lakhs for an 8 year old Ecosport Ambiente petrol? That's likely more than 60-65% of it's price when it was brand new!

Read BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Love Cars Live Cars