Lewis Hamilton wins the 2019 Spanish GP


Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton has won the 2019 Spanish Grand Prix ahead of his team mate Valtteri Bottas, while Red Bull's Max Verstappen finished in the third place.

Bottas started from pole position but lost the lead to Hamilton at the start of the race. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) tried to attack going into the first corner but locked up his brakes. This gave Verstappen a chance to attack the Ferrari and move into the third place. In the end, Vettel had to settle for a fourth place finish.

With a flat-spotted front tyre, Vettel was down on pace. Therefore, Ferrari decided to let Charles Leclerc past the German to try and catch up with the leaders. However, neither of the red cars had the pace to challenge the front runners. Leclerc finished the race in fifth place.

Red Bull's Pierre Gasly came sixth ahead of Kevin Magnussen in the Haas. Carlos Sainz was the best placed McLaren in eighth place. His team mate Lando Norris brought out the safety car on lap 46 after colliding with Racing Point's Lance Stroll. Daniil Kvyat (Torro Rosso) finished in ninth ahead of Romain Grosjean (Haas).

Lewis Hamilton registered the fastest lap of the race. He now moves into the lead of the World Championship standings, while Verstappen moves into third place. The next race will be held in Monaco on May 26, 2019.

World Drivers' Championship standings:

Lewis Hamilton - 112

Valtteri Bottas - 105

Max Verstappen - 66

World Constructors' Championship standings:

Mercedes - 217

Ferrari - 121

Red Bull - 87

Redlining the Indian Scene