Old 19th September 2007, 14:46   #1

Suggestions for a first car?

I am planning my first car, going for a new one. not well know with the driving fundas, so need your help in choosing a good car.
budget is around 7 lakhs (on road).
decent FE.
City driving mainly and once in 4-6 months highways.
Petrol vehicle.
decent service support, i am in Hyderabad.
Good City handling.
Good control over road at highspeeds.
decent comfort for rear seaters.
Cost of spares should not be expensive.
engine should be good keeping view of FE.
i am not bothered about resale value.
vehicle should be good looking.
should driving pleasure.
looking for either Z Black or diamond white(creamy).

Please pass on your inputs.........

thanks and regards
Narender
Hyderabad
Old 19th September 2007, 18:24   #2

id say the sx4 vxi or the zxi if you can stretch your budget a little bit. if you want a hatch then the palio is the best. you can also wait for the fabia.
Old 19th September 2007, 18:28   #3

Welcome to the team, Narender. Your requirements point toward an SX4; test drive one and I am sure you will find it delivers exactly what you are looking for. If you are extremely keen on FE and refinement, check out the New Honda City also.
Old 19th September 2007, 18:33   #4

I would also suggest SX4. Meets all your requirement. But I heard that it has 2-3 months waiting period. Hoping that's not a problem with you.
Old 19th September 2007, 20:11   #5

Hows is Ford fiesta........
Old 19th September 2007, 20:38   #6

I feel city exi will be the ideal car within your budget and given the kind of driving you are going to do.
Old 19th September 2007, 20:54   #7

NHC will not fit into 7 lakhs onroad price. SX4 vxi, Verna Xi, Aveo should meet your requirememts.

Test drive all three and select the one that you are comfortable with.
Old 20th September 2007, 00:26   #8
aks316

hi.. i think chevrolet aveo 1.6 with airbags and abs is a good option and it will suit all your requirements.. as it is around 7 lakhs, good looks, handling is good, decent fe, very stable car, spare parts not expensive, upmarket interiors, lots of features, comfortable rear and front seats and it is a value for money car.. but i dont know about the service support in hyderabad as i dont live there so that you have to find out or ask other members.. tc.

Old 20th September 2007, 11:59   #9

Originally Posted by Arjun1010 View Post
I am planning my first car, going for a new one. not well know with the driving fundas, so need your help in choosing a good car.
budget is around 7 lakhs (on road).
decent FE.
City driving mainly and once in 4-6 months highways.
Petrol vehicle.
decent service support, i am in Hyderabad.
Good City handling.
Good control over road at highspeeds.
decent comfort for rear seaters.
Cost of spares should not be expensive.
engine should be good keeping view of FE.
i am not bothered about resale value.
vehicle should be good looking.
should driving pleasure.
looking for either Z Black or diamond white(creamy).

Please pass on your inputs.........

thanks and regards
Narender
Hyderabad

Look at Logan its good car or you can go for Accent also its price has been slashed down its 4.99 lakhs only !
Old 20th September 2007, 12:44   #10

Originally Posted by Arjun1010 View Post
Hows is Ford fiesta........
IMO, go for Fiesta if you want a diesel, which you do not. But the maintenance costs for a Ford are higher than cars in the same category.

I think the SX4 is tailor made for your requirements. Other than that, you can wait for the Swift Sedan which is expected in January 08.

Also, if you can extend your budget a wee bit, look at Honda City.

But my vote goes to the SX4
Old 20th September 2007, 13:25   #11

Hi Narendra
I reckon the best buy in that price can either be a Chevrolet Aveo [ as I bought it just three days back and pretty happy with everything especially the interiors] or you could go for a NHC.. Both these car are good on FE, performance, looks, exterior design, Interiors, classic feel to drive.... thats all what I looked for while buying and got it in Aveo.....
Old 20th September 2007, 15:06   #12

Chevy Aveo! Looks even greater in Black. It now comes with 3year/1lakh km warranty + Chevy Promise.
Old 20th September 2007, 16:47   #13

i heard some info on SX4, but its not worth going for base version. as my budget...5.5 to 6 lacs (exshow room) and 6 to 7 On road.... I am planning a company leased car. thats why the limits. SX4 Zxi...is 7.02 lacs ex-showroom. That where its not fitting in my radar. Aveo seems to be ok....but how about 1.4LS.....is it better that Fiesta Zxi 1.4...(if you keep spares and support aside). i will keep the vehicle for atleast 5 years.
Old 20th September 2007, 17:18   #14

verna is good , but i would say honda city as rear seating is too comfortable and interior is better then sx4 well u might have to shed some more rupees for it , but it is worth
Old 20th September 2007, 17:23   #15

would suggest you go with the Aveo. Its ride comfort is better than the fiesta's harder suspension thatgives it better handling. You being a new driver and this being your first car, i guess you would not be inclined towards high speed cornering. If you give priority to a comfortable ride on bad roads, the Chevy should be your choice. The F.E are almost the same as the Fiesta 1.4. The Power delivery is not as instant as on the fiesta but that should not be a problem with you. The 3 yr warranty is a good addition at that price.

The Ford has some reputation of real terrible after sale customer care also. But if you want perfect handling at high speeds go for the fiesta.

I agree with you on the sx4. If at all you want it stretch your budget and get the higher end version.