News

My Vento TDI completes 1.57L km: Major service update & part changes

The maddening torque surge and the high fuel efficiency figures for a 1600cc diesel mill are just a great combination.

BHPian gaurav.kokra recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hello again everyone!

The current odometer right now is around 1,57,500 km.

Post the last service in Mar 2021, the car was driven around 8000 km. Although, the recommended interval is 15000kms for this VAG diesel, but I don't like stretching more than 10000 km or more than 1.5 years in time intervals. Therefore, in 2022 I did the service in the month of May. Since then, I have driven only 3500 km which is very brutal for this diesel as they are meant to be a daily workhorse and not to be sitting around at home.

I am saying this because whenever I drive her on a daily basis, she is butter smooth, peppy and the typical VW clatter and crudeness are gone. But when she is driven, let's say even on a regular gap of 2 days, she is grumpy, crude, clattery and needs at least 20-25 mins to somewhere get back in that mushy and smooth zone. This might also be because the first 15 mins I drive her very sedately.

I have given up going to the service centre for basic servicing because of the following reasons:

1. Their labour charges are through the roof.
  2. They fill the engine oil only till half the dipstick level. On asking to top it up to the max, they say that is what the company recommended.
  3. On asking for an extra 1 LTR bottle of engine oil, they refuse and ask to visit the service centre for the same.
  4. They frown upon asking to stand near the vehicle when being serviced.
  5. My friends Polo was making a humming noise on the full turn. When this was replicated in front of the technician, he refused to acknowledge there was any sound as he was deaf.

Even after facing all of the above, I went again to them as my suspension was clunking. A BIG MISTAKE! More on that later.

So, for the 2022 service, I ordered the following parts. As in my previous post, I always order when there is free delivery on Boodmo on OEM parts and filters. So far, my servicing schedule and their free delivery offer period have been in sync.

1. Air Filter
  2. Oil Filter
  3. AC Filter (charcoal based)
  4. Fuel Filter
  5. OEM VAG Gear oil
  6. OEM VAG DOT 4 Brake oil
  7. OE Drain nut (as I had not changed this for the past 2 services I guess)
  8. Maruti OE Caliper grease (Orange colour)
  9. Motul 5w40 8100 X-Cess (from Amazon)

Attaching pic for viewing pleasure.

The air filter, AC filter and fuel filter were changed by me. But the oil filter housing requires a 32mm HEX nut to open. Also, previously when I tried to open the drain nut while the car was jacked up, the car was swinging left and right. Me being a healthy person would surely act as a great mattress for the car if the jack somehow slipped. I'll be buying a proper jack stand and then only be attempting this next.

I had a list of stuff to be done at the NG (neighbourhood garage not FNG).

• Brake caliper pins cleaning and greasing.
  • Brake pads rubbing on sandpaper.
  • Engine oil and filter change.
  • Cleaning the calipers and another area with a wire brush.
  • Gear oil change.

The guy did not clean the calipers well and was using a very dirty cloth for doing the same. I had to be on his head all the time to do the job properly.

Then, he did not have the sandpaper to sand down the brake pads. I had to go and buy them from 4 km away.

Also, he did not have the tool to open the gearbox drain nut.

And the worst thing I don't like is when they leave the caliper hanging loose with all the weight on the brake hose. I myself had to particularly ask them to not do that. This is done even at good and renowned service centres. That thing is the very heavy man!

Anyways, after paying a freaking 800 bucks for this shoddy job and a heated argument with the owner, I left his place and told him that he lost great business with me as I had a lot of work to be done on the car down the line. His defence for the high labour charge was that the car was a VW and not some Maruti. I said "bhai bolt to saari gaadi me same aate hai. Us se kya farak padega ?" But I realized it was my mistake to not confirm the prices before going ahead with the work.

Got the alignment done too. Skipped the wheel balancing as I did not feel the need for it.

Gear Oil change

Later in the week, I went to some other guy to get the gear oil changed. He too did not have a nut dedicated to this purpose, but he used some bolts to do the job. Charged me 120 bucks for it. Took almost 1 hour as I wanted to drain every single drop of the gear oil.

Brake flushing

I went ahead with the brake flushing myself because my experience with VW Vapi was very bad (back in 2019). After charging me 1100 bucks with only flushing fluid from the front tyres and leaving the rear Tyres and the clutch fluid line untouched really got on my nerve. Again, gave my feedback and left the place to never return until 2022. More and that later!

So, I bought 2 nos OE VW DOT 4 brake fluid and 1 litre for 526 bucks each. Really wanted to flush it well including the clutch line.

All went well. Removed the fluid from the reservoir. Used the hand wash pump for this cause. The fluid was completely black.

Did the flushing on all 4 tyres. Now was the time for the clutch line. It is situated just above the gearbox. It is NOT easily accessible. For comfortable access, one has to remove the air filter completely.

I did not remove the assembly, but I only removed the piping and the leads from the front to the air filter box.

I just used both my hands with the spaces the arrows indicate and my wife pumping the clutch up and down.

But I would suggest you remove the air filter housing and then proceed because this procedure does take time and is really backbreaking.

Post this procedure my heart sank along with the clutch pedal! It was not coming back up automatically. I tried fiddling around here and there. Tried searching on the internet with nothing to be found to help my situation.

This is where Gannu Sir came to the rescue. I generally keep texting him about my small doubts and stuff. I really did not want to bother him more, but I was in a bad situation. I texted him and the first thing he told me is not to worry about it. It will be fixed easily.

In his words, if someone else might also need help:

1. Pump the clutch pedal several times to build up the pressure.
  2. Keep the clutch pedal depressed.
  3. Open the valve.
  4. Drain Fluid. The pedal will sink during this process.
  5. Close the valve.
  6. Raise the pedal by hand manually.

And yes, I was saved. I had thought what not about getting the vehicle towed and all. Thanks again Gannu Sir!

ABS ISSUE IS SOLVED!!!

As you might have read that I was plagued with the ABS issue even after getting all the sensors changed and did not want to give my vehicle to the mechanic as he was asking to let him keep the vehicle for 2-3 days.

One day, I decided enough is enough and sat down with my small toolbox.

The wiring issue could have been anywhere with a very high probability of not being able to solve the problem myself.

Still, I went ahead and opened the front right wheel first along with the fender lining.

To my luck, I found the mistake on my first attempt itself. I am really sorry to not have the before pic.

It was a rat bite and was found just as the wires enter the cowl area below the windshield.

I wanted to do repairing the nice way but using 2-way connectors and crimping tools and stuff, but time and availability of the same did not allow me and I went the old-fashioned way of making the joint and taping it up nicely. I used an ample amount of FeviBond inside and around the joint as well as outside to make it completely foolproof and waterproof.

It has been almost a year now and has driven 12,000 km since then. I had done this in November 2021, and it has done its job well. Survived the rains too. So, no issues! Touchwood!

Attaching pics for viewing pleasure.

EGR Pipe Cleaning!

Diesel engines are known to eat their own gunk. The EGR sends the waste gases back into the intake while the crankcase ventilation sends the engine oil vapours also into the intake. These two gel together and make a gooey mixture which clogs up the intake manifold. Opening the EGR pipe was a simple process of opening 3 screws only. I did the job myself and to my horror found this:

This is the attachment which routes the EGR exhaust gases from the EGR pipe and into the intake manifold. Its location is also inside the intake manifold only.

So clogged! Not for the light-hearted!

The intake manifolds condition is poor too. Sadly, that does not have camera access, but my fingers could feel at least 2-3 mm of gunk on the intakes.

Really wanted to take this job up by myself. It involves a special type of star screw to remove the fuel lines from the top of it. Therefore, the lack of availability of the tool and the fear of getting the injectors locked if the air is not bled out properly is keeping me away from it. I'll let the intake manifold be choked for a while.

Post-cleaning, there is no change in performance but have some sort of satisfaction in my head.

Important parts that need to be taped below the engine cover

It might just be me being overprotective. But the engine cover due to the vibrations is rubbing off some parts below it which it is coming in contact with. So, I used electrical tape to protect them from wearing them off further. I would advise fellow 1.6, 1.5 and 1.2 TDI owners to do the same if you find this practical.

Exterior Detailing

I tried to change the detailer I usually went to and went to Ride in Styl Vapi. It was ok. I was charged 3500 rupees.

This was done in Nov 2021.

They did not heavily compound the exterior and used 3M perfect-it or some one-step polisher. Is this how the exterior paint detailing is done? Just polish it away. Also, not every nook and corner was cleaned. The black trims of the car were not restored. In the end, I felt it was my mistake to expect, big players/industry-level outcomes. Anyways, the paint was taken care of for some time.

In Nov 2022, I wanted to go back to the previous detailer but after a bit of research on the internet, I thought every year thorough detailing is overdoing and killing the paint. This is because, on compounding, you are slowly removing the clear coat level by level. Hence, I thought of skipping it this year and just waxing the car myself.

Just to record it, I don't get my vehicle cleaned on a daily basis. I use a waterless wash solution for those occasions when the car has to be neat and clean. Other than that, I get the car washed only once in two months because the water here in Silvassa is hard and is prone to scaling.

AC Compressor Control Valve Change

Around September 2021, the AC's cooling effectiveness was slowly decreasing. It was becoming difficult for the family to stay inside the car with the windows closed.

I got the AC gas checked and all was fine. But the person was knowledgeable enough to know the issue. He immediately told that the control valve needs to be changed.

The AC Compressor is of Sanden make with clutch and magnet type mechanism. I had read this on Gannu Sir's thread also. Hence, went ahead with the same.

It has been a year and cooling is back to normal.

For 2 people in the front, I keep the temperature at 25 or 26 with the Fan speed at 1 or 2.

At peak times during the afternoon, the fan speed is 3-4. I have no window tints or any kind of sun blinds in my car.

Intercooler Leak Issue

The intercooler outlet pipe had to be removed while removing the AC compressor. He did not install it back properly because of which air was leaking. Although there was no drop in performance, the pipe was fully soiled with oil and dirt.

I removed it myself cleaned it thoroughly and installed it nicely and tightly again. No leakage now.

Post-Shocker Change Observations

I did not want to go for the after-market dampers like Monroe or Gabriel. I wanted only OEM.

Post the change, the car has been so so stable!

Initially where I used to drive around 60 km/h, but now I drive at 80 without even realizing it.

But the shockers are so stiff, that they are bone-jarring on bad roads. I literally have to slow down till around 5 km/h so that we don't get thrown around inside the car.

It is a big trade-off but I am very happy with the stability.

The VW VAPI ASC saga is in the next post.

CONCLUSION

All in All, with all the experiences, I am very happy with the vehicle.

I take good care of her, and she rewards me in better ways.

Even at the ODO standing at 157000 km, I cannot think of replacing this. The maddening torque surge and the high FE figures for a 1600 CC diesel mill are just a great combination.

The exterior paint and the interior have lasted so well. Attaching a video for a look at the interiors.

You can skip to the last part where I have shown the interiors post a DIY detailing session of the interior.

Also, for a change, I got a steering cover installed with red stitching. Feels great to hold but makes a noise when you rub your hand on it while steering. Did not happen on the OE leather. Will change the OE leather too.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Love Cars Live Cars