News

Is it worth buying a used Mahindra E2O today

Spoke to someone who bought from him too and he has been using it for about 2 months and getting 140 km quite easily.

BHPian Parambir recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I have been contemplating for sometime to get an EV. Saw the Nexon and was really impressed by the specs. However, it is a little beyond my reach or so to say, more than I would like to put in an EV.

Came across a guy who is selling E2O Plus (around 4 lacs for 2018 model). Completely tested and assured 140 km range. Spoke to someone who bought from him too and he has been using it for about 2 months and getting 140 km quite easily.

So the question now arises - is it worth getting this or should one wait for say electric Wagon R, Kwid electric and likes?

Here's what BHPian Everlearner had to say on the matter:

E2O is definitely not a very desirable EV today when compared to newer options.

However, If you have an immediate need for an electric cars and expect a lot of running, go ahead and get this one. The fuel savings alone can payoff your investment.

I don't think WagonR EV will be launched anytime soon and don't think there will be any option below 5-6L atleast for another year. If you can wait, it's worth waiting and checking out Altroz EV which should launch in the near future.

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

Absolutely not. The E2O Plus was a compromised EV, backed by shoddy support. It's like buying an iPhone 3 today. The technology is fast evolving and I would suggest you to wait until your budget permits a better EV. A handful of years from now, all the EVs of today will start hitting the used market.

You don't want to live with this kind of a nightmare - read this, this and this.

If you want to go electric, either buy a new EV or get a 2-wheeler.

Here's what BHPian hgps had to say on the matter:

Absolutely not. I have driven E2O numerous times (Zoomcar), it doesn't feel like a regular car at all. Everything from steering, accelerator to brakes, felt disconnected. Driving dynamics was scary (I didn't have guts to drive above 50 kmph). Moreover, assured range of 140 km doesn't feel realistic for a used E2O.

Best thing would be to wait for a couple of years, like other members suggested.

Here's what BHPian speedmiester had to say on the matter:

As an ex-Owner of E2O, I have one word for you - "Avoid".

There are lot of issues with the car and the support from Mahindra is quite bad. Parts are hard to come by even though the manufacturing facility is close to Bangalore. Service is now relegated to just few centres and there are not many people who are qualified to diagnose issues. Also it is from a different era and the newer EVs are much much better than what the E2O was.

Highly recommend to wait till there are better options in the markets.

Here's what BHPian Axe77 had to say on the matter:

You have not mentioned your desired usage. Subject to that here is what I think.

If you MUST have an EV, at the LOWEST possible price, then you can go ahead.

What you must be cognizant of is that you are buying an ancient vehicle (by 2021 standards), which has a really modest body shell and safety I assume and has limited space compared to even other basic hatchbacks like Wagon R. You should also be mindful that while you are paying 4 lakh, what the marketability or residual value of the E2O might be is questionable. You may have a disproportionate loss when you want to off load this.

A scooter is not the same as a car at the end of the day but depending on your desired usage, you could consider a modern EV scooter like Ola S1 or similar if that equally meets your needs.

But if you must have a roof with electric mobility and willing to have a very very ordinary user experience, you can go for it. I don't think any other EV that launches will anyway be anything less than 8 - 9 lakh on road. Personally I think you're better off saving that money in an EV kitty, wait for more offerings (Tigor EV with a very good range is already launched) and go for this maybe 12 - 18 months later when the market has matured and perhaps your budget can get you something a lot more for your money.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Power to the people