News

Rs 3.5 lakh budget: Need a bike for short trips/night rides

I plan to keep the motorcycle for at least 10-12 years. I've test ridden a few bikes including the Interceptor 650, Meteor 350, and BMW G 310 R/GS.

BHPian bravo82in recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I am in my late 30s, considering a bike for short trips/night rides, mostly within the city. Just for fun and some adrenaline rush. My back and shoulder problems keep me away from touring of any sort. The last bike I owned was a CBZ classic 15 years back.

My requirements are exclusivity and trouble-free ownership. The bike should look premium and must stand out in the crowd. Have set a budget of 3-3.5 lacs and can extend it a bit. I intend to keep the bike for at least 10-12 years or maybe longer. Have shortlisted and test rode a few and my ride impressions are summarised below.

Royal Enfield Interceptor 650

This was the first and obvious choice. However, was not really impressed with the TD. Found the seat to be a bit high (I am 175 cms tall), had to extend the foot to find a stable ground at crawling speeds. The left leg kept hitting the footrest. Had to stoop forward to reach the handlebar causing lower back pain. There was no gear shift indicator and stalled the engine a couple of times due to wrong gear selection (maybe because I was riding after ages). However, the power on tap is excellent, the clutch is soft and gear shifts smooth. This bike has an exclusive cult following, is a looker and is a fairly reliable product. Endless customization options make it worth drooling for.

Royal Enfield Meteor 350

Though not on my bucket list initially, the sales executive insisted on a TD after I pointed issues with the Interceptor. However, this bike left me impressed. The ergonomics are sorted and the speedo console has all the requisite information. The large screen keeps away the wind blast. This bike actually has everything I am looking for except the exclusivity. It’s way too common on the roads.

Honda H'ness CB 350

This was the bike I felt comfortable riding. Never felt like I was riding such a heavy bike. It was so smooth and easy to handle. The only con is the looks. It’s just too boring, more like a Splendor going to the gym, especially in dual-tone. Didn’t find many customisation options on the net, unlike the Interceptor. Another issue will be the service. The nearest centre is 200kms away and I can never drive that distance.

BMW G 310 R/GS

Again, not on my bucket list, saw the 310 R on display in a mall and was really impressed with the way it looks. The next day headed to the showroom. This bike is a looker no doubts, but the driving dynamics are not that great. The gear ratio was a bit odd, so was the acceleration in lower gears. The gear shifts were precise. Felt like I was riding an Apache. Is this really BMW or a TVS Apache with a BMW label? The ergonomics of both the bikes were sorted except in G310R I had to dorsiflex my wrist way too much causing pain on the palmar aspect of the wrist joint. Had seating issues with the GS, a pain in stop and go traffic. The GS impressed me with the suspension though. Out of the two, the 310R will be my choice. Except for the looks and premium BMW label, there is not much to write about. Again service will be a pain, 200 kms away.

Yamaha Aerox 155

Although there is no comparison between the bikes above and the Aerox, the Aerox seems to fulfil my requirement. Though I am yet to test drive one, it’s a looker, expect it to remain exclusive and can do some grocery runs too. A practical choice I can say. However, I will miss the charm of owning something like the Interceptor.

Bikes not considered

• Honda CB 300 - Yet to test drive but don’t find it a looker hence not considering.
  • Jawa - Again, lack of exclusivity and quality issues as reported by users is keeping me away from Jawa.
  • Kawasaki Ninja 300 - I guess the forward stance will cause back pain, hence not considered.
  • Benelli - This brand has a couple of good options with an extended budget. Chinese connection is keeping me away. I can reconsider if the products are reliable and keeper.
  • E-bikes - I couldn’t find good options hence not considered.
  • Commuter bikes from Hero/ Bajaj, etc.

A humble request for suggestions and inputs from the forum.

Thanks and regards

Here's what BHPian Cyborg had to say about the matter:

I can sense your confusion and frustration due to your back and shoulder issues. I wish you happy, safe riding as long as you choose.

Please read your own post (read it a few times if necessary) on the RE 350 Meteor, it’s the ONLY bike you yourself say “has everything you are looking for” except exclusivity. I would strongly advise you to forget about exclusivity, why are you bothering about it!

Just buy the RE Meteor and get back to riding. Forget about exclusivity, you are buying this to make yourself happy, do not bother about world perception.

Here's what BHPian neil.jericho had to say about the matter:

Based on your requirements, I feel a few motorcycles appear to be better choices than most

• Royal Enfield Interceptor 650: With the back and shoulder issues that you alluded to, do strongly consider getting handlebar risers. Beyond that, the sky is the limit in terms of customization and making the bike your own. The Interceptor is a long term keeper and you certainly aren't going to outgrow it in a few years time.
  • TVS Apache RR 310 BTO: Leftfield choice but it is stylish, comfortable, has some very good components and will give you exclusivity as well. It definitely meets your premium feel and stands out criterion.
  • Classic 350: Same impressive characteristics of the Meteor but you might lose out on the exclusivity part.

In the end, I have a feeling that you will end up with the Interceptor 650 but do test ride a few more options before you make a final call.

Here's what BHPian nTorq had to say about the matter:

I am surprised at how Honda has been able to create a sense that the Highness is an alternative or even in the same segment as the Interceptor.

The Interceptor is a fantastic bike and is probably the most VFM parallel-twin engine in the market right now. Yes, there are a few design flaws, but those aren’t deal-breakers. Amongst the bikes you’ve listed, I think Interceptor is a no-brainer.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Power to the people