News

My first car: Looking for a fun-to-drive automatic SUV under Rs 25 lakh

I've shortlisted Hyundai Creta, Kia Seltos, Mahindra XUV700 and MG Hector.

BHPian NithinR recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hello there, fellow petrolheads!

I hope everyone's doing fine. I'd like your help to decide on my first car (we have a 12-year-old Tata Manza Diesel, but it's a family car bought by my father, and this is going to be my first purchase).

My requirements

I'm a techie living in Chennai, so most of my driving is going to be in the city and in traffic. My hometown is 500 km away, so maybe I would be driving on the highway once a month. Also, I'm planning to get married in the near future, so I might plan some sudden trips. I like driving, so I want a fun-to-drive petrol SUV (since diesel is slowly disappearing from the market) with an automatic transmission (I do want to save myself from future knee pains).

My budget

Rs 25 lakhs (maybe I could stretch it by 2 lakhs tops, but not more than that).

Let me give a quick summary of what I like and don't like about the cars I'm looking at.

Hyundai Creta

• Strong overall performance.
  • Hyundai's after-sales service quality.

Dislikes

• I'm not a fan of Creta's styling (only my POV).
  • DCT issues.
  • Backseat space.
  • Could I afford a larger vehicle within my budget?

Kia Seltos

• From my perspective, I adore Kia's styling and sharp features.
  • Good performance from the engine.
  • More features and premium interiors than Creta.

Dislikes

• Should I hold off until the 2023 model?
  • Backseat space
  • DCT issues
  • Could I afford a larger vehicle within my budget?

XUV 700

• Engine has a lot of power.
  • Spacious and well-designed interior.
  • ADAS as well as other features such as audio, a sunroof, and memory seats.
  • Good automatic when compared to DCT.
  • Stronger road presence.

Dislikes

• No Ventilated seats
  • A lengthy waiting period

Hector

• Reasonably priced given the features and space.
  • Lots of connected features and a huge infotainment.
  • A smooth and comfortable ride.

Dislikes

• I'm not sure about the Argyle front grille (I haven't seen the 2023 model yet).
  • Inadequate petrol engine for its size and weight (will you sacrifice occasional highway performance for city comfort??)

I request my fellow BHPians to give their views and help me zero in on my first car. Kindly add any other cars that you consider to be good choices that I have left out.

Here's what BHPian revsperminute had to say about the matter:

Do take a look at the 1.5TSI Taigun/Kushaq. They are comfortably in your budget, have enough space, are fun to drive and safely built. On top of that, those cars are so easygoing in the city given their relatively compact footprint and high GC.

I would suggest you to give the Hector a miss. It’s the furthest thing from fun to drive. It has soft suspension, an engine that’s always wheezing due to the amount of weight it has to carry and a CVT box singing the songs of its people.

PS- The Virtus GT is also a great shout. It has oodles of ground clearance.

Here's what BHPian bijims had to say about the matter:

In my opinion, the Mahindra XUV700 would be your best bet, but you should probably get the diesel automatic variant instead of the petrol, Diesel engines in larger SUVs and luxury cars are not going away anytime soon, moreover, the price difference between the petrol and diesel XUV700 is hardly 80k, but the mileage difference would more than make up for the price. Moreover, performance is exemplary too.

Another alternative you could consider is the Tata Harrier, but you considering its facelift is due in less than a year's time, I wouldn't recommend the current generation. Moreover, there have been many niggles reported in the current-gen Harrier which should also be taken into consideration.

The Toyota Innova Hycross could have been considered but you only get the CVT petrol model within your budget, moreover, it ain't likely to be the best performer either, the Hybrid, on the other hand, was worth a shot, but an MPV isn't necessarily required considering your current scenario.

The Skoda Kushaq/VW Taigun DSG could have been potential options for their excellent performance, safety, and driveability but I think you would prefer a bigger car considering your budget.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Redlining the Indian Automotive Scene