News

Used Jeep Compass or new City / Creta / Kushaq

Heart says Jeep Compass but wife says she'd love if I got a new car. My brain has shut off.

BHPian adneeraj recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I've been on the lookout of a powerful car. My current ride is a Fiesta 70 bhp diesel which I had a RD map for a while but ended up removing it. The car is 7 years old now and I feel like upgrading. I've maintained it really well. But the shortcomings are even more pronounced over the years I've done interstate road trips.

I happened to check the Skoda Kushaq and did not like its build, quality of plastics and the price - they just don't match up to the Skoda brand in general. Also, the 1.0 does not tickle me in the right areas. After owning a 70 bhp car for 7 years and having another rather uninspiring 1.2 kappa in the garage, I feel the urge to get myself a powerful vehicle.

I'm on a budget of 15 lacs and I've seen a few Jeep Compass in that price point. One particular example is in pretty good nick but is out of warranty at 3 yrs and 5 months age. I've requested the seller to have it thoroughly checked at a Jeep service center at my cost so I would at least know what I'm getting into. I'd happily walk away if the inspection suggests a large looming expense. He has obliged to do that and also get the 4th year service done at his end.

For my budget, I could only buy the Creta SX manual (a car that I hate for its looks), a City VX maybe and the Kushaq Ambition trim with the 1.0 motor.

The Jeep Compass 4x4 (the 4x4 is only added bonus with this car and not a must have) is quite compelling for the price it is being offered at. Heart says Jeep Compass but wife says she'd love if I got a new car. My brain has shut off.

I've read the lateral upgrades thread, keeping your car longer thread and consulted a fellow BHPian who has a Jeep Compass 4x4 as well. But a racing mind isn't someone who would make a good decision.

Looking forward to your perspective and appreciate your indulgence on my dilemma.

Here's what BHPian lamborghini had to say on the matter:

15L is a fair budget to look for new & used options.

Given your location of Pune & the present road conditions: do take a test drive of the Honda City across varied conditions with a full load of passengers to make sure there is no under body scraping, etc.

The Kushaq 1.0TSi is a sensible family car, but yes - the finishing apparently leaves a lot to be desired. That being said, the engine will be peppy enough. If the used compass is an option, it would be my pick.

Regarding Jeep Compass : look at options outside of Pune & if you can stretch your budget marginally. The Manual 2.0 & 1.4 would be available in your budget, and Mumbai. If you can do without features, it would be better to get a newer Sport trim as compared to an older top end trim. This is a great all rounder, in 2.0D a brilliant tourer though don't expect an upgrade in terms of space. Negotiate hard on pre-facelift models.

If you would like some more space, there is the Harrier, though have to inspect it carefully and also make sure to buy a model within warranty that can be extended, as many owners have reported niggles.

The Creta & Seltos are overpriced in my opinion, with the turbo petrols coming in at a stretch, iffy safety, and not necessarily peace of mind vehicles. The Diesels are great all rounders if you are ok with the average safety kit. The premium you pay today to purchase it is generally given back during resale if you time the switch well: I am seeing some cars quoting more than what the owner probably bought it for!

The last option I would suggest would be the dated Rapid. It won't be an upgrade from the Fiesta, and is dated. But mature ride & handling, with a capable engine, above average safety levels, decent extended warranty and service packages, etc. make it seem like a good option as well, especially given the prices.

Here's what BHPian Dr.AD had to say on the matter:

If you are indeed getting a Jeep Compass 4x4 in your budget, and if the car is indeed a genuine car (no accident vehicle) with clean paperwork and is in good condition, then I would definitely say that is the best deal. If I were in your position, I would pick this over any of the other options you mentioned.

From your post, your primary criterion or "urge", if I may say so, seems to be a powerful engine. And the 2.0D of Jeep Compass with 170hp will definitely feel like a proper engine upgrade over your current 70hp diesel motor. Not just the engine, but even for ride quality, the Jeep Compass is certainly one class ahead of all other choices you mentioned.

If you like to tour remote area, rural areas, and do long distance drives, then the overall characteristics of Jeep Compass and the added bonus of 4x4 make it a perfect choice.

The key is getting a clean and well maintained example. If you find one, I would definitely recommend that.

Here's what BHPian Bibendum90949 had to say on the matter:

The biggest problem I see here is you're coming from a Fiesta - one of the best driver's car we ever had. Most of the modern cars under 20 lakhs today can't hold a candle to Fiesta 's driving dynamics. Hence buying cars such as City would be a huge downgrade. The interiors and feature list can only give you as much joy. After the initial aura dies down, when you're behind the wheels, you'll start to miss your Fiesta. A friend who moved from a Fiat Linea to Honda City rues the decision. I don't mean to say City is a bad car but I feel what car you come from is important while choosing/upgrading to next car.

As few members suggested, Jeep Compass MT Diesel would be your best bet. Else a well maintained Skoda Octavia Diesel. If at all you end with up with a C SUV, Seltos is the best of the lot in terms of driving pleasure but at the cost of safety. There are sparingly used Seltoses which are up for sale in your budget. Go for a diesel MT or AT and stay away from DCT(reliability)and IVT(boring).

An Eco Sport won't be an upgrade for you either. Everything else is a compromise I reckon purely from driving point of view. So encompass the Compass! The Jeep service and spares won't be as good and cheap as Ford. So brace for that too. Happy hunting!

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

7 years is too early to sell a car, but if it has just ~70 BHP, well, time to upgrade. Even budget hatchbacks today have more power. Definitely time for the Fiesta to go.

Because you've owned a Fiesta, you need a car with a good build + sorted dynamics. IMHO, a pre-owned Jeep Compass Diesel (not petrol) is the best car for you. For 15 lakhs, you'll get very good examples and in case you see an exceptional one, extend your budget for the same. In the long run, 50k - lakh here and there don't matter. What does is the kind of car you bought & the driving pleasure it gives you. In terms of fun, the Compass is a rockstar on the open road & easily as much fun as a Mercedes C-Class.

Be sure to go through our used car checklist & diligently follow all steps listed there, including a PPI, calling the insurance company to check for big claims, flood damage, service history, warranty replacements to spot a lemon, a long test-drive etc.

Move fast because it's a seller's market out there. Don't wait too long on a great piece. Adding a poll to spice things up here.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Redlining the Indian Automotive Scene